While 'Creative Activity' is more than publication, that is still a primary focus in many disciplines. The Library provides many resources to assist your scholarly publication efforts. Contact your Subject Librarian for additional resources specific to your field.
Doing reviews for journals is an excellent way of learning what makes an article publishable.
A few resources for early career researchers (ECRs), and faculty in general:
Managing your online presence is important in these days of "just Google it." Below are links to profiles for Librarian Rebecca Hedreen on some of the most common services. Different services track different things, some are connected to each other, and some are editable to a greater extent than others--which can give a different view of the author as a researcher.
While setting up profiles sometimes takes some time, once they are set up they require only occasional review. ORCID is probably the most important, as it is used by funders and journals to distinguish researchers with similar names and to collect the research output of researchers who have published under more than one name.
Google Scholar is the most accessible profile, and so is important to keep active and accurate:
Example profiles from Librarian Rebecca Hedreen:
Use a citation manager to organize and store citations to your own work so that you can easily and quickly create a bibliography for CVs, bios, and for export to other systems (like Digital Measures). I (Rebecca Hedreen) particularly recommend Zotero, because it exports in many formats, including spreadsheets (CSV/Excel).
Professional Presentations: a practical guide for preparing and delivering professional presentations by
Conversations with Your Audience: A Practical Guide for Preparing and Delivering Professional Presentations provides practical and accessible advice to college students and pre-professionals on how to present effectively in a work environment. This book is a collaborative effort of the Communication Department at Southern Connecticut State University and represents their time-tested method of teaching students to design and deliver professional presentations to clients. Unlike many standard texts on oral communication skills that focus on writing and memorization, Conversations with Your Audience advocates a more realistic, audience-centered approach. Based on the tenet that effective presenters make their presentations feel like conversations, the material focuses on audience engagement and strengthening communication skills rather than on reciting manuscript or memorized speeches. Specific topics include analyzing and adjusting to your audience, planning and delivering organized and memorable presentations, refining your vocal quality and nonverbal communication, handling question-and-answer sessions, demonstrating respect for clients, creating effective visual aids, and working and presenting in groups. Performance-based rather than theory-based, Conversations with Your Audience helps students navigate the various stages of planning and delivering presentations in an easy-to-read format.
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing (online) by
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing is a groundbreaking resource that offers emerging and experienced scholars from all disciplines a comprehensive review of the essential elements needed to craft scholarly papers and other writing suitable for submission to academic journals. The authors discuss the components of different types of manuscripts, explain the submission process, and offer readers suggestions for working with editors and coauthors, dealing with rejection, and rewriting and resubmitting their work. They include advice for developing quality writing skills, outline the fundamentals of a good review, and offer guidance for becoming an excellent manuscript reviewer. "One of those rare books that will teach you something new every time you pick it up. It belongs on the desks of emerging scholars and writing professors everywhere."--Nancy L. Zimpher, chancellor, The State University of New York "Rocco and Hatcher have done every scholar, doctoral student, and committee chair a huge favor by putting this book together. Now in one place we can find resources to help graduate students and scholars get over their writing blocks and fear of writing, and learn how to write successfully."--Alan L. Carsrud, Loretta Rogers Chair of Entrepreneurship Research, Ryerson University, and associate editor, Journal of Small Business Management "This handbook performs a valuable service by collecting the wisdom of scholars from different disciplines and countries and offering publishing guidance that is both rigorous and systematic. Everyone who writes for scholarly publication will benefit from the insights provided by this book."--Tom Radko, editor, Journal of Scholarly Publishing
Writing for Academic Journals (online) by
Writing for publication is a daunting and time-consuming task for many academics. And yet the pressure for academics to publish has never been greater. This book demystifies the process of writing academic papers, showing readers what good papers look like and how they can be written. Offering a research-informed understanding of the contemporary challenges of writing for publication, this book gives practical advice for overcoming common obstacles such as finding a topic, targeting journals, and finding the time to write. The author offers a range of helpful writing strategies, making this an invaluable handbook for academics at all stages of their career, from doctoral students to early career researchers and even experienced academics. The third edition has been comprehensively updated to reflect the changing landscape of academic writing, including the most recent research and theory on writing across the disciplines. Drawing on her extensive experience of running writing workshops and working closely with academics on developing writing, Rowena Murray offers practical and tested strategies for good academic writing. New to the third edition: Advice on how to use social media to promote your publications More examples from different disciplines and journals More advice on how to tackle writer's block Extended end-of-chapter checklists New evidence that these strategies really work!
Writing for Publication: Transitions and Tools that Support Scholars’ Success (online) by
This book offers systematic instruction and evidence-based guidance to academic authors. It demystifies scholarly writing and helps build both confidence and skill in aspiring and experienced authors. The first part of the book focuses on the author's role, writing's risks and rewards, practical strategies for improving writing, and ethical issues. Part Two focuses on the most common writing tasks: conference proposals, practical articles, research articles, and books. Each chapter is replete with specific examples, templates to generate a first draft, and checklists or rubrics for self-evaluation. The final section of the book counsels graduate students and professors on selecting the most promising projects; generating multiple related, yet distinctive, publications from the same body of work; and using writing as a tool for professional development. Written by a team that represents outstanding teaching, award-winning writing, and extensive editorial experience, the book leads teacher/scholar/authors to replace the old "publish or perish" dictum with a different, growth-seeking orientation: publish and flourish.
Publish Don't Perish: 100 Tips That Improve Your Ability to Get Published (online) by 
Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks by 
What Editors Want: an Author's Guide to Scientific Journal Publishing (online) by
Research publications have always been key to building a successful career in science, yet little if any formal guidance is offered to young scientists on how to get research papers peer reviewed, accepted, and published by leading scientific journals. With "What Editors Want," Philippa J. Benson and Susan C. Silver, two well-respected editors from the science publishing community, remedy that situation with a clear, straightforward guide that will be of use to all scientists. Benson and Silver instruct readers on how to identify the journals that are most likely to publish a given paper, how to write an effective cover letter, how to avoid common pitfalls of the submission process, and how to effectively navigate the all-important peer review process, including dealing with revisions and rejection. With supplemental advice from more than a dozen experts, this book will equip scientists with the knowledge they need to usher their papers through publication.
Subject specific books:
Scientific Papers and Presentations: Navigating Scientific Communication in Today's World (online) by
Electronic publishing and electronic means of text and data presentation have changed enormously since the first edition of this book was published in 1997. Thethird edition of Scientific Papersand Presentationsapplies traditional principles to today's modern techniques and the changing needs of up-and-coming academia. Topics include designing visual aids, writing first drafts, reviewing and revising, communicating clearly and concisely, adhering to stylistic principles, presenting data in tables and figures, dealing with ethical and legal issues, and relating science to the lay audience. This successful legacy title is an essential guide to professional communication, provides a wealth of information and detail and is a useful guide. Covers all aspects of communication for early scientists from research to thesis to presentations.Discusses how to usemulti-media effectively in presentations and communicationIncludes an extensiveappendices section with detailed examples for further guidance"
Reporting Qualitative Research in Psychology: How to Meet APA Style Journal Article Reporting Standards, Revised Edition by This guide is maintained by Librarian Rebecca Hedreen, but has been enriched by suggestions from librarian colleagues. It was inspired by a workshop organized by HHS Dean Sandy Bulmer and Public Health Chair Jean Breny (summer 2019).
orcid.org/0000-0003-4168-6304
Recognize Rebecca