Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library


Reference Resources on the Internet: Home


Accommodation Search engine
Provides information on lodging establishments and accommodation web pages around the world.

Compares holiday houses and apartments of every category and price range across Europe and the USA with detailed descriptions of every destination.

World Lodging Guide
Contains a directory of hotels, motels, Bed and Breakfast Inns, and other kinds of accommodation.


Acronym Finder
Allows you to look up 122,500 acronyms, abbreviations and their meanings.

Acronym Server


Information Please Almanac
Online version of the popular almanac which you can browse by topic or search. Also includes the Random House Webster's College Dictionary and the Columbia Encyclopedia.

Old Farmer's Almanac
Provides information on weather, gardening, astronomy, etc.


Amazon is a multinational electronic commerce company that sells books, VHS, DVD, music CDs and MP3s, computer software, video games, electronics, apparel, furniture, food, toys, and just about anything!

American Library Association

American Library Association

ALA Job List

ALA's Great Sites for Kids
This page is compiled by the Children and Technology Committee of the Association for Library Service to Children. Contains wonderful sites for kids broken down into the following categories: arts and entertainment, literature and language, people past and present, planet earth and beyond, and science and technology.

American Hospital Directory

American Hospital Directory
Free information to summary data for most hospitals. Subscription needed for more detailed information.


This is the home page of Amtrak where you will be able to find train schedules and fares, routes and special deals as well as information on services offered by Amtrak.

Annual Reports

Annual Reports (Companies)
62250 annual reports from 5342 companies worldwide.

Annual Report Service
There are about 2210 reports and the number is continually growing. There is a useful guide to understanding financials as well as a list of the top 20 growth stocks.

Report Gallery
Online library of international and national financial reports, trading services, and other financial services.

EDGAR | Company Filings
Has a search engine for SEC filings and financial data, analysis, and the ability to download this data into popular applications such as Excel.

Answering Services

Ask an Expert
Ask questions of experts on a variety of topics and receive valuable answers.
Provides natural language question answering service for consumers and companies on the web by allowing users to ask questions in plain English and be directed to web sites containing the answer.

An excellent search engine that can track down hard-to-find information.

Other Services

Anthropology Glossary

Anthropology Glossary
A searchable annotated list of links to favorite anthropological resources on the internet. Includes online glossary and critical reviews of archaeology films.

Area Codes

Area Code Lookup
Can look up area codes in U.S., Canada, and a few other countries.
Area and Country Codes
This is a powerful and useful web directory for finding the latest area code and country code information.

Area Code Lookup Service
The Area Decoder provides you with current information related to area, city, and country codes.
Locations, map and time zone for all US and Canadian area codes

Associations and Organizations

Associations on the Net

Foundation Directory

Guidestar Nonprofit Guide
Guidestar connects donors, grantmakers, and businesses to nonprofit organizations.

A site run by a non-profit foundation which has a searchable directory of 10,000 web sites of non-profit organizations, information on volunteering jobs, projects and some tools for non-profits or subjects like fundraising, financial management, personnel public relations, and legal issues.


Information Please Atlas
Free online atlas. Click on country to get an enlarged map of the region.

National Geographic Society
Access to political and physical maps and information anywhere in the world by the National Geographic Society.

Literature Librarian

Winnie Shyam's picture
Winnie Shyam
122G Buley Library
(203) 392-5762