Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 567: Howells, Twain and James

This guide was created for English 567 focusing in depth on the American realist writers, Howells, Twain and James.

Women in American History

All-American girl : the ideal of real woman-hood in mid-nineteenth-century America

American National Biography

The American New Woman Revisited: a Reader, 1894-1930

The American Victorian woman : the myth and the reality

Amercain Women's History

Appropriate[ing] dress : women's rhetorical style in nineteenth-century America

At odds : women and the family in America from the Revolution to the present

Becoming Visible: Women's Presence in Late Nineteenth Century America

Bicycles, bangs, and bloomers : the new woman in the popular press

Brutes in suits : male sensibility in America, 1890-1920

Circles and settings : role changes of American women

A Companion to American Women's History

The Columbia guide to American women in the Nineteenth Century

Dance hall days : intimacy and leisure among working-class immigrants in the United States

Dimity convictions : the American woman in the nineteenth century

Disorderly conduct : visions of gender in Victorian America

Domestic revolutions : a social history of American family life

Dr. Mary Walker: An American Radical, 1832-1919

Each mind a kingdom : American women, sexual purity, and the New Thought movement, 1875-1920

Eighty years and more : reminiscences, 1815-1897

Elizabeth Cady Stanton: An American Life

Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Feminist as Thinker: a Reader in Documents and Essays

The Elizabeth Cady Stanton-Susan B. Anthony reader : correspondence, writings, speeches

Elsie Clews Parsons : inventing modern life

Encyclopedia of Women in American History

Encyclopedia of Women's History in America

Equal protection of the law? : gender and justice in the United States

Feminism and the women's movement : dynamics of change in social movement ideology, and activism

Gender and culture in America

Gender and domestic life : changing practices in families and households

Great American women of the 19th century : a biographical encyclopedia

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide

Handbook of American Women's History

Him/her/self : sex roles in modern America

Historical Dictionary of Feminism

A history of women in the United States : state-by-state reference

In Her Place: a Documentary History of Prejudice Against Women

The light of the home : an intimate view of the lives of women in Victorian America

Lois Waisbrooker's A sex revolution : with an introduction by Pam McAllister, Women in the lead, Waisbrooker's way to peace

Margaret Fuller's cultural critique : her age and legacy

Mothers and such : views of American women and why they changed

Mysteries of sex : tracing women and men through American history

Never done : a history of American housework

Notable American Women, 1607-1950

The other civil war : American women in the nineteenth century

Out to work : a history of wage-earning women in the United States

The politics of domesticity : women, evangelism, and temperance in nineteenth-century America

Rational mothers and infidel gentlemen : gender and American atheism, 1865-1915

Seneca Falls and the origin of the women's rights movement

Sex radicals and the quest for women's equality

Sexual revolution in early America

A shared experience : men, women, and the history of gender

Southern single blessedness: unmarried women in the urban south, 1800-1865

Suffering childhood in early America : violence, race, and the making of the child victim

True love and perfect union : the feminist reform of sex and society

United States government documents on women, 1800-1990 : a comprehensive bibliography

The Victoria Woodhull Reader

What American women did, 1789-1920 : a year-by-year reference

When hens crow : the woman's rights movement in antebellum America

Woman in the nineteenth century

Woman thinking : feminism and transcendentalism in nineteenth-century America

The woman question; society and literature in Britain and America, 1837-1883

Womanhood in America : from colonial times to the present

Women & sisters : the antislavery feminists in American culture

Women during the Civil War : an encyclopedia 

Women in Early America: Their Struggles, Survival and Freedom in a New World

Women's Suffrage in America: An Eyewitness History

American Literature of the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Century

Activist sentiments: reading black women in the nineteenth-century

American history through literature, 1820-1870

American history through literature, 1870-1920

American hungers : the problem of poverty in U.S. literature, 1840-1945

American literature in context from 1865 to 1929

The American renaissance

American women of letters and the nineteenth-century sciences : styles of affiliation

American women poets of the nineteenth century : an anthology

Androgynous democracy [electronic resource] : modern American literature and the dual-sexed body politic

Archives of American time : literature and modernity in the nineteenth century

Barriers between us: Interracial sex in nineteenth-century American Literature

The Cambridge companion to nineteenth-century American women's writing

Charlotte Perkins Gilman and her contemporaries: literary and intellectual contexts

The confident years, 1885-1915

Contesting the past, reconstructing the nation : American literature and culture in the Gilded Age, 1876-1893 / Ben Railton

The critical period in American literature

The Culture of sentiment: race, gender, and sentimentality in nineteenth-century America

Dickinson and the strategies of reticence : the woman writer in nineteenth-century America

Disarming the nation : women's writing and the American Civil War

Dreams and visions : a study of American utopias, 1865-1917

Educating the proper woman reader : Victorian family literary magazines and the cultural health of the nation

Emily Hamilton and other writings

The empire of the mother : American writing about domesticity, 1830 to 1860

Encyclopedia of Transcendentalism

Family, kinship and sympathy in nineteenth century American literature

The feminine fifties

The feminization of American culture

Fleshing out America: race, gender, and the politics of the body in American literature, 1833-1879

Frantic panoramas : American literature and mass culture, 1870-1920

Harvests of change: American literature, 1865-1914

Identifying marks : race, gender, and the marked body in nineteenth-century America

Intimacy in America : dreams of affiliation in antebellum literature

Labor pains : Emerson, Hawthorne, and Alcott on work and the woman question

Literary memoirs of the nineteenth century

Literature and humanitarian reform in the Civil War era

The masochistic pleasures of sentimental literature

Men beyond desire : manhood, sex, and violation in American literature

Motherhood and representation : the mother in popular culture and melodrama

Necessary madness: the humor of domesticity in nineteenth-century American Literature

Nineteenth-century American women writers : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook

Nineteenth-century American women writers : a critical reader

"The only efficient instrument" : American women writers & the periodical, 1837-1916

The origins of African American literature, 1680-1865

The (Other) American traditions [electronic resource] : nineteenth-century women writers

Our sister's keepers: ninettenth-century benevolence literature by American women

The political work of Northern women writers and the Civil War, 1850-1872

The portable theater : American literature & the nineteenth-century stage

Race, rape, and lynching : the red record of American literature, 1890-1912

Race, slavery, and liberalism in nineteenth-century American literature

Reading the American Novel, 1760-1865

Reforming the world : social activism and the problem of fiction in nineteenth-century America

Republic of words: the Atlantic monthly and its writers, 1857-1925

Sentimental materialism : gender, commodity culture, and nineteenth century American literature

Separate spheres no more : gender convergence in American literature, 1830-1930

Sharing secrests: nineteenth -century women's relations in the short story

Social criticism & nineteenth-century American fictions

Tomorrow's parties: sex and the untimely in nineteenth-century America

Touching liberty : abolition, feminism, and the politics of the body

Transatlantic women: nineteenth-century American women writers and Great Britain

Uncommon women: gender and representation in nineteenth century U.S. women's writing

Voices of the nation : women and public speech in nineteenth century American literature and culture

Working women, literary ladies : the industrial revolution and female aspiration

Writing the trail: five women's frontier narratives

Written by herself [electronic resource] : literary production by African American women, 1746-1892

Henry James

Bachelors, manhood, and the novel, 1850-1925 The Cambridge companion to Henry James

The Cambridge companion to Henry James

The characters of love : a study in the literature of personality

Communities of honor and love in Henry James

A Companion to Henry James Studies

Critical companion to Henry James: a literary reference to his life and work

The critical reception of Henry James: Creating a Master

Henry James: a life in letters

Henry James, a Literary Life

Henry James and masculinity : the man at the margins

Henry James and queer modernity

Henry James and sexuality

Henry James and the father question

Henry James and the "woman business"

A Henry James Encyclopedia

Henry James's American girl : the embroidery on the canvas

Henry James's major novels; essays in criticism

Henry James's The portrait of a lady 

Henry James's thwarted love

Imagination and desire in the novels of  Henry James

Imperialism and social class in the novels of Henry James: the dying gasp of the nineteenth century

Love and the quest for identity in the fiction of Henry James 

New essays on The portrait of a lady

The novels of Henry James; a study. with a bibliography

Plots and characters in the fiction of Henry James

Portrait of a novel : Henry James and the making of an American masterpiece

Portraying the lady : technologies of gender in the short stories of Henry James

Questioning the master : gender and sexuality in Henry James's writings

The twentieth-century world of Henry James:  changes in his work after 1900

A woman's place in the novels of Henry James

Women of grace : James's plays and the comedy of manners