This list includes journals for which we have access to the most recent issues. Click the links to browse and search the individual journals. For additional journals and articles, and to search a wide range of journals, search the databases listed above.
For books listed as Print Books (noted after the titles; also have Call Numbers), click the linked title to see if the book is checked in and available.
Encyclopedia of Health Communication by
From the dynamics of interpersonal communication between health professionals and clients to global command-and-control during public health emergencies that cross international borders, the field of health communication bridges many disciplines and involves efforts from the micro to the macro. It involves navigating personal, cultural, and political complexities and an ability to distill complex technical science into quickly and easily understood terms for ready distribution by the mass media--or to an individual patient or to the parent of an ailing child. Despite an abundance of textbooks, specialized monographs, and academic handbooks, this is the first encyclopedic reference work in this area, covering the breadth of theory and research on health communication, as well as their practical application. Features: Nearly 600 original articles are organized A-to-Z within a three-volume set to provide comprehensive coverage of this exciting field, including such topics as theories and research traditions; evaluation and assessment; cultural complexities; high risk and special populations; message design and campaigns; provider/patient interaction issues; media issues; and more. All articles were specifically commissioned for this work, signed and authored by key figures in the field, and conclude with cross reference links and suggestions for further reading. Appendices include a Resource Guide with annotated lists of classic books and articles, journals, associations, and web sites; a Glossary of specialized terms; and a Chronology offering an overview and history of the field. A thematic Reader's Guide groups related articles by broad topic areas as one handy search feature on the e-Reference platform, which also includes a comprehensive index of search terms. This A-to-Z three-volume reference is available in both print and online formats and is a must-have for libraries and researchers who seek comprehensive coverage of the theory, research, and applications of health communication. Key Themes: Community Health Issues End-of-Life Issues Evaluation of Health Intervention, Health Education, Health Communication Everyday and Family Health Communication Issues Health Campaigns Health Communication, International and Diversity Issues Health Information History of Health Communication Media Content Organizational Issues and Health Policy Provider-Patient Interaction Public Health Communication Specific Health Issues/Providers Technology Theories, Ethics, Philosophy, and Overriding Methodological Issues
Arts and Health Promotion: Tools and Bridges for Practice, Research, and Social Transformation (ebook) by
This open access book offers an overview of the beautiful, powerful, and dynamic array of opportunities to promote health through the arts from theoretical, methodological, pedagogical, and critical perspectives. This is the first-known text to connect the disparate inter-disciplinary literatures into a coherent volume for health promotion practitioners, researchers, and teachers. It provides a one-stop depository for using the arts as tools for health promotion in many settings and as bridges across communities, cultures, and sectors. The diverse applications of the arts in health promotion transcend the multiple contexts within which health is created, i.e., individual, community, and societal levels, and has a number of potential health, aesthetic, and social outcomes. Topics covered within the chapters include: Exploring the Potential of the Arts to Promote Health and Social Justice Drawing as a Salutogenic Therapy Aid for Grieving Adolescents in Botswana Community Theater for Health Promotion in Japan From Arts to Action: Project SHINE as a Case Study of Engaging Youth in Efforts to Develop Sustainable Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene Strategies in Rural Tanzania and India Movimiento Ventana: An Alternative Proposal to Mental Health in Nicaragua Using Art to Bridge Research and Policy: An Initiative of the United States National Academy of Medicine Arts and Health Promotion is an innovative and engaging resource for a broad audience including practitioners, researchers, university instructors, and artists. It is an important text for undergraduate- and graduate-level courses, particularly in program planning, research methods (especially qualitative methodology), community health, and applied art classes. The book also is useful for professional development among current health promotion practitioners, community nurses, community psychologists, public health professionals, and social workers.
