Books in the boxes below are in curated lists. To find more, use SouthernSearch
Sample Keyword Searches:
You can use keyword search terms as shown below:
You can also enter names in a keyword search:
Example: Hercules
Dionysus
Select "subject" search in our online catalog and enter the relevant search terms below to find books on your topic:
Subject Headings for authors and their works:
Author Search
Select "author" from the pull-down menu and type the author's last name first followed by the first name.
Example: Hesiod
Bulfinch's mythology : the age of fable
Cassell's dictionary of classical mythology
A concise dictionary of classical mythology
Dictionary of classical mythology
A dictionary of Greek and Roman biography and mythology
Gods and mortals in classical mythology: a dictionary
Handbook of classical mythology
The illustrated dictionary of Greek and Roman mythology
The Penguin dictionary of classical mythology
The ancient city: life in classical Athens & Rome
The cattle of the sun: cows and culture in the world of the ancient Greeks
Economy and society in ancient Greece
The Edinburgh companion to ancient Greece and Rome
Egypt, Greece, and Rome: civilizations of the ancient Mediterranean
Girls and women in classical Greek religion
The Greek city from Homer to Alexander
Individual and community: the rise of the polis, 800-500 B.C.
Literature in the Greek and Roman worlds: a new perspective
Making silence speak: women's voices in Greek literature and society
Moral values and political behaviour in Ancient Greece: from Homer to the end of the fifth century
Origins of democracy in ancient Greece
The origins of violence: religion, history and genocide
The Oxford companion to classical civilization
The Oxford Illustrated history of Greece and the Hellenistic world
Panorama of the classical world
The Cambridge companion to Greek mythology
The daily life of the Greek gods
A different god? Dionysos and ancient polytheism
Gods, heroes, and tyrants: Greek chronology in chaos
The gods in epic: poets and critics of the classical tradition
The gods of ancient Greece: identities and transformations
Greek nymphs: myth, cult, lore
The Greek Mythology: A reader's handbook
The Glory of Hera: Greek mythology and the Greek family
Handbook of Greek Mythology including its extentsion to Rome
Heroes: mortals and myths in ancient Greece
The legacy of Apollo: antiquity, authority and Chaucerian poetics
The meddling gods; four essays on classical themes
Metamorphoses of Helen: authority, difference, and the epic
Mithras-Orion : Greek hero and Roman army god
New heroes in antiquity: from Achilles to Antinoos
The origin of the gods: a psychoanalytic study of theoginic myth
Religions of the ancient Greeks
The role of vestal virgins in Roman civic religion: a structuralist study of the crimen incesti
Sources for the study of Greek religion
Structure and history in Greek Mythology and ritual
What men or gods are these? A genealogical approach to classical mythology
All colour book of Roman mythology
An Introduction to Roman religion
The foundation of Rome: myth and history
King of the wood : the sacrificial victor in Virgil's Aeneid
Life, death and representation: some new work on Roman sacrophagi
Literature and religion at Rome: cultures, contexts, and beliefs
The matter of the gods: religion and the Roman empire
Myth, meaning, and memory on Roman sarcophagi
Roman and European mythologies
Roman gods: a conceptual approach
The Romans, their gods, and their beliefs
Troy between Greece and Rome: local tradition and imperial power
Black light : myth and meaning in modern painting
Bulfinch's mythology : the Greek and Roman fables illustrated
The ceremonial sculptures of the Roman gods
Greece, gods, and art
The goddess Roma in the art of the Roman empire
Heracles : the twelve labors of the hero in ancient art and literature
Images of myths in classical antiquity
Myth in surrealist painting, 1929-1939
Myth, meaning, and memory on Roman sacrophagi
Mythology & history in the great paintings of the Prado
Myths of Greece and Rome, narrated with special reference to literature and art
The Oxford guide to classical mythology in the arts, 1300-1990s
The revival of the Olympian gods in renaissance art
Turner's classical landscapes : myth and meaning
The voyages of Ulysses; a photographic interpretation of Homer's classic
Ancient writers: Greece and Rome
Charon and the crossing: ancient, medieval, and Renaissance transformations of a myth
Classical mythology in English literature : a critical anthology
The craft of Zeus : myths of weaving and fabric
A discourse of wonders : audience and performance in Ovid's Metamorphoses
Fairytale in the ancient world
God and the land: the metaphysics of farming in Hesiod and Vergil
The Gods in epic : poets and critics of the classical tradition
A history of classical Greek literature, from Homer to Aristotle
Literature and religion at Rome: cultures, contexts, and beliefs
Myths of Greece and Rome, narrated with special reference to literature and art
The myths of love : classical lovers in medieval literature
The Concise Oxford companion to classical literature
Achilles : paradigms of the war hero from Homer to the Middle Ages
The Cambridge companion to Homer
A companion to Homer's Odyssey
The distaff side: representing the female in Homer's Odyssey
The essential Homer: selections from the Iliad and the Odyssey
Homer: a guide for the perplexed
Homer and the heroic tradition
Homer beside himself : para-narratives in the Iliad
The ironies of war: an introduction to Homer's Iliad
The language of heroes: speech and performance in the Iliad
The limits of heroism: Homer and the ethics of reading
Listening to Homer: tradition, narrative, and audience
The mortal hero: an introduction to Homer's Iliad
Nature and culture in the Iliad: the tragedy of Hector
The Odyssey in Athens: myths of cultural origins
Oxford readings in Homer's Iliad
Penelope's renown: meaning and indeterminacy in the Odyssey
The pity of Achilles: oral style and the unity of the Iliad
The printed Homer: a 3,000 year publishing and translation history of the Iliad and the Odyssey
Ransom, revenge, and heroic identity in the Iliad
The return of Ulysses : a cultural history of Homer's Odyssey
The returns of Odysseus: colonization and ethnicity
The tradition of the Trojan War in Homer and the epic cycle
Understanding the Odyssey: a student casebook to issues, sources, and historic documents
The Cambridge companion to Ovid
The face of nature : wit, narrative, and cosmic origins in Ovid's Metamorphoses
The metamorphosis of Ovid : from Chaucer to Ted Hughes
Mythical and legendary narrative in Ovid's Fasti
Ovid's Heroines : a verse translation of the Heroides
Shakespeare's Ovid : the Metamorphoses in the plays and poems
