Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 567: Howells, Twain and James

This guide was created for English 567 focusing in depth on the American realist writers, Howells, Twain and James.

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar to find scholarly articles on the web. Refer to the Google Scholar Search Guide to set preferences for library full text.

Google Scholar Search

Indexes

Poole's Index v. 1(1802) - v. 6 (1906)  located in the Index Section,  Ground Floor
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature is the first and only systematic article level index to the subject matter of 19th century periodicals.

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1881) Available Online from  Hathi Trust.
Hathi Trust is a partnership of academic and research institutions offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

The index and its supplements are also available full-text in this guide from Mount St. Mary's.

Reader's Guide Nineteenth Century (1890-1999) - Index Section, Ground Floor

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature v. 1 (1900) -   Index Section, Ground Floor

Journals, Magazines and Newspapers on the Web

American Periodicals from Council of Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Founded in 1949, CRL supports advanced research and teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars the primary source material such as newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. This project provides full text and full-color scans of just over three million pages of CRL general interest magazines and trade journals from the period 1850-1920.

Chronicling America
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is run by the Library of Congress. It contains selected newspapers between 1836-1922. Many of the papers covered here are local periodicals.

Newspaper Archives
Explore 250 years of U.S. newspaper archives free of charge.

Nineteenth Century Periodicals available from Marist College as well as online
This list contains journals for women by women about women.

 

Article Databases

Use the following library databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter your username and password.