Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
New
Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
Black Drama, Third Edition This link opens in a new window
New
Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
New
This site is a curated selection of primary sources for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, this resource is freely available on the web and to libraries. The site will include more than 2,000 curated documents around six crucial phases of the U.S. Black freedom struggle. Each time period features an overview plus organized information and links to primary source documents about the relevant people, places, related government documents.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
New
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1976 to today. Search full text using topical/keyword terms. Additionally, there is a “Suggested Searches” functionality that guides users to important events, themes, and stories across African American history.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
New
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.
Cabells This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Predatory Reports
Includes Cabell's Publishing Directories (Nursing set, Business set) and Predatory Reports (specialists analyze over 60 behavioral indicators to keep the community aware of the growing threats and to keep academia protected from exploitative operations).
Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
New
COVID-19 Best Evidence This link opens in a new window
  • Free Web Resource
New
A searchable database of evidence based medical articles related to COVID-19, assembled by the University of Michigan Taubman Health Sciences Library and Department of Learning Health Sciences
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online This link opens in a new window
New
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online is a unique orchestral music finder tool and an invaluable resource for orchestral librarians, libraries, planners, musicologists, conductors, and artistic directors.

You can browse the classical repertoire from Karl Friedrich Abel to Ellen Taffee Zwilich and find basic information on composers and instrumentation plus inspiration for advanced programming. You can also search opera arias, duets choruses, and more using the opera excerpts finder.
De Gruyter ebook collections This link opens in a new window
New
New
The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) is the first and only comprehensive reference work devoted to the Bible and its reception. The encyclopedia contains the most up-to-date information on the origins and development of the Bible in the canons of Judaism and Christianity. It then documents the history of biblical interpretation and reception, not only in Christianity and Judaism, but also in Islam and other non-Western religious traditions and movements.
eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): RMA eStatement Studies, Statement Studies
eStatement Studies is the online format of the widely known publication, Annual Statement Studies. The eStatement Studies will include both the Financial Ratio Benchmarks (FRB), and the Industry Default Probabilities (IDP) data sets displaying more than 597 industry benchmarking reports at the click of a button. The benefit to the online format, eStatement Studies (eSS), you will have access to regional data breakouts, and can download ratios into an Excel Client Comparison worksheet, which you can also use to compare your client to the RMA ratios, side-by-side.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Trial
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
New
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
New
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Medicine on Screen This link opens in a new window
New
Medicine on Screen is a curated portal to the National Library of Medicine (NLM) historical audiovisual collections. This site showcases unique, rare, and important medical films enriched with contextual information, scholarly essays, and related resources.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
New
A series of four volumes encompassing all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century with full, study, piano, and vocal scores.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
New
The Natural Science Collection is a full-text database supported by a specialized A&I file. It covers comprehensive scholarly output and is managed by an expert editorial team overseeing content selection and indexing supported by a controlled vocabulary.
New York Times (site license) This link opens in a new window
New
Get access to the New York Times through Southern! All SCSU students, faculty, and staff can sign up for a free NYT account. Please note, you will need to sign in with your NYT account credentials after navigating to this resource.

If you have not yet set up your SCSU NYT account, please follow these instructions:
Step 1: Navigate to Accessnyt.com
Step 2: Search for and click the listing for "Southern Connecticut State University"
Step 3: Click Create Account and complete registration fields using your SCSU email address.
New York Times Archives (back to 1851) This link opens in a new window
New
Access archival New York Times content back to 1851. Please note, you will need to sign in with your NYT account credentials after navigating to this resource.

If you have not yet set up your SCSU NYT account, please follow these instructions:
Step 1: Navigate to Accessnyt.com
Step 2: Search for and click the listing for "Southern Connecticut State University"
Step 3: Click Create Account and complete registration fields using your SCSU email address.
Predatory Reports This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Cabells Predatory Reports
Specialists analyze over 60 behavioral indicators to keep the community aware of the growing threats and to keep academia protected from exploitative operations.
New
Included here are transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
RePEc: IDEAS This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Research Papers in Economics
IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 4,100,000 items of research, including over 3,700,000 that can be downloaded in full text.
RMA eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): eStatement Studies, Statement Studies
eStatement Studies is the online format of the widely known publication, Annual Statement Studies. The eStatement Studies will include both the Financial Ratio Benchmarks (FRB), and the Industry Default Probabilities (IDP) data sets displaying more than 597 industry benchmarking reports at the click of a button. The benefit to the online format, eStatement Studies (eSS), you will have access to regional data breakouts, and can download ratios into an Excel Client Comparison worksheet, which you can also use to compare your client to the RMA ratios, side-by-side.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
New
Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
New
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
New
Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects.
What Works Clearinghouse This link opens in a new window
New
The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions. This source focuses on the results from high-quality research to answer the question “What works in education?”
What Works for Health This link opens in a new window
New
Find policies and programs that are a good fit for your community's priorities.
Women and Social Movements, International This link opens in a new window
New
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...