Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Native American Resources

Databases for articles on Native American issues

Use the databases listed below to find journal and magazine articles related to Native American issues.

America History and Life
This database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexing, abstracts and some full text from journals and books.

AnthroSource
Fulll-text journals from the American Anthropological Association.

ATLA Religion Database
Provides information on world religions and religion in social issues.

JSTOR
Full text scholarly articles in all disciplines including archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals dating back to the very first volume published.

GenderWatch 
GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.

Acadenic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides indexing, abstracts and much full text for academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers on every topic.

Project Muse
Provides full-text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.

Digital Dissertations
Digital Dissertations indexes theses and dissertations from all over the world from 1973 on and contains many in full text. Also includes graduate theses. The contents of some theses may be published as journal articles.

Databases for Native American Literature

Use these databases to find information on Native American authors and their works.

Literature Online

Literary Reference Center

Literature Resource Center

MLA International Bibliography

Off-campus access to databases

You can log into the library catalog and databases using the same login as MySCSU or the campus computers.

  1. When you click on a database from off-campus, you will be prompted for a username and password. Enter your username and password in the boxes on the left. (Note: If your username and password do not work, you can try entering your 8 digit ID number from your Hoot Loot card and a library PIN in the boxes on the right. The PIN is created by the library user and must be at least 4 characters (letters or numbers or both).
  2. Enter your Network Username and Password (MySCSU/Vista login).
  3. Be sure to pick the correct campus!
  4. Click the Submit button.
  5. Problems with your Network Login need to be directed to the IT Helpdesk.

Note: If you have recently reset your password, the new password may take some time to "migrate" to the library login. Please use the Library PIN or Remote access in the meanwhile.

If you mistype and need to try again, the campus choice will reset to Central. Be sure to choose the correct campus on each attempt.

Where are journals shelved?

All print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by title on the ground floor in the Periodicals Room. Journals on microfilm or microfiche are shelved in the Microforms Area. Scanners are available on the ground floor and first floor. You can scan to print, to send to mail, or to save to a flash drive. Scanning is free but printing costs apply. For additional help see a librarian.

Requesting articles through Interlibrary loan

If an article is not available full-text online or in print at Buley Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan. Enter your username and password to access the interlibrary loan forms. If you are a first time user of this service you will be prompted to fill out a form with your information. Once you do that select "Journal Articles" under New Request on the left hand side and fill out the details of your request. Then click submit. Most often the article will be emailed to you. If the article cannot be emailed it will be photocopied and mailed to you. You will be notified if a request cannot be fulfilled. 

There is no charge for interlibrary loan.