Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Autobiography/Biography/Memoirs

This guide will show you how to find autobiographical and biographical information for writing autobiographical/biographical essays and memoirs.

Finding Journal/Magazine Articles

Search the following databases to find information from journals and magazines:

Academic Search Premier
This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.

Video Tutorial on Searching Academic Search Premier

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Coverage includes both living and deceased persons from every field of activity and from every country in the world.

Biography Reference Center
Biography Reference Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. 

JSTOR
JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of many scholarly journals. 
JSTOR Video Tutorial

Literature Resource Center
LRC provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists from every age and literary discipline.
LRC Video Tutorial

Finding Newspaper Articles

Access World News (Newsbank)
Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.

Accessible Archives
This database contains eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records contained in African American newspapers of the nineteenth century, select newspapers during the Civil War era, and the Pennsylvania Gazette.

New York Times Historical Archives, 1851-5 years ago
Contains obituaries and allows you to limit your search by date.

Newspapers/Newsstand/National Newspapers
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources

Where are Journals Shelved?

All print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by title on the ground floor in the Periodicals Room. Journals on microfilm or microfiche are shelved in the Microforms Area. Scanners are available on the ground floor and first floor. You can scan to print, to send to mail, or to save to a flash drive. Scanning is free but printing costs apply. For additional help see a librarian.

Interlibrary Loan

Not all articles in the databases are available in full-text. Articles not available at SCSU can be requested through Interlibrary loan at no charge.

To access the interlibrary loan form login with your windows username and password. If you are a first time user of ILL you will be prompted for some information for your library record. If you have already done this you will be taken directly to the interlibrary loan form and you can begin filling out your book or journal requests. Materials requested through ILL could take anywhere from a couple of days to a couple of weeks so give yourselves enough time for your research.