Dictionaries English language meaning history pronunciation words linguistics etymology definition vocabulary
Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Archaeology, Art & Architecture, Bilingual dictionaries, Classical studies, Encyclopedias, English Dictionaries and Thesauri, History, Language reference, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Media studies, Medicine and health, Music, Names studies, Performing arts, Philosophy, Quotations, Religion, Science and technology, Social sciences, Society and culture, Biography Latin, Italian, Spanish, Irish, French, German, Welsh
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Use this resource to search or browse for information in Encyclopedia Britannica Online, Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus, plus video clips, data analysis, and a world atlas.
encyclopedias Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Library Science, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, Technology
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Content differs from collection provided through iCONN.
education leader student learn class lesson teach disable special exercise counsel school college university curriculum train practice sports computer internet teenage school abuse adolescence health accounting anthropology art biology business chemistry communications disorders computer sciences earth geology geography economics english composition environmental exercise finance foreign languages medicine history journalism law library literature management information marketing marriage family therapy mathematics media studies music newspapers nursing philosophy religion physics political psychology public recreation leisure reference technology social work sociology theater women's
This multi-disciplinary database provides indexing, abstracts and much full text for academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers on every topic.
Reports background chronology current events tables maps pro/con opposing hot topics Agriculture Arts Culture Sports Business Economics Defense National Security Education Employment Labor Energy Environment Climate Natural Resources Government Budget Taxes Health Housing Development Human Rights International Relations Trade Law Justice Media Personal Family Relations Religion Science Technology Social Movements Services Disabilities Transportation United States U.S. Congress Presidency Supreme Court Judicial System War Conflict finance manufacturing investment inflation insurance retail small business
1923 - January 31, 2013. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Use this resource to search or browse for information in Encyclopedia Britannica Online, Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus, plus video clips, data analysis, and a world atlas.
literary scholarly creative thought arts literature history
Humanities International Complete provides full text from journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.
reports e-books ebooks the National Academy of Sciences Engineering Institute Medicine Research Council Agriculture Behavioral Social Sciences Biography Autobiography Biology Life Computers Information Technology Conflict Security Earth Education Energy Conservation Environmental Studies Food Nutrition Health Medicine Industry Labor Mathematics Chemistry Physics Policy Space Aeronautics Transportation Infrastructure Nursing
Full text reports and e-books from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
OmniFile Full Text Select is a full-text database of essential publications for research across many disciplines, including art, education, humanities and technology.
pro con argument persuasive taking sides statistics images photos
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Area studies Ethnic Studies Architecture Creative Writing Education Film Theater Performing Arts History Language Linguistics Library Science Publishing Literature Medicine Health Music Philosophy Religion Science Technology Mathematics Social Sciences Women's Studies Gender Sexuality authors poets novels novelists poetry fiction non-fiction prose literature review interpretation literary analysis works Shakespeare plots books book reviews journals magazines reference works biographies chronology essays commentaries writers works poems poets essayists literary genre literature criticism bibliographies biographies English American world literary figures international humanities authors poets novels novelists poetry fiction non-fiction prose literature review interpretation literary analysis works Shakespeare plots books book reviews journals magazines reference works biography chronology essays commentaries 1800s 1900s writers works poems poets essayists literary genre literature
Provides 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Archaeology, Art & Architecture, Bilingual dictionaries, Classical studies, Encyclopedias, English Dictionaries and Thesauri, History, Language reference, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Media studies, Medicine and health, Music, Names studies, Performing arts, Philosophy, Quotations, Religion, Science and technology, Social sciences, Society and culture, Biography Latin, Italian, Spanish, Irish, French, German, Welsh
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
sociology sociological abortion criminology criminal justice demography ethnic racial studies gender marriage family political religion rural urban social development psychology structure social work socio-cultural anthropology research theory substance abuse addictions violence
Features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
