Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, American Drama 1714–1915 reflects American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented. Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller.
Over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars. This resource is available through trial access only through January 5, 2025 with no guaranteed access beyond that date.
The Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA) is a trilingual English/Spanish/Portuguese digital repository of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the Indigenous languages of Latin America. AILLA's mission is to preserve these materials and make them available to Indigenous Peoples, researchers, friends and advocates of these languages and their speakers now and for generations to come. Most of the media files in the repository are available to the public, but some have temporary embargoes or controlled access restrictions. Note: You need to create a free account to view the collection
Clinical Nursing Skills in Video is a growing collection of regularly updated demonstration and training videos produced by ProQuest to help students improve their clinical skills.
This project offers rare and invaluable sources for examining the lived experience of people who witnessed this pivotal era of English history. From 'ordinary' people through to more prominent individuals and families, these documents show how everyday working, family, religious and administrative life was experienced across England.
This resource brings together a wide range of primary source materials sourced from more than twenty archives for the study of "Empire", its theories, practices and consequences, dating from the late fifteenth century onwards.
The database contains works acted on or intended for the stage. It includes masques, interludes, short dramatic pieces, translations and adaptations, closet dramas, and works written for children. It offers exhaustive coverage of the prodigious dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas.
GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Examine complete images of 190 manuscripts of seventeenth and eighteenth-century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. These manuscripts can be read and explored in conjunction with the Brotherton Collection Manuscript Verse Index, which includes first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content and bibliographic references for over 6,600 poems within the collection.
Music Online: Classical Music in Video delivers a rich collection of influential performances and documentaries spanning eras and demonstrating classical music’s dynamic evolution. From canonical masters of the past to modern composers, these volumes showcase the continuous evolution of classical music across time.
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada.
Download the app and follow the instructions through this link to set up your account.
The Palace Project app is your newest place to get ebooks and audiobooks! CSCU students now have access to a collection of leisure reading materials courtesy of the Connecticut State Library’s eGO Program. This growing collection of ebooks and electronic audiobooks contains fiction, non-fiction, banned books, diverse authors and experiences, award winners, All CT Reads titles and much, much more!
Discover manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University, the project seeks to rediscover early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form.
Resources for College Libraries (RCL) supports the undergraduate curriculum with a list of core titles essential for teaching and research. The RCL database is developed by practicing subject librarians and co-published by ACRL’s Choice and ProQuest.
Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, this database is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. SCSU has access to volumes I and II.
All SCSU students, faculty, and staff can sign up for a free NYT account, which includes access to The Athletic. Please note, you will need to sign in with your NYT account credentials after navigating to this resource.
Twentieth-Century Drama features plays from noted playwrights as well as lesser known dramatists. The collection includes works by over 300 writers including Amiri Baraka, Noël Coward, Susan Glaspell, Langston Hughes, Brian Friel, David Mamet, Eugene O’Neill, John Osborne, Sean O’Casey, Harold Pinter, Bernard Shaw, Neil Simon, Gertrude Stein, Tom Stoppard, Derek Walcott, August Wilson and Elizabeth Wong.
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,905 plays by 419 playwrights, and more than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. This collection offers a unique window into the economic, historical, social, and political psyche of two countries. Scholars and students who use the database will have a new way to study the signal events of the twentieth century—including the Depression, the role of women, the Cold War, and more—through the plays and performances of writers who lived through these decades.
This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over. SCSU has access to Volumes I,II, and III.
Please note, you will need to sign in with your WSJ account credentials after navigating to this resource. If you have not yet set up your account, visit WSJ.com/SouthernCT and sign up using your SCSU email address.
This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South.
