Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
American Drama This link opens in a new window
New
Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, American Drama 1714–1915 reflects American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented. Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller.
Clinical Nursing Skills in Video This link opens in a new window
New
Clinical Nursing Skills in Video is a growing collection of regularly updated demonstration and training videos produced by ProQuest to help students improve their clinical skills.
Early European Books This link opens in a new window
New
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
English Drama This link opens in a new window
New
The database contains works acted on or intended for the stage. It includes masques, interludes, short dramatic pieces, translations and adaptations, closet dramas, and works written for children. It offers exhaustive coverage of the prodigious dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas.
Latin American Drama This link opens in a new window
New
Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
LGBT Studies in Video, Volumes 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
New
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.
Music Online : Classical Music in Video This link opens in a new window
New
Music Online: Classical Music in Video delivers a rich collection of influential performances and documentaries spanning eras and demonstrating classical music’s dynamic evolution. From canonical masters of the past to modern composers, these volumes showcase the continuous evolution of classical music across time.
New
A series of six volumes encompassing all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century with full, study, piano, and vocal scores.
North American Women's Drama Second Edition This link opens in a new window
New
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada.
OpenAlex This link opens in a new window
New
An open and comprehensive catalog of scholarly papers, authors, institutions, and more.
Palace Project App This link opens in a new window
New
Download the app and follow the instructions through this link to set up your account.

The Palace Project app is your newest place to get ebooks and audiobooks! CSCU students now have access to a collection of leisure reading materials courtesy of the Connecticut State Library’s eGO Program. This growing collection of ebooks and electronic audiobooks contains fiction, non-fiction, banned books, diverse authors and experiences, award winners, All CT Reads titles and much, much more!
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
New
Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, this database is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. SCSU has access to volumes I and II.
Twentieth Century Drama This link opens in a new window
New
Twentieth-Century Drama features plays from noted playwrights as well as lesser known dramatists. The collection includes works by over 300 writers including Amiri Baraka, Noël Coward, Susan Glaspell, Langston Hughes, Brian Friel, David Mamet, Eugene O’Neill, John Osborne, Sean O’Casey, Harold Pinter, Bernard Shaw, Neil Simon, Gertrude Stein, Tom Stoppard, Derek Walcott, August Wilson and Elizabeth Wong.
New
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,905 plays by 419 playwrights, and more than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. This collection offers a unique window into the economic, historical, social, and political psyche of two countries. Scholars and students who use the database will have a new way to study the signal events of the twentieth century—including the Depression, the role of women, the Cold War, and more—through the plays and performances of writers who lived through these decades.
New
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
New
Please note, you will need to sign in with your WSJ account credentials after navigating to this resource. If you have not yet set up your account, visit WSJ.com/SouthernCT and sign up using your SCSU email address.
New
This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...