Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases: Open (no login required)

Find the best library databases for your research.

71 Databases found for Open (no login required)

All Databases

A

ABDC Journal Quality List
  • Free Web Resource

A journal ranking list, which follows an extensive review conducted by Expert Panels, which assessed journals relating to Business and Taxation Law; Economics; Finance including Actuarial Studies; Information Systems; Management, Commercial Services and Transport and Logistics; Marketing and Tourism; and other areas.

Artcyclopedia
  • Free Web Resource
arts humanities photos paintings landscapes statues museums artists painters sculpters
arXiv
  • Free Web Resource
physics mathematics non-linear science computer quantitative biology finance statistics archive repository journals articles papers presentations

B

Bibliography of the History of Art
  • Free Web Resource
Bibliography of articles worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present: fine arts, decorative arts, and applied arts. Public access to the index provided by the Getty Research Institute. (Note: Bibliographies/indexes don't provide full text. If you find an article you would like to access in full text, search for it in SouthernSearch. If unavailable there, place an interlibrary loan request.)
Bibliography articles, worldwide European Europe American United States visual arts antiquity fine arts, decorative arts, applied arts
Biodiversity Heritage Library
  • Free Web Resource
botany biology ebooks journals images digitized history science
BioMed Central
  • Free Web Resource
life sciences medicine biology Bioinformatics Genomics Cancer Diabetes Endocrinology Gastroenterology Global Health Influenza Medical Imaging Microarrays Microbiology Infectious Diseases Neuroscience, Neurology Psychiatry Nursing Health Care Nutrition Outbreak Prevention Control Respiratory RNAi Stem Cells Surgery Systems Biology
BioRXiv
  • Free Web Resource
Animal Behavior Cognition Biochemistry Bioengineering Bioinformatics Biophysics Cancer Biology Cell Biology Developmental Biology Ecology Evolutionary Biology Genetics Genomics Immunology Microbiology Molecular Biology Neuroscience Paleontology Pathology Pharmacology Physiology Plant Biology Scientific Communication Synthetic Biology Systems Biology Zoology
BioStor
  • Free Web Resource
botany biology ebooks journals images digitized history science

C

CenStats
  • Free Web Resource
United States U.S. US Census Bureau Age Sex Ancestry Births Children Commuting Computer Internet Use Congressional Deaths Disability Employment Educational Equal Employment Opportunity Families Living Arrangements Fertility Foreign-Born Genealogy Geographical Mobility Migration Health Insurance Hispanic Origin Housing Immigration Income Industry Occupation International Statistics Labor Force Language Marriage Divorce Metropolitan Population Poverty Race Redistricting Voting Rights Same Sex Couples School Districts Enrollment Income Veterans Registration Wealth Asset Ownership Well-Being Economy Construction Governments Manufacturing Retail Trade Services Wholesale Expenses E-Commerce Export Codes Economic Studies NAICS NAPCS Small Business Enterprise Women Minorities Veterans Indicators Trade Local Geography Maps Data Employment dynamics economic indicators foreign trade economic census business patters EasyStats
ChemSpider - Database of Chemical Structures and Property Predictions
  • Free Web Resource
chemistry organic inorganic physical biochemistry nanotechnology molecular environmental medicinal
Clinical Guidelines from Annals of Internal Medicine
Colonial Records and Topics (Connecticut)
  • Provided by the CT State Library
  • Free Web Resource
Connecticut Archives, 1629-1820
  • Provided by the CT State Library
Connecticut Digital Archive
  • Provided by the CT State Library
  • Free Web Resource
Connecticut State Library Digital Collections
  • Free Web Resource
CORE (COnnecting REpositories)
  • Free Web Resource
CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports

D

Data.gov
  • Free Web Resource
US Federal government site for direct access to data from Executive Branch agencies. Datasets listed in search results with available file format icons beneath each entry.
agriculture business climate consumer economics education energy finance health local government manufacturing ocean public safety science research statistics disasters
Digital Public Library of America
  • Free Web Resource
culture history art literature
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
  • Free Web Resource
Agriculture, Food Sciences, Arts, Architecture, Biology, Life Sciences, Business, Economics, Chemistry, Earth, Environmental Sciences, Health Sciences, History, Archaeology, Languages, Literatures, Law, Political Science, Mathematics, Statistics, Philosophy, Religion, Physics, Astronomy, Science, Social Sciences, Technology Engineering
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
  • Free Web Resource
The Directory of Open Access Journal consists of free, online, full text, scholarly journals on all subjects from around the world. DOAJ lists several thousand journals, about half of which are searchable at the article level.
Agriculture, Food Sciences, Arts, Architecture, Biology, Life Sciences, Business, Economics, Chemistry, Earth, Environmental Sciences, Health Sciences, History, Archaeology, Languages, Literatures, Law, Political Science, Mathematics, Statistics, Philosophy, Religion, Physics, Astronomy, Science, Social Sciences, Technology , Engineering
DiTA (Diagnostic Test Accuracy) [physiotherapy]

