Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shakespeare and His Contemporaries

This guide was created for students at SCSU who are studying Shakespeare and his contemporaries.

Databases for finding articles

To find periodical/journal articles and critical essays on Shakespeare and his contemporaries, search the following databases. The literature databases are listed first followed by multidisciplinary databases which also contain scholarly and ciritical information on authors and their works. Off-campus access to databases requires an SCSU username and password. While many articles are available full text through the databases, some may be available only in print journals and some may not be available at all in Buley Library. Articles not available can be requested through Interlibrary loan.

 

Literary Reference Center

 

Gale Literature Resource Center

 

 

Literature Online

 

MLA International Bibliography

 

  JSTOR

 

 

 

More Databases

Additional databases for research on graphic novelists, comic strips, cartoonists, and their works:

 

 Academic Search Premier

 

America: History and Life

 

OmniFile Full Text Select

 

Humanities International Complete

 

 

  Dissertations and Theses

Where are Journals Shelved?

All print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by title on the ground floor in the Periodicals Room. Journals on microfilm or microfiche are shelved in the Microforms Area. Scanners are available on the ground floor and first floor. You can scan to print, to send to mail, or to save to a flash drive. Scanning is free but printing costs apply. For additional help see a librarian.