Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classical Mythology

This guide was created for Professor McBrine's Classical Mythology course. It concentrates on Greek and Roman myths that have influenced the literature, art, and speech of Western Civilization.

Finding Journal Articles

To find periodical/journal articles and critical essays on classical mythology, try the following databases. The literature databases are listed first followed by multidisciplinary databases which also contain scholarly and critical information on authors and works of literature. Off-campus access to databases requires an SCSU username and password.Journal articles not available in our library can be requested through interlibrary loan.

 

Literary Reference Center

 

Gale Literature Resource Center

 

Literature Online

 

  MLA  International Bibliography

 


Granger's World of Poetry

 

  JSTOR

 

More Periodical Databases

Additional databases for research on English authors and their works:

 

 


  Academic Search Premier

 

 OmniFile Full Text Select

 

Humanities International Complete

 

 

 Dissertations and Theses

 

Key Journals in Classical Mythology

The journals below are some of the key journals for classcial mythology. They can be found either in print or online in Buley Library.

American Journal of Philology

Arethusa

Arion: A Journal of the Humanities and the Classics

Bryn Mawr Classical Review

Classical Antiquity

The Classical Bulletin

The Classical Journal

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism

Classical Philology

The Classical Quarterly

The Classical Review

Classical World

English Studies: A Journal of English Language and Literature

Greece and Rome

Harvard Studies in Classical Philology

Helios: The Journal of the Classcial Association of the Southwest

Hermes

International Journal of the Classical Tradition

The Journal of Hellenic Studies

Journal of Roman Studies

Mnemosyne: A Journal of Classical Studies

Mythosphere: A Journal of Image, Myth, and Symbol

PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America

Review of English Studies: The Leading Journal of English Literature and the English Language

Studies in English Literature

Year's Work in English Studies