"Reference" materials are generally things that you wouldn't read the whole thing at once, just use to look up specific information. The most common reference works are encyclopedias and dictionaries. Usually, you use reference works for information, such as definitions and explanations, rather than for details of research, though they will help you understand research published elsewhere. If you use them for this purpose, most often you would not cite a reference work unless you were using a direct quotation (for example, comparing definitions from several dictionaries, or pointing out an error in an encyclopedia entry.) If you find information that you would like to use, for example, a statistical chart, see if you can find where the reference work sourced that information from. Encyclopedia entries often have good reference lists. (Consult your librarian if you have trouble or questions about this.) Other types of reference works include handbooks and guidebooks, which, as compilations of best practices, are citable.
Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine by
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine provides comprehensive and authoritative definitions of nearly 8000 sports science and sports medicine terms. All major areas are covered, including exercise psychology, sports nutrition, biomechanics, anatomy, sports sociology, training principles and techniques and sports injury and rehabilitation The dictionary will be an invaluable aid to students, coaches, athletes and anyone wanting instant access to the scientific principles, anatomical structures, and physiological, sociological and psychological processes that affect sporting performance. It will also be of interest to the general reader interested in sports science and medicine terminology.
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology by
How do athletes overcome fears, slumps, mental blocks, or injuries? How do they deal with stress and anxiety, be it from competitors, teammates, audiences, parents, coaches, or themselves? What psychological techniques prove effective in mental training for peak performance, maintaining concentration, motivation, and competitive drive? How can an athlete enhance his or her commitment to a training regimen, or how might the average person better adhere to a program of fitness and exercise? Readers will find answers to these questions and more in the Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology. Features & Benefits: Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings. From personal factors to situational factors influencing performance to specific psychological techniques for enhancing performance, this work provides comprehensive coverage of the field via approximately 350 to 400 signed entries. Entries conclude with cross-references and suggestions for further readings to guide students further in their research journey. Available in print and online, this monumental work is edited by two leading figures in the field with a distinguished international Editorial Advisory Board to select and assign entries, ensuring authoritative content readers can trust. Key Themes: Career Transition Certification, Credentialing, and Roles of Sport and Exercise Psychologists Disability Emotion Exercise Health Group Dynamics History and Foundation Leadership Morality, Aggression, and Ethics in Sport Motivation Motor Control Perception and Cognition in Sport Personality and Psychological Characteristics in Sport Psychobiology Psychological Skills/Interventions Psychosociocultural Self-Concept/Self-Perceptions, and Identity Youth Sport
Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise (2nd ed.) by
A good diet and regular exercise are the key components of a healthy lifestyle. Food and Fitness enables the reader to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise, in order to select the combination most suited to his/her needs. Organised alphabetically, the dictionary covers all matters relating to diet and exercise, from dietary methods to food supplements, and sex and exercise to sports injuries. Subject areas covered include: Diets Food additives and supplements Health and fitness topics directly related to exercise Anatomy Energy-related terms Exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, and weight control Training methods and principles Injuries
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health by
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health offers thorough coverage of relevant topics and issues in historical and contemporary context, with information on lifestyle habits and practices and their impact on health. These volumes sort out the science behind nightly news reports and magazine cover stories, helping the reader to discern sound, evidence-based advice from that which is merely fad. The volumes convey the latest research on lifestyle medicine, incorporating content from such areas as health psychology, communication, public policy and health promotion, and disease prevention, among others. Readers are empowered to lead and promote healthier lifestyles after perusing the hundreds of signed, authoritative entries written by leading experts in their respective fields. Accompanying bibliographies and suggested readings provide guidance toward more in-depth resources. This comprehensive reference resource is written accessibly, making it useful for a broad audience, including students and academics in the fields of health, physical education, biology, medicine, nursing and allied health, physical therapy, nutrition, public health, and health communication, as well as for lay readers interested in learning how to lead a healthier lifestyle.
Routledge Handbook of Ergonomics in Sport and Exercise (print book) by
Ergonomics is concerned with the 'fit' between people and their work. With an increasing number of people becoming conscious about their health and participating in sport or physical activity, ergonomics has become an increasingly prominent concern within the sport and exercise sciences. From the design of footwear and artificial playing surfaces, to studies of proprioception by obese children , the way in which people interact with their environment - designed and natural - has important implications for performance sport and for the design of safe and beneficial forms of physical activity. The Routledge Handbook of Ergonomics in Sport and Exercise is the first book to offer a comprehensive and in-depth survey of cutting-edge scientific research into ergonomics in sport and exercise. Written by world-leading international scientists and researchers, the book explores key topics such as: Musculoskeletal adaptation to sports and exercise Environmental factors of injury and fatigue Load weight and performance Ergonomics in adapted sports and exercise Measurement in sports and exercise Modeling and simulation in ergonomics design Influence of playing surface, footwear and equipment design Bridging the gap between fundamental scientific research in sport and exercise and applications in sport and exercise contexts, this is an important reference for all advanced students, researchers and professionals working in sport and exercise science, kinesiology, sports technology, sports engineering, ergonomics, and product design.