E

ECRI Guidelines Trust
Publicly accessible evidence-based clinical guideline repository from the organization that managed the federal government's Guideline Clearinghouse (shut down 2018.) Many guidelines have summaries and TRUST Scorecards (TM). Links to publishers' websites (may not include full text) for all guidelines. If full text is not available, please submit an interlibrary loan request.
EGT Cultural Competence Corner (monthly highlights)
Alternate Name(s) ECRI Guidelines Trust
EngrXiv Preprints
  • Free Web Resource
EPA Chemistry Dashboard
  • Free Web Resource

F

FED In Print
Alternate Name(s) Federal Reserve Reports
findIT CT
Search the findIT CT catalog of over 17 million items from over 300 public, academic and private libraries in Connecticut.

G

Get The Research
  • Free Web Resource
Getty Virtual Library
  • Free Web Resource
art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, artists, art history, exhibition catalogues, cultural history, education
Google Arts & Culture
  • Free Web Resource
images arts humanities photos paintings landscapes statues museums artists painters sculpters
Google Newpaper Archive
  • Free Web Resource
news history
Google Scholar
  • Free Web Resource
science, technology, arts, humanities, literature, history, psychology, education, social sciences, political science, medicine, nursing, biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, geology, geography, physics
GovInfo
Guide to Pharmacology

H

History & Genealogy [Connecticut]
  • Provided by the CT State Library
  • Free Web Resource

I

INSPIRE HEP (High Energy Physics) Search
  • Free Web Resource
International Nuclear Information System (INIS)
  • Free Web Resource
Internet Archive
  • Free Web Resource

L

List of Newspaper Digitization Projects (Wikipedia)
  • Free Web Resource
news newspapers

M

MatWeb: Material Property Data
  • Free Web Resource
medRXiv - Preprint server for the health sciences
  • Free Web Resource

N

National Academies Press
  • Free Web Resource
reports e-books ebooks the National Academy of Sciences Engineering Institute Medicine Research Council Agriculture Behavioral Social Sciences Biography Autobiography Biology Life Computers Information Technology Conflict Security Earth Education Energy Conservation Environmental Studies Food Nutrition Health Medicine Industry Labor Mathematics Chemistry Physics Policy Space Aeronautics Transportation Infrastructure Nursing
National Jukebox @ LOC.gov
  • Free Web Resource
music audio history
Native Northeast Portal (Yale)
  • Free Web Resource
Alternate Name(s) Yale Indian Papers
Newspapers of Connecticut
  • Provided by the CT State Library
  • Free Web Resource
North American Aquatic Macroinvertebrate Digital Reference Collection
  • Free Web Resource

O

OAIster
  • Free Web Resource
Union catalog of digital resources. This database contains digital resources from open archive collections and represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European networks) Library
  • Free Web Resource
Society and social sciences, Humanities, Economics, finance, business and management, The arts, Law, Literature and literary studies, Language, Earth sciences, geography, environment, planning
Online Books Page
  • Free Web Resource
Open Book Publishers
  • Free Web Resource

P

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
PhilPapers
  • Free Web Resource
philosophy aesthetics anxiology education, epistemology ethics history language logic metaphysics philosophical anthropology metaphiliosophy political science social religion
PLOS ONE
  • Free Web Resource
PLOS ONE is an open access, peer-reviewed science journal.
Anatomy Animal cells Animals Biochemistry Blood cells Cancers and neoplasms Cell biology Cell processes Cellular structures and organelles Cellular types Chemical compounds Chemistry Computational biology Developmental biology Diagnostic medicine Evolutionary biology Gene expression Gene regulation Genetics Genomics Immune cells Immunology Infectious diseases Mathematics Medical microbiology Microbial pathogens Microbiology Model organisms Molecular biology Molecular biology techniques Neuroscience Nucleic acids Oncology Organic chemistry Organic compounds Organisms Pathogens Pathology and laboratory medicine Physics Physiology Population groupings Proteins Psychology RNA Sequence analysis Sequencing techniques Signs and symptoms Statistics (mathematics) Vertebrates White blood cells
Project Gutenberg
  • Free Web Resource
literature world languages history primary resources
PsyArXiv Preprints
  • Free Web Resource
PTSDPubs (formerly PILOTS)
Alternate Name(s) PILOTS
Veterans post-traumatic stress disorder PTSD mental-health traumatic events Traumatic stress mental health sequelae Assessment Prevention Treatment Mental health services Professional ethics Public Policy Traumatized populations
PubAg
  • Free Web Resource
Alternate Name(s) AGRICOLA
PubAg/AGRICOLA is the National Agriculture Library's (NAL) database of book and article citations about agriculture and agriculture-related science and issues. For datasets, see the Ag Data Commons link at the top of the page. Please use SouthernSearch and our Interlibrary Loan Service rather than the request service within the database.
PubMed Central (Note: use Medline for Library subscriptions)
  • Free Web Resource
medicine nursing dentistry veterinary health care system pre-clinical sciences Allergy and Immunology Anesthesiology Cardiovascular Dermatology Gastroenterology Gynecology Obstetrics Internal Neurology Oncology Ophthalmology Otorhinolaryngology Pathology Pediatrics Pharmacy materia medica Psychiatry Sports Medicine Surgery Therapeutics Urology Nursing Public Health administration management insurance policy

S

SAO/NASA ADS
  • Free Web Resource
Science.gov
  • Free Web Resource
SCSU Authors (Zotero Library)
  • Free Web Resource
A collection of citations to articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, and more by SCSU authors. More info. The native Zotero Library is also available directly.
Semantic Scholar
Sigma Repository
Alternate Name(s) Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society for Nursing
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
  • Free Web Resource
SocArXiv Preprints
  • Free Web Resource
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  • Free Web Resource
philosophy religion Aesthetics Metaphysics Epistemology Science Biology Physics Logic Mathematics Mind Psychology Ethics Politics Social science Language Law Religion African East Asian Indian Tibetan Slavonic Latin American Ancient Medieval Renaissance 19th Century Judaistic Buddhist Chinese Indian Japanese Christian Islamic Hindu

T

Treasures of Connecticut Libraries
  • Provided by the CT State Library
  • Free Web Resource

U

United Nations iLibrary
  • Free Web Resource

W

What Works Clearinghouse
The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions. This source focuses on the results from high-quality research to answer the question “What works in education?”

Y

Yale Virtual Microscopy: Invertebrate Zoology
  • Free Web Resource

New / Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
CNN Video Collection
New
CNN’s specials and feature programming on business, economics, technology, environmental studies, health, women’s studies, and human rights
Europe PMC
New
Europe PMC provides comprehensive access to life sciences literature from trusted sources. It's available to anyone, anywhere for free. With Europe PMC you can search and read 45.8 million publications, preprints and other documents enriched with links to supporting data, reviews, protocols, and other relevant resources.
Forest Service Enterprise Data
New
A single point of access for data collected and managed by the USDA Forest Service. You can use the Geospatial Data Discovery Tool to access data about individual forests or grasslands or about an area of interest that you specify on the national map. You can find and download datasets by topic area or theme or find and use map services published by the Agency.
Palace Project App
New
Download the app and follow the instructions through this link to set up your account.

The Palace Project app is your newest place to get ebooks and audiobooks! CSCU students now have access to a collection of leisure reading materials courtesy of the Connecticut State Library’s eGO Program. This growing collection of ebooks and electronic audiobooks contains fiction, non-fiction, banned books, diverse authors and experiences, award winners, All CT Reads titles and much, much more!
Policy Commons 2025 Open Collection
New
The Policy Commons 2025 Open Collection is an initiative to rescue and preserve materials from government organizations facing the removal of public information and data—reports, blog posts, videos, and podcasts.
Wall Street Journal
New
Please note, you will need to sign in with your WSJ account credentials after navigating to this resource. If you have not yet set up your account, visit WSJ.com/SouthernCT and sign up using your SCSU email address.
World Religion Database
Trial
This database is available on a trial basis through April 18, 2025. To provide feedback on this trial, please fill out our survey here: https://southernct.libwizard.com/f/trial.
title
Loading...