Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Buley Library subscribes to a wide range of databases across many disciplines. These databases may contain reference books, articles, and other materials, and will often provide formatted citations. Please contact a librarian if you need additional assistance using these resources.
Databases and Reference
Reference Books provide background information as well as useful bibliographies: (search by subjects and keywords)
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online (Asian Art)
Oxford Reference Online: Dictionary of Asian Mythology
Research Databases to find articles, book chapters, etc. (Search by subjects and keywords)
Art and Architecture Complete
ATLA Religions Database: Bibliographic records of scholarship representing major religions, faiths, denominations, and languages
Academic Search Premier
Asian American Drama: Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before.
Examples of Reference Books available at Buley Library (non-circulating)
Asian Mythologies by
Call Number: Hilton C. Buley Library Reference / Call Number: BL1005 .D5313 1993
Publication Date: 1993-05-15
Introduction to Oriental Mythology by
Call Number: Hilton C. Buley Library Oversize stacks / Call Number: BL1032.I56 1989x
Publication Date: 1989-11-01
Art and Human Rights by
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Contemporary Asian art has had a remarkable impact on global art practice, in addition to serving as a record of the region's history from decolonisation to the present. Many Asian artists are deeply concerned about what it means to be human and to contribute to the development of a sustainable society, as well as having a sustained commitment to making art. This book, written at the start of the 'Asian century', focuses on the contexts and conditions which have helped to shape both art practice and postcolonial society in the region. One of the first surveys of contemporary Asian art, it uses case studies of key artists to discuss the work in relation to issues of human rights, social and environmental well-being and creativity. As such, it makes an important contribution to studies of contemporary Asian art and art history.