Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
African American Newspapers Civil War Perspectives and Pennsylvania Gazette collections primary source nineteenth century information cultural life history 1800s first-hand reports major events issues Mexican War Presidential addresses Congressional addresses Congressional abstracts business commodity markets the humanities world travel religion collection biographies vital statistics essays editorials poetry prose advertisements African-American experience Africana
Buley subscribes to the African American Newspapers, Civil War Perspectives, and Pennsylvania Gazette collections, each of which may be accessed separately.
African American Newspapers Civil War Perspectives and Pennsylvania Gazette collections primary source nineteenth century information cultural life history 1800s first-hand reports major events issues Mexican War Presidential addresses Congressional addresses Congressional abstracts business commodity markets the humanities world travel religion collection biographies vital statistics essays editorials poetry prose advertisements African-American experience Africana
Contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1976 to today. Search full text using topical/keyword terms. Additionally, there is a “Suggested Searches” functionality that guides users to important events, themes, and stories across African American history.
newspapers national international boston massachusetts global World U.S. USA United States Commentary Business Energy Environment Innovation Science Culture Books
New York Herald Charleston Mercury Richmond Enquirer, published Newspapers African American Newspapers Civil War Perspectives primary source nineteenth century information cultural life history 1800s first-hand reports major events issues Presidential addresses Congressional addresses Congressional abstracts business commodity markets humanities world travel religion collection biographies vital statistics essays editorials poetry prose advertisements African-American experience Africana
This database contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
All SCSU students, faculty, and staff can sign up for a free NYT account. Please note, you will need to sign in with your NYT account credentials after navigating to this resource.
Our access includes:
• All current NYT news content
• Games: Spelling Bee, Wordle, The Crossword and more.
• Cooking: Recipes, advice and inspiration for any occasion.
• Wirecutter: Independent reviews for thousands of products
• The Athletic: In-depth, personalized sports journalism.
• Archives (dating back to 1851) timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser
• Augmented Reality/Virtual Reality - found in the App; NYT stories told through enhanced technology
• Daily 360 content - two dimensional, 360° views (with mobile device or using a mouse)
• Podcasts (including The "Daily" podcast)
• All multimedia, including video, photography, VR features, and new multimedia to come.
• Newsletters (there are a variety of topics that you may subscribe to)
• Spanish and Mandarin Chinese versions of NYTimes.com
Access archival New York Times content back to 1851. Please note, you will need to sign in with your NYT account credentials after navigating to this resource.
If you have not yet set up your SCSU NYT account, please follow these instructions:
Step 1: Navigate to https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
Step 2: Search for and click the listing for "Southern Connecticut State University"
Step 3: Click Create Account and complete registration fields using your SCSU email address.
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
newspapers television radio news transcripts history current events journalism market marketing accounting stock exchange business stock financial markets portfolio investments
Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news including sources like Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire.
Philadelphia 1700s 18th century colonial America American Revolution New Republic social political cultural news advertisements Western Hemisphere Canadian Maritime Provinces West Indies North South America issues lifestyles Declaration of Independence Constitution Letters from a Farmer Thomas Payne Federalist Papers history historical newspapers
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first-hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. Thousands of articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements cover the Western Hemisphere, from the Canadian Maritime Provinces, through the West Indies and North and South America, presenting a detailed glimpse of issues and lifestyles of the times. Also included is the full-text of such important writings as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne`s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers and much more.
regional business metropolitan rural United States. newspapers, radio & television transcripts, trade publications
Regional Business News incorporates comprehensive full text coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
newspapers news Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant,New York Times, Wall Street Journal. National international global world USA U.S. United States
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present.
One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture. Major journalists and authors to have contributed include Hunter S. Thompson, Patti Smith, and Tom Wolfe.
All SCSU students, faculty, and staff can sign up for a free NYT account, which includes access to The Athletic. Please note, you will need to sign in with your NYT account credentials after navigating to this resource.
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Please note, you will need to sign in with your WSJ account credentials after navigating to this resource. If you have not yet set up your account, visit WSJ.com/SouthernCT and sign up using your SCSU email address.
A single point of access for data collected and managed by the USDA Forest Service. You can use the Geospatial Data Discovery Tool to access data about individual forests or grasslands or about an area of interest that you specify on the national map. You can find and download datasets by topic area or theme or find and use map services published by the Agency.
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Download the app and follow the instructions through this link to set up your account.
The Palace Project app is your newest place to get ebooks and audiobooks! CSCU students now have access to a collection of leisure reading materials courtesy of the Connecticut State Library’s eGO Program. This growing collection of ebooks and electronic audiobooks contains fiction, non-fiction, banned books, diverse authors and experiences, award winners, All CT Reads titles and much, much more!
Please note, you will need to sign in with your WSJ account credentials after navigating to this resource. If you have not yet set up your account, visit WSJ.com/SouthernCT and sign up using your SCSU email address.
This database is available on a trial basis through April 18, 2025. To provide feedback on this trial, please fill out our survey here: https://southernct.libwizard.com/f/trial.
