Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism

SouthernSearch for Articles

SouthernSearch searches many of our databases, but not all of them. Use the links to databases to find the most relevant resources.

If you do use SouthernSearch, limit your search to peer-reviewed journals by using the options on the left after you receive the initial results.

Databases for Newspaper, Magazine, and Academic Journal Articles

Because of the broad range of topics journalists cover, the list of databases is both long and incomplete. The list includes links to our most used subject-specific scholarly databases as well as magazines and newspapers.

In addition to the links below, you can also search a pre-selected group of databases by using the Ebsco Articles search box found on the library home page. Use and between search terms: survival AND zombie apocalypse.

Peer-reviewed sources

How do I know if an article or  journal is peer-reviewed:

  1. Limit a database to peer reviewed, scholarly journals, or refereed journals before beginning a search, or apply it as a limiter when you get the results of your search. You can do this in Southernsearch, any Ebsco database, and most Proquest databases.
  2. Check Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory
  3. Check the submission guidelines at the journal’s official website.

See this guide for more information

Journalism Journals

The library subscribes to several journals pertinent to journalism, including the Columbia Journalism Review.

Requesting Articles

If an article is not available full-text online or in print at Buley Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan. 

Enter your username and password to access the interlibrary loan forms.

Select "Journal Articles" under New Request on the left hand side and fill out the details of your request. Then click submit.

Most often the article will be emailed to you. If the article cannot be emailed it will be photocopied and mailed to you. You will be notified if a request cannot be fulfilled. 

There is no charge for interlibrary loan.

Where Are Print Journals Shelved?

All print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by title on the ground floor

IT printers on the first floor allow you to scan books or documents. There is a printer located by the IT Help Desk and another near the reference stacks. Scanning to your email is free. Copying and printing is 5 cents for a single side black and white page and 8 cents for a double-side page. Color printing is 25 cents for a single page and 40 cents for a double-side page. Assistance with scanning using the IT printers is provided by the IT Help Desk on the first floor.

Journals on microfilm or microfiche are shelved in the Microforms Area. Most of the readers are also printers. Ask for assistance in the Technical Services area.