Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 567: Howells, Twain and James

This guide was created for English 567 focusing in depth on the American realist writers, Howells, Twain and James.

Why cite?

You must always cite information you use from other sources for the following reasons:

1. You need to let the reader or your instructor know the original source of information. Citing sources strengthens your paper and lets your instructor know that you did the work.

2. Citing is a service to the reader. The reader may be stimulated by a reference you have used in your works cited page and will be able to identify and access the sources you have used for his/her own use.

3. You want to give credit to the person whose ideas you have used.

For help with citing sources consult the following citation style guides available online:

Modern Language Association (MLA) Citation Style Guide

Style Guides from the OWL (Purdue)

 

Automatically generate citations within the databases!

Some databases will automatically generate a citation in MLA and other formats. Others will only provide the basic information, and it's up to you to do the formatting. Look for links like "Cite" or "How to cite" within the databases and on article pages. Also check the top and bottom of the page or article for citation info.

Warning: Most of the citations in databases, web services, etc., are produced automatically using a computer algorithm. That means that if the data is incorrect, the resulting citation is incorrect. You have the final responsibility of checking that the citation is fully correct using the guidelines provided by your professor (or publisher).

The following collections of databases will provide citations into rough versions of standard citation styles. Always check details like capitalization, dates, and page numbers.

Ebsco Databases

Proquest Databases