Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature Review: Books

Books

Catalog

Catalog is a primary tool for a library user to find what items are available in a library's collection and where they are located. The Buley library catalog can be found at the library home page (http://library.southernct.edu)

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Other Selected Resources

Dictionaries are monographs that define individual words of a language so as to set      forth their orthography, pronunciation, signification, and use, their synonyms, deviation, and history among other facts. Dictionaries can be general or subject specific.

      e.g. Oxford English Dictionary

Encyclopedias are works that contain information on all branches of knowledge or treat comprehensively a particular branch of knowledge, usually in articles arranged alphabetically by subject.

 

      e.g.: Britanica Online

Both types of reference materials provide ideas for developing a search term list and strategy.  

Indexes
Indexes, such as periodical indexes, allow you to search for articles or subject specific materials published in a periodical, journal title, or other bibliographic resources. An index allows you to search for a specific article, book chapter, etc. within a periodical, journal title, or other resource.