Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media Studies

Research guide for media studies: scholarly aticles and more about film, television, music, new media, and more.

SouthernSearch

SouthernSearch

Search for books, videos, articles, course reserves, and more:

Google Scholar article search


What if I'm off-campus?

Use this link instead of the search box above, and login when prompted.

Subject databases for academic journal, magazine, and newspaper articles

The list below is a handful of the 100+ databases you have access to as a member of the Southern community. 

If you're off-campus, you'll be prompted to login. Use your campus username and password.

It's good practice to use AND between search terms (like survival and zombie apocalypse). Some databases don't require it, but omitting it will scuttle your search in a database that does.

 

Peer-reviewed sources

How do I know if an article or  journal is peer-reviewed:

  1. Limit a database to peer reviewed, scholarly journals, or refereed journals before beginning a search, or apply it as a limiter when you get the results of your search. You can do this in Southernsearch, any Ebsco database, and most Proquest databases.
  2. Check Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory
  3. Check the submission guidelines at the journal’s official website.

See this guide for more information

Interlibrary loan

If you need an article and can't access the full text through SouthernSearch, Googles Scholar, or the library databases, use interlibrary loan to request it. It's free!