Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Eng 110: College Majors and Careers

This guide was created for the students of English 110 who are researching college majors and careers.

Databases for General Career Information

Use the following databases to find general career information: Databases can be accessed from off-campus with your windows username and password. You do not need your username and password to access databases when you are on campus.

ABI Global

Academic Search Premier

Business Source Prmier

CQ Researcher

Education Research Complete

ERIC (Education); also check the website – www.eric.ed.gov

JSTOR – journal articles in all disciplines; will not cover very recent information.

MainFile

MasterFile

Opposing Viewpointspros and cons on a topic; journal, magazine and newspaper articles.

New York Times, 1985-present

Newspaper Source Plus

Topics Search

Finding Full-text Articles

If an article is available full-text in the database you are searching you will see a link to "HTML" or "PDF" and, in some instances, "linked text" or "full text available". Click on the relevant link to get the full-text of the article. Click on the highlighted link to see if the article is available at SCSU in print, microfilm, microfiche, or full-text online through some other database. If the article is available in print, miorofilm or microfiche you will see a link to "SCSU print and microforms collection".

If the article is available online in a database you will get a direct link to the article and you can click on it to open the article. Sometimes you will get a link to the journal. Clicking on the journal link will retrieve the volumes and issues of the journal and you will need to select the volume/issue that you need.  

Interlibrary Loan

If the article you need is not available in Buley Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan (ILL) at no charge. You will be prompted for your windows username and password. First time users of ILL will be asked to fill out a form with presonal information. Submit the form to gain access to the ILL screen . On the left panel select "Journal Article". if you are requesting a periodical article make sure to fill in the asterisked fields before submitting your request. Journal articles will be emailed to you.

Note: Interlibrary loan could take anywhere from two days to two weeks so if your paper is due soon and you cannot wait then it's best to find other articles on your topic.

Databases for Specific Careers

Use the following databases to find subject specific career information:

Art/Architecture
Art and Architecture Complete

Business-related careers
ABI Inform GlobalBusiness, information about companies, company records.
ABI Inform Trade and Industry business fields

Business Source Premier industry surveys, information about companies

Communication/Media/Journalism/Theater/Film/Television
ComAbstracts
Communication and Mass Media Complete (Media, Communication)

Computer Science/Information/Applied Sciences/Libraries

Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Library and Information Science Abstracts
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts

Counselors/Psychologists
PsycInfo
PsycArticles

Education
Education Research Complete
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center). Also check the website www.eric.ed.gov

Health-related careers
CINAHL Complete (Nursing and Health)
Medline (Medicine)

History/Historian
America History and Life

Science/Technology
BioOne
Environment Complete
ScienceDirect

Science Reference Center

Social Science/Social Work/Sociology
SocIndex with Full Text
Social Work Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts