Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Relations: Finding Books and Articles

This guide will help you find information about individual countries, international affairs, and foreign policy.

Books

Use the library catalog, CONSULS, to locate books. A good place to start is with a keyword search, which allows you to combine concepts, such as energy and diplomacy, or civil war and law.

Remember that CONSULS is the catalog for all of the CSU campuses, so before you go to the shelf make sure the catalog says the item you want is at SCSU. If you see an item at any of the other campuses that you need, you can request it by clicking on "Request Book" and entering your student ID number and Library PIN number. The book will be shipped here within 3-5 working days.

Finding Articles

If you are off campus you will need to enter your university ID number and library PIN to access these databases.

EBSCO You can combine the following EBSCO databases to search simultaneously, depending on your topic.

JSTOR Full text articles in Political Science, African American Studies, African Studies, Asian Studies, Health Studies, Latin American Studies, Middle East Studies, Public Policy and Administration & Slavic Studies

NOTE: JSTOR will not have very recent articles from the past several years- watch the dates!

New York Times Historical Archive (1851-2005)

New York Times 1980-Present

If the full text article is not immediately available, click on the  icon and it will check to see if the full text is available in any of our other databases.

Finding an Article if You Already Have the Citation

To find whether a particular journal appears full-text in any of our databases or in the library, enter the name of the journal in the journal finder on the home page. The journal finder will tell you if Buley Library subscribes to a journal or if it is available online in one of the databases.