Health Promotion in Health Care - Vital Theories and Research (downloadable ebook) by
This open access textbook represents a vital contribution to global health education, offering insights into health promotion as part of patient care for bachelor's and master's students in health care (nurses, occupational therapists, physiotherapists, radiotherapists, social care workers etc.) as well as health care professionals, and providing an overview of the field of health science and health promotion for PhD students and researchers. Written by leading experts from seven countries in Europe, America, Africa and Asia, it first discusses the theory of health promotion and vital concepts. It then presents updated evidence-based health promotion approaches in different populations (people with chronic diseases, cancer, heart failure, dementia, mental disorders, long-term ICU patients, elderly individuals, families with newborn babies, palliative care patients) and examines different health promotion approaches integrated into primary care services. Thisedited scientific anthology provides much-needed knowledge, translating research into guidelines for practice. Today's medical approaches are highly developed; however, patients are human beings with a wholeness of body-mind-spirit. As such, providing high-quality and effective health care requires a holistic physical-psychological-social-spiritual model of health care is required. A great number of patients, both in hospitals and in primary health care, suffer from the lack of a holistic oriented health approach: Their condition is treated, but they feel scared, helpless and lonely. Health promotion focuses on improving people's health in spite of illnesses. Accordingly, health care that supports/promotes patients' health by identifying their health resources will result in better patient outcomes: shorter hospital stays, less re-hospitalization, being better able to cope at home and improved well-being, which in turn lead to lower health-care costs. This scientificanthology is the first of its kind, in that it connects health promotion with the salutogenic theory of health throughout the chapters. the authors here expand the understanding of health promotion beyond health protection and disease prevention. The book focuses on describing and explaining salutogenesis as an umbrella concept, not only as the key concept of sense of coherence.
A humanistic approach to health promotion (ebook; read online & download chapters) by
This book presents a distinct, ethically robust framework for improving population health when the major causes of disease, death and disability are closely associated with human behaviors. Rather than relying on a scientific, technological strategy aimed at developing ever more powerful and effective techniques for changing behaviors, a humanistic approach recognizes the unique human capacity for dignity and moral decision-making. As an essential alternative to the scientific assumption of determinism, a humanistic framework is based on the equally viable assumption that human beings have the capacity to exercise autonomy in pursuing their life plans. If people can choose how they want to live their lives, then it is imperative to respect and cultivate their autonomy in making health-promoting decisions. A scientific approach is unsurpassed at identifying effective means for stopping and killing bacteria; the same methods are not appropriate, however, when the objective is to alter human behavior.
In a humanistic framework, it is important to acknowledge that autonomous choices are not completely unrestrained—the human condition has significant physical and social limitations—and that certain readily-identifiable social groups face much greater constraints than others, most significantly due to poverty and racism. As explained and justified in this book, the most important task for health promotion is to promote autonomy, and to do this by redressing the hugely disparate yet corrigible barriers faced by people occupying distinct social positions. This project is a matter of social justice—not a scientific and technological problem to be solved, but a moral and political endeavor to engage fellow citizens—in strengthening our social institutions to enable everyone to realize their innate capacities to the fullest extent possible. The book provides ethical standards, case studies and concrete practical analogies to demonstrate the feasibility and benefits of moving the field of health promotion in a new humanistic direction.
Sport and Exercise Psychology: Theory and Application (downloadable e-textbook) by
This textbook covers topics in sport and exercise psychology for students of psychology and sport science, as well as for sport practitioners who want to understand topics in sport psychology in more detail and depth. The book is divided into two main parts: Theory and Application. The first part covers the theoretical facets of sport and exercise psychology, and the close link between theory and practice, divided into the sub-disciplines of psychology (cognition, motivation, emotion, personality and development, and social processes). The second part focuses on the applications of sport and exercise psychology in the context of performance and health. With contributions from scholars across the globe, the book offers an international and timely perspective on the key fundaments of sport psychology. Taken together, these chapters provide a challenging yet accessible overview of the larger field of sport and exercise psychology. This book issuitable for readers at different levels of competence, supported with didactic elements (learning objectives and learning control questions) to find the right learning level.
The Joy Choice: how to finally achieve lasting changes in eating and exercise (print book) by
Learn to live a happier and healthier life with the help of this book--start changing behaviors and create new habits using fun and easy science-based solutions. What if you could easily and joyfully resolve the in-the-moment conflicts that often derail your eating and exercise goals? Much of what we've been taught about creating change in eating and exercise is simplistic, outdated, and for many, misguided. Sustainable-behavior-change researcher and lifestyle coach Michelle Segar has devoted decades to the study of how to achieve lasting changes in eating and exercise and other self-care behaviors. Segar explains the surprising reasons why our eating and exercise plans so often crash when they come up against real life. She calls these conflicts "choice points," and shows that they are the real place of power for achieving lasting changes in eating and exercise.The Joy Choice offers a fresh, brain-based solution that turns the old behavior-change paradigm on its head. This groundbreaking book liberates you from the self-defeating obligations and rigid requirements of past diet and workout regimens and reveals what emerging research suggests really drives the consistent choices that power sustainable change. Designed from cutting-edge decision science and real-world experience coaching clients, you'll discover the easy, flexible, and three-step joy-infused decision tool that works with the chaos of daily life, guiding you to finally achieve and maintain your eating and exercise goals once and for all--and enjoy doing it! "One of the best health books of 2022"--Washington Post "If you want a smart, science-based, and joyful approach to sustainable behavior change, start here." ―Tom Rath, NYT bestselling author of Eat Move Sleep and StrengthsFinder 2.0 "The Joy Choice...reveals easy and fun ways to stay consistent with our health goals, while still tending to the meaningful people and demands in our lives."―Tina Payne Bryson, Ph.D., NYT bestselling co-author of The Whole-Brain Child and author of The Bottom Line for Baby "If you're frustrated with your progress in exercising and eating right, this book is for you. Michelle Segar shifts the focus...toward a new approach to our choices that is full of humanity, imperfection, and, yes, joy." ―Daniel H. Pink, NYT bestselling author of The Power of Regret and Drive
Motivation and self-regulation in sport and exercise (print book) by 
Meaning and Spirituality in Sport and Exercise: psychological perspectives (print book) by
Despite the growing literature on spirituality and its positive impact on well-being in health psychology, education, occupational psychology and leisure studies, it has been less examined in sport studies. Meaning and Spirituality in Sport and Exercise: Psychological Perspectives examines the many forms of spirituality in sport from a psychological perspective, from moments of transcendence and finding deeper meaning and value to prayer before an important competition or in adversity, such as a career-threatening injury. Based on the latest research and the Nesti's experience in applied sport psychology service delivery, this book covers a range of novel topics linking spirituality to athlete development, injury, exercise motivation, and ageing athletes, and offers applied, practical guidance for sport psychologists working with spiritual athletes. Offering a unique contribution to the study of spirituality in sport, and to sport psychology practice, this book is vital reading for any upper-level student or academic working in sport and exercise psychology, religion and sport, or the philosophy of sport, and any practising sport psychologist.
Handbook of Sport Neuroscience and Psychophysiology (print book) by
Out of the broad arena of sport science and sport psychology, Roland A. Carlstedt presents a comprehensive collection on the neuroscience and associated psychophysiology that underlies and drives sport performance. Featuring sections ranging from the basics and foundations (anatomy and physiology) to the applied (assessment during competition, training, and mental training), Handbook of Sport Neuroscience and Psychophysiology is the first volume to provide students, researchers, practitioners, and coaches the latest knowledge on the brain, mind-body processes, and psychophysiological responding in the context of sport performance.
Sport, Mental Illness and Sociology by
At a timewhen the public discussion of mental illness in society is reaching a highpoint, athletes and other sports insiders remain curiously silent about theirprivate battles with a range of mental illnesses. While a series ofprofessional athletes have exposed the deep, dark secret related to thepervasiveness of mental illness in high performance sport, relatively little isknown, sociologically, about what mental illness culturally means inside sport. This editedcollection showcases research on how sport, as a social institution, mayactually produce dangerous cultural practices and contexts that foster thedevelopment of mental illness within athlete groups. Further, chapters alsoillustrate how sport, when organized with sensitivity and care, may serve tohelp manage mental illnesses. Rather than analyzing mental illness as anindividual phenomenon, contributors to this volume equally attest to how mentalillness is socially developed, constructed, managed, and culturally understoodwithin sport settings. The book highlights the relevance of a range of theoriespertinent to the social study of mental illness including dramaturgy, culturalstudies, learning theory, symbolic interaction, existentialism, and total paintheory. Chapters range from the discussion of depression, anxiety, eatingdisorders, drug addiction, epilepsy, mental trauma, stigma, the mass mediationof mental illness, and the promise of sport as a vehicle for personal andcollective recovery.
