Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy (ebook; read online & download chapters) by
Time to master the complexities of respiratory care. The newly updated Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 3rd Edition , explains the essentials with humor, expert guidance, and numerous colorful images. Offering the essential terms, skills, and equipment how-to's you need to successfully treat the most common respiratory disorders, this down-to-earth guide helps you grasp respiratory physiology, pathophysiology, and pharmacology in clear and simple language. Prepare for success in the classroom and on the job, with this enjoyable guide to creating positive respiratory outcomes. Grasp the fundamental concepts, skills, and processes of respiratory care ... NEW content on the latest respiratory modalities and updated nursing guidelines Dozens of colorful charts, drawings, and diagrams that make complex respiratory care concepts clear and easy-to-remember Perfect for visual learners --visually demonstrates anatomy and physiology, the components of treatments and when and how to apply them, and the causes, symptoms, and treatment of obstructive, restrictive, vascular, and neoplastic lung disorders Ideal reference and review for nursing students, new nurses, and respiratory therapists, with clear, concise direction on areas such as: Respiratory assessment techniques Diagnostic procedures Airway maintenance Oxygen delivery Chest drainage Suctioning Ventilatory support Treating infection and inflammation Assessing and treating traumatic injuries and other respiratory emergencies Care of patients receiving extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) and end-tidal CO2 monitoring Recognizing an asthma attack Preoperative and postoperative care for patients having a thoracotomy or lung transplant Computed tomography (CT) and x-ray imaging Chapter features that provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Kids' korner --seasoned guidance on caring for pediatric patients Clinical pearls --clear-cut explanations of symptoms and disorders, backed by direction and advice on treatment Advice from the experts --expert input on respiratory care Home care --helpful guidance on teaching patient self-care Breath sounds -- online access to breath sounds Nurses Joy and Jake --Practical advice and experienced insights offered throughout Memory jogger --simple techniques for remembering vital information About the Clinical Editor Rose Knapp, DNP, RN, APN-BC, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner and Associate Graduate Faculty MSN Program Director and APN Program Coordinator at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey.
(Try "respiratory therapy" (in quotes) for general articles, or look up specific conditions or therapies.)
This list includes journals for which we have access to the most recent issues. Click the links to browse and search the individual journals. For additional journals and articles, and to search a wide range of journals, search the databases listed above.
For books listed as Print Books (noted after the titles; also have Call Numbers), click the linked title to see if the book is checked in and available.
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health by
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health offers thorough coverage of relevant topics and issues in historical and contemporary context, with information on lifestyle habits and practices and their impact on health. These volumes sort out the science behind nightly news reports and magazine cover stories, helping the reader to discern sound, evidence-based advice from that which is merely fad. The volumes convey the latest research on lifestyle medicine, incorporating content from such areas as health psychology, communication, public policy and health promotion, and disease prevention, among others. Readers are empowered to lead and promote healthier lifestyles after perusing the hundreds of signed, authoritative entries written by leading experts in their respective fields. Accompanying bibliographies and suggested readings provide guidance toward more in-depth resources. This comprehensive reference resource is written accessibly, making it useful for a broad audience, including students and academics in the fields of health, physical education, biology, medicine, nursing and allied health, physical therapy, nutrition, public health, and health communication, as well as for lay readers interested in learning how to lead a healthier lifestyle.
Respiratory Ailments in Context (downloadable ebook) by
This book tackles the role of interrelated conditions in the manifestation and course of pulmonary ailments. The articles run the gamut from basic to clinical science on such topics as airway allergy challenges, pulmonary dysfunction due to exposure to environmental pollution, molecular and functional aspects of smoking in lung carcinogenesis and in obstruction-related respiratory disorders, and others. Attention is directed to the developments in rehabilitative and lifestyle interventions in chronic disabilities, particularly involving neuromotor and stress-related conditions which, with advancing age, may lead to the deterioration of ventilation, with hypoxic sequelae. Enhanced research and awareness concerning the lung health drive better treatments and quality of life. Clinical insights presented in the book underscore a major role played by the science in transmuting biomedical knowledge into a better patient management. The volume is addressed to clinicians, researchers, physiotherapists, and other healthcare professionals engaged in effective patient care and therapy.
Telemedicine: Overview and Application in Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine (downloadable ebook) by
This book provides an overview of key issues with regards to implementing telemedicine services as well as an in depth overview of telemedicine in pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine. Topics range from specific practices to program development. Telemedicine has experienced explosive growth in recent years and yet, implementing telemedicine solutions is complex with substantial regulatory, legal, financial, logistical, and intra-organization/intra-personal barriers that must be overcome. This book provides the necessary information and guidance to address those complex issues. This book is broadly divided into two parts 1) a primer on requisite steps before embarking on telemedicine service development and 2) specific applications and examples where telemedicine is successfully utilized to improve quality of care in pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine. The first part includes coverage of telemedicine and finance, regulatory and legal issues, and program development. The second part delves into specifics with information on ambulatory telemedicine programs, inpatient consultations, and tele-ICU programs. All chapters are written by interprofessional authors that are leaders in the field of telemedicine with extensive knowledge of diverse telemedicine programs and robust real-world experience on the topic. This is an ideal guide for telehealth program managers, and pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine professionals interested in improving their telehealth practice.
Handbook of Pulmonary Disease Imaging (downloadable ebook) by
This book is a comprehensive and easy-to-read guide to pulmonary imaging. Medical Imaging is one of the cornerstones of modern medicine, and nowhere is this more apparent than pulmonary disease. We have come a long way from the days of chest radiography, though the chest radiograph still remains the single most common imaging test ordered worldwide. Pulmonary disease is now routinely evaluated with ultra-modern computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and positron emission tomography (PET) scanners, while ultrasonography plays a limited role in critical care and pleural/chest wall diseases. Rapid advancements in the sub-specialty of chest imaging and an exponential increase in the knowledge of pulmonary disease have led to an increasing demand for a comprehensive yet easily digestible handbook of pulmonary imaging, which prepackages knowledge in a form that can be easily understood and readily visualized with high-quality representative images. This book answers that need by providing the most important, relevant medical knowledge needed to handle pulmonary cases. It is divided into two sections, neoplastic disease and non-neoplastic disease. Chapters detail essential information about each disease, including presentation and the different modalities used to accurately diagnose and/or plan treatment. Major topics that are covered include bronchogenic carcinoma and other lung tumors, COPD, ILD, developmental lung disorders, pulmonary hypertension, and pulmonary infections. Each chapter includes extensive radiographic images to give a complete perspective on how these diseases present. Readers can easily see what the radiology of a particular disease entity looks like, what would be the differential diagnoses for a particular imaging abnormality, and compare the bullet review points associated with an image to their particular case. This is an ideal guide for general and thoracic radiologists, pulmonary, sleep medicine, and critical care specialists, thoracic surgeons, as well as residents and all clinicians who treat patients with pulmonary disease.
Biopsy Interpretation of the Lung (ebook; read online & download chapters) by
Part of the popular Biopsy Interpretation Series, Biopsy Interpretation of the Lung, Second Edition, is a concise, practical resource with a strong focus on diagnosis and management-oriented ancillary testing. It provides superbly illustrated coverage of the full range of neoplasms and non-neoplastic entities arising within the lung. Focusing on the daily tasks and needs of the general pathologist, this updated Second Edition is an excellent bench reference for the interpretation of the most common lung biopsies and is also a helpful resource for surgical pathologists, pathology residents, pathology fellows, pulmonologists, pulmonology fellows, and thoracic surgeons. Addresses both common and unusual issues that arise in the day-to-day interpretation of lung biopsies, providing a solid approach to formulating surgical and medical decisions. Includes detailed chapters on interstitial lung disease, lung cancer, and neuroendocrine tumors. Covers the major clinical aspects of the various disease processes, plus histopathologic features and use of ancillary diagnostic techniques such as special stains, immunohistochemistry, electron microscopy, and molecular pathology. Discusses indications for different types of biopsies for various lesions, such as endoscopic vs. core needle vs. open/wedge biopsy. Brings you up to date with recent changes in terminology, diagnostic criteria and the development of newer molecular techniques that have changed the practice of pulmonary pathology. Features hundreds of new references, more than 500 color photomicrographs, and numerous tables that categorize lesions and present diagnostic criteria in a simple format. Provides eBook access to 200 additional images and a multiple-choice test bank that is ideal for board exam preparation. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Respiratory Muscle Strength Training (e-book; read online & download chapters) by
Respiratory Muscle Strength Training is a clinical guide, intended to provide clinicians with the background information they need to understand respiratory muscle strength training (RMST). With a variety of case studies provided by well-known authors and clinicians, this text acts as a guidebook to the RMST protocol and provides practical information for use in the field of healthcare. In addition to real-world case studies, Respiratory Muscle Strength Training includes a chapter devoted to Frequently Asked Questions, a representative sample of the devices commonly used for respiratory training, and instructions for using them in patient care.
Enhancing Patient Engagement in Pulmonary Healthcare (downloadable ebook) by
This book examines the most up-to-date strategies that can be used to enhance the healthcare professional-patient interaction to influence positive behavior change and improve treatment adherence in pulmonary healthcare. This book is written by experts in the field who couple their experience with practical strategies (the art) with evidence-based theory (the science). Chapters discuss global concepts such as motivational interviewing on improving engagement and how to apply strategies to specific situations (for examples: smoking cessation, promoting physical activity, inhaler adherence, supplemental oxygen use, and non-invasive ventilation) commonly experienced on the front lines of caring for patients with pulmonary disorders. The textbook raises awareness of direct approaches and recent technological advances that healthcare professionals can use to support positive behavior change in their day-to-day clinical practice. Effective, patient-tailored self-management interventions are discussed, including the evidence for these interventions and ways to personalize the strategies to each patient's unique needs. This book is an ideal guide for healthcare professionals working with patients experiencing chronic pulmonary conditions, including pulmonologists, primary care physicians, physician assistants, nurses, trainees, and the many allied health professionals involved in delivering care such as respiratory therapists, pharmacists, and behavioral psychologists. The concepts of this book can also be applied to the management of other chronic diseases such as coronary artery disease and diabetes mellitus.
Pediatric Respiratory Diseases (downloadable e-textbook) by
This is a comprehensive and authoritative textbook on pediatric pulmonology. Edited by Pablo Bertrand and Ignacio Sánchez, renowned academics and pediatricians from the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, it encompasses five sections and 74 chapters, presenting and discussing the most important topics related to pediatric respiratory diseases. Written and presented in a simple and didactic format, it intends to ease learning and settlement of doubts in pediatric respiratory diseases. The reader is naturally introduced into the physiology, diagnosis, syndromes, diseases and the treatment associated with the respiratory pathologies affecting children. The chapters include algorithms for the treatment of various syndromes and updated treatment proposals grounded in evidence-based medicine for more than 50 pulmonary diseases. Pediatric Respiratory Diseases - A Comprehensive Textbook is an essential reference for the proper clinical approach to respiratory diseasesin children. It is intended for all interns, residents and fellows with interest in pediatric pulmonary medicine, as well as practicing physicians, general practitioners, pediatricians and pulmonologists who face pediatric respiratory disorders in daily clinical practice.
Manual of Neonatal Respiratory Care (downloadable ebook) by
Respiratory care is the largest overall component of neonatal intensive care, and the fifth edition of the Manual of Neonatal Respiratory Care is the leading bedside guide for all aspects of respiratory care in the neonatal intensive care unit. Its easy-to-read outline format is simple yet comprehensive and covers all aspects of lung disease in the newborn infant, including embryology, principles of mechanical ventilation, procedures and techniques, monitoring, devices, adjunctive therapies, management of respiratory illness, complications, outcomes, and related issues. The latest edition includes fully revised and updated information, coverage on new equipment and devices, and an expanded authorship to enhance its international appeal. The new edition also features two new co-editors, Dr. Mark Mammel and Dr. Anton Van Kaam, internationally recognized experts in the field who bring a fresh perspective to the manual. Divided into sixteen sections, the book begins with a section on lung development and maldevelopment, specifically covering the development of the respiratory system, malformations, deformations, disorders of the neonatal airway, and developