This list includes journals for which we have access to the most recent issues. Click the links to browse and search the individual journals. For additional journals and articles, and to search a wide range of journals, search the databases listed below.
For books listed as Print Books (noted after the titles; also have Call Numbers), click the linked title to see if the book is checked in and available.
The SAGE Handbook of Coaching by
The SAGE Handbook of Coaching presents a comprehensive, global view of the discipline, identifying the current issues and practices, as well as mapping out where the discipline is going. The Handbook is organized into six thematic sections: Part One: Positioning Coaching as a Discipline Part Two: Coaching as a Process Part Three: Common Issues in Coaching Part Four: Coaching in Contexts Part Five: Researching Coaching Part Six: Development of Coaches It provides the perfect reference point for graduate students, scholars, educators and researchers wishing to familiarize themselves with current research and debate in the academic and influential practitioners′ literature on coaching.
Handbook of Youth Mentoring by
This thoroughly updated Second Edition of the Handbook of Youth Mentoring presents the only comprehensive synthesis of current theory, research, and practice in the field of youth mentoring. Editors David L. DuBois and Michael J. Karcher gather leading experts in the field to offer critical and informative analyses of the full spectrum of topics that are essential to advancing our understanding of the principles for effective mentoring of young people. This volume includes twenty new chapter topics and eighteen completely revised chapters based on the latest research on these topics. Each chapter has been reviewed by leading practitioners, making this handbook the strongest bridge between research and practice available in the field of youth mentoring.
SAGE Handbook of Play and Learning in Early Childhood by
′This Handbook offers diverse perspectives from scholars across the globe who help us see play in new ways. At the same time the basic nature of play gives a context for us to learn new theoretical frameworks and methods. A real gem!′ - Beth Graue, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, Wisconsin Center for Education Research, USA Play and learning scholarship has developed considerably over the last decade, as has the recognition of its importance to children's learning and development. Containing chapters from highly respected researchers, whose work has been critical to building knowledge and expertise in the field, this Handbook focuses on examining historical, current and future research issues in play and learning scholarship. Organized into three sections which consider: theoretical and philosophical perspectives on play and learning play in pedagogy, curriculum and assessment play contexts. The Handbook′s breadth, clarity and rigor will make it essential reading for researchers and postgraduate students, as well as professionals with interest in this dynamic and changing field. Liz Brooker is Reader in Early Childhood in the Faculty of Children and Learning at the Institute of Education, University of London. Mindy Blaise is an Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education in the Department of Early Childhood Education at the Hong Kong Institute of Education. Susan Edwards is Associate Professor in Curriculum and Pedagogy at Australian Catholic University. This handbook′s International Advisory Board included: Jo Aliwood, The University of Newcastle, Australia Pat Broadhead, Leeds Metropolitan University, Australia Stig Brostrom, Aarhus University, Denmark Hasina Ebrahim, University of the Free State, South Africa Beth Graue, Wisconsin Center for Education Research, USA Amita Gupta, The City College of New York, CUNY, USA Marjatta Kalliala, University of Helsinki, Finland Rebecca Kantor, University of Colorado Denver, USA Colette Murphy, Trinity College, Dublin, Republic of Ireland Ellen Sandseter, Queen Maud University College of Early Childhood Education, Norway
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society by
CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009"This ground-breaking resource is strongly recommended for all libraries and health and welfare institutional depots; essential for university collections, especially those catering to social studies programs."--Library Journal, STARRED ReviewChildren and adults spend a great deal of time in activities we think of as "play," including games, sports, and hobbies. Without thinking about it very deeply, almost everyone would agree that such activities are fun, relaxing, and entertaining. However, play has many purposes that run much deeper than simple entertainment. For children, play has various functions such as competition, following rules, accepting defeat, choosing leaders, exercising leadership, practicing adult roles, and taking risks in order to reap rewards. For adults, many games and sports serve as harmless releases of feelings of aggression, competition, and intergroup hostility. The Encyclopedia of Play in Today′s Society explores the concept of play in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. Its scope encompasses leisure and recreational activities of children and adults throughout the ages, from dice games in the Roman Empire to video games today. With more than 450 entries, these two volumes do not include coverage of professional sports and sport teams but, instead, cover the hundreds of games played not to earn a living but as informal activity. All aspects of play--from learning to competition, mastery of nature, socialization, and cooperation--are included. Simply enough, this Encyclopedia explores play played for the fun of it! Key Features Available in both print and electronic formats Provides access to the fascinating literature that has explored questions of psychology, learning theory, game theory, and history in depth Considers the affects of play on child and adult development, particularly on health, creativity, and imagination Contains entries that describe both adult and childhood play and games in dozens of cultures around the world and throughout history Explores the sophisticated analyses of social thinkers such as Huizinga, Vygotsky, and Sutton-Smith, as well as the wide variety of games, toys, sports, and entertainments found around the world Presents cultures as diverse as the ancient Middle East, modern Russia, and China and in nations as far flung as India, Argentina, and France Key Themes Adult Games Board and Card Games Children′s Games History of Play Outdoor Games and Amateur Sports Play and Education Play Around the World Psychology of Play Sociology of Play Toys and Business Video and Online Games For a subject we mostly consider light-hearted, play as a research topic has generated an extensive and sophisticated literature, exploring a range of penetrating questions. This two-volume set serves as a general, nontechnical resource for academics, researchers, and students alike. It is an essential addition to any academic library.
Strength Coaching in America: A History of the Innovation That Transformed Sports (print & ebook) by
Shortlisted for the North American Society for Sports History 2020 Monograph Prize It's hard to imagine, but as late as the 1950s, athletes could get kicked off a team if they were caught lifting weights. Coaches had long believed that strength training would slow down a player. Muscle was perceived as a bulky burden; training emphasized speed and strategy, not "brute" strength. Fast forward to today: the highest-paid strength and conditioning coaches can now earn $700,000 a year. Strength Coaching in America delivers the fascinating history behind this revolutionary shift. College football represents a key turning point in this story, and the authors provide vivid details of strength training's impact on the gridiron, most significantly when University of Nebraska football coach Bob Devaney hired Boyd Epley as a strength coach in 1969. National championships for the Huskers soon followed, leading Epley to launch the game-changing National Strength Coaches Association. Dozens of other influences are explored with equal verve, from the iconic Milo Barbell Company to the wildly popular fitness magazines that challenged physicians' warnings against strenuous exercise. Charting the rise of a new athletic profession, Strength Coaching in America captures an important transformation in the culture of American sport.
Teaching about Social Justice Issues in Physical Education by
Addressing social justice issues in a physical education context is necessary both at the higher education and PK-12 settings. Limited undergraduate and graduate programs educate their students about social justice issues, thus, resulting in licensed teachers who lack the content knowledge, comfort level and pedagogical tools on how to educate students about issues related to social justice. Grounded in the transformative pedagogy theoretical framework, this book will offer practical lessons and strategies on a wide variety of social issues (e.g., body, race, self-identity, immigration) that can be used in teacher education and the PK-12 setting. The goal is for teacher educators and practitioners to feel more comfortable with teaching about and for social justice and believe this resource will enhance their content and pedagogical knowledge in the quest to achieve that goal. The purpose of this book is to provide physical education teacher educators and PK-12 physical education teachers with lesson plans and resources on how to address social justice issues in a physical education setting. This book will include sample lesson plans/activities that address a wide variety of social issues - the what, the how and the challenges and possibilities that the author(s) encountered when teaching such a lesson/activity. Addressing social justice issues has been limited in physical education, both in higher education and PK-12, especially in the United States. Numerous scholars, internationally, have engaged in research studies that explored how social justice issues are addressed in physical education teacher education. Although we have research to support the limitations and complexities of teaching about sociocultural issues and for social justice, a more practical resource for teacher educators and inservice teachers is needed. The market for this book will be physical education teacher educators and PK-12 physical education teachers throughout the world.
Sports Coaching: a theoretical and practical guide (print book) by
The application of the theoretical underpinnings of coaching to practice is a central concern in sport. How should academic research seek to inform applied practice, and how should practising coaches integrate research into their professional activities? Sports Coaching: A Theoretical and Practical Guide is the first book to truly integrate academic research on sports coaching with an assessment of and recommendations for applied practice. With every chapter written by a coaching researcher and a practising, elite-level coach, the book clearly and concisely introduces the academic evidence base and discusses how and why theory should be integrated into practice. Made up of sections on coaching practice, coach education and development, the use of sport science support and coaching special populations, the book constitutes a comprehensive guide to the theory and practice of sports coaching. Chapters are clearly and consistently structured, allowing students and coaches opportunity to gain a firm understanding of the core theoretical principles of sports coaching and the ways in which they can guide practice. The book is a vital resource for any sports coaching student, researcher or practitioner to develop their evidence-informed practice.
