Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Native American Resources

Key Reference Sources

The library has hunderds of books on Native Americans. A number of books are available to be checked out in the circulating stacks. Several valuable documents and primary sources are available on microfilm and through government websites which can be accessed via CONSULS. Microfilm collections are located on the ground floor. Please approach the staff member at the ground floor reference desk for help with microfilm.

Below is a selective list of reference books that cannot be checked out but scanners are available on the main floor. You can scan materials to print, to email, or to download to a flash drive. While scanning to email or downloading to thumb drive is free, SCSU printing costs apply if you wish to print pages.

 

                                    undefined                                      

Biographical Dictionaries

Biographical dictionary of American Indian history to 1900

The encyclopedia of native American biography : six hundred life stories of important people from Powhatan to Wilma Mankiller

Great North American Indians : profiles in life and leadership

Native American women : a biographical dictionary

 

Companions and Handbooks

The ABC-CLIO companion to the Native American rights movement [electronic resource]

Handbook of American Indians north of Mexico

Handbook of the American frontier : four centuries of Indian-white relationships

Native American issues : a reference handbook

 

Directories

A Directory of organizations and activities in American Indian education

American Indian painters; a biographical directory

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Connecticut Indians

The Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes

Reference encyclopedia of the American Indian

More Reference Books

History

The American Indian and the United States; a documentary history

The Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas

A compendium of the Indian wars in New England ; more particularly such as the colony of Connecticut

Historical dictionary of Native American movements

History of the Indians of Connecticut from the earliest known period to 1850

Native Americans : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and peoples

Native time : a historical time line of native America

The prehistory of the Indians of Western Connecticut : Part 1, 9000-1000 B.C.

The red man's continent : a chronicle of aboriginal America

 

Langauges and Literature

The Columbia guide to American Indian literatures of the United States since 1945

Native American writers of the United States

 

Law

American Indian law in a nutshell

Documents of United States Indian policy

The encyclopedia of Native American legal tradition [electronic resource]

Handbook of Federal Indian law, with reference tables and index.

Indian tribes as sovereign governments : a sourcebook on federal-tribal history, law, and policy

Native Americans and the law [electronic resource] : a dictionary

 

Native American Rights

The ABC-CLIO companion to the Native American rights movement

The ABC-CLIO companion to the Native American rights movement [electronic resource]

Documents of American Indian diplomacy : treaties, agreements, and conventions, 1775-1979

 Encyclopedia of American Indian civil rights

The rights of Indians and tribes : the basic ACLU guide to Indian and tribal rights

Treaties with American Indians : an encyclopedia of rights, conflicts, and sovereignty

 

Religion

American Indian religious traditions : an encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Native American religions : an introduction

Encyclopedia of Native American shamanism : sacred ceremonies of North America