Skip to main content

Find Article @ SCSU

Find Article @ SCSU

When an article isn't available in full-text in a database you will see a "Find Article @ SCSU" button. This button will help you look for the article in another database. The process of locating an article depends on it's availability.

This page will help guide you through three possible scenarios: 

1.) Article is available

2.) Article isn't available

3.) Article appears available but isn't

Article Is Available

Article Is Available

When you see the "Find Article @ SCSU" button, the article may be available in another database. 

1.) Click on the "Find Article @ SCSU" button under the article in the results page.

Clicking on "Find Article @ SCSU" button on databases article results list

 

2.) This will open the Journal Finder. Click on the computer icon next to the journal title result. 

Click on computer icon next to journal title result

 

3.) Click on the link under "Article" with the article information to open your article in another database. 

Clicking on article information link on under "article" section in results. Opening article in another database

 

4.) This page should have a link to the full text of the article. Look for a link that says full text or PDF.

Article Isn't Available

Article Isn't Available 

When you see the "Find Article @ SCSU" button, the article may not be available. If it is not available, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

1.) Click on the "Find Article @ SCSU" button under the article in the results page.

Clicking on "Find article @ SCSU" button and going to journal finder

 

2.) The Journal Finder does not find this journal in our collection. You can request the article through interlibrary loan by clicking the link "Request any article through Interlibrary Loan".

Clicking on link "request any article through Interlibrary Loan"

 

3.)  Clicking this link will automatically fill in the article information for you. To request the article, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on "Submit Request". 

Scrolling to the bottom of the request form and clicking on "Submit Request" button

 

4.) You will get a confirmation message and will see the article under "Outstanding Requests" on the homepage. You will get an email once the article is available. See our Interlibrary Loan guide for more information. 

 

Article Appears Available But Isn't

Article Appears Available But Isn't

Sometimes, article availability is not as clear cut as the examples above. You may need to do a few extra steps to see if we have an article.

1.) Click on the "Find Article @ SCSU" button under the article in the results page.

Click on the "find articles @ SCSU" button under article search result opening the journal finder

 

2.) The Journal Finder will open displaying relevant article results. Use your citation information on the top of the page to find the correct journal. 

Pointing out Journal title in search information and then in the search results.

 

3.) Click on the computer icon on the appropriate search result. 

Clicking on computer icon next to journal title search result

 

4.) This will open a list of the databases that contain your journal. At this point, it's important to remember your citation information. Go back to the database results on the other tab to refer back if needed. In our case, the citation is as follows: 

Amir, O., Grosz, B. J., Gajos, K. Z., & Gultchin, L. (2019). Personalized change awareness: Reducing information overload in loosely-coupled teamwork. Artificial Intelligence, 275, 204–233. https://doi-org.scsu.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.artint.2019.05.005

If your list has multiple databases, check to see which one has the appropriate year range based on your article. In our case, our article is from 2019. 

Listing of article source containing "full text begins: 1/1/1995" and "full-text ends: Lacks most recent 48 months."

As you can see from this listing, full text coverage begins in 1995 but does not contain coverage for the most recent 48 months. The article we're hoping to get in full text was published 5 months ago. So, we do not have access to this article. If we still wanted the article, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. 

 

5.) To request the article through Interlibrary Loan, go back a page to the original results lists, find the appropriate listing again but instead of clicking on the computer icon, click on the envelope icon. 

Clicking on the envelop icon next to results listing on previous page, opening ILL

 

6.) Clicking on this envelop with automatically fill in the article information for you. To request the article, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on "Submit Request". 

Clicking on "Submit Request" at bottom of page.

 

7.) You will get a confirmation message and you can see the request under "Outstanding Requests" on the homepage. You will get an email once the article is available. See our Interlibrary Loan guide for more information. 

Login to LibApps