Skip to main content

Board of Library User Experience (BLUE): Home

Webpage for the Board of Library User Experience

Meeting Schedule

Spring 2020 Meeting Times

Monday Feb 3, 1-2

Monday March 2, 1-2

Monday April 6, 1-2

Monday May 4, 1-2 

 

instagram scsu_blue

BLUE Mission Statement

BLUE Mission Statement

Definition

A diverse group of students representative of the SCSU population who will meet to discuss library policies, services, and space in order to ensure that the library meets student needs and that the student body has a voice in the management of the library.

Purpose

Communication

  • Give students an active voice in the library and an opportunity to contribute
  • Create two-way channel for communication between students and library faculty and staff

Improvement

  • Affect positive change in the library so that it can better serve the SCSU community
  • Make existing services better
  • Suggest or offer input on new services

Insight

  • Share insight on student needs, concerns, and priorities and research/study/library use habits
  • Provide feedback/suggestions regarding use of library space

Responsibilities

  • Act as leaders and liaisons for the library in the SCSU community
  • Listen to concerns of peers and share them with library personnel
  • Share information about library resources and services with peers

Benefit to student participants

  • Gain leadership and participation skills
  • Improve the library experience for self and peers
  • Enhance resume

 

Inspired by the mission statements of the student boards at Columbia University Libraries, Glendale Community College Libraries, DiMenna-Nyselius Library (Fairfield University), and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries.

Current Members

Binod Dahal Grad MBA dahalb2@southernct.edu
Amanda Damon Grad ILS damona1@southernct.edu
Kyle Dearborn Undergrad COM/Advertising and Promotions dearbornek2@southernct.edu
Alexa Gorman Grad ILS gormana10@southernct.edu
Sara Guglietti Undergrad IMS/minor in HIS gugliettis1@southernct.edu
Jamil Harp Undergrad COM harpj1@southernct.edu
Tamera Henry Undergrad PCH henryt9@southernct.edu
Princess Zuri McCann Grad MFA mccannp1@southernct.edu
Claire Mora Undergrad IDS - PSY, ANT,  morac1@southernct.edu
Emma Norden Undergrad HIS nordene2@southernct.edu
Meaghan Reilley Undergrad SED reillym16@southernct.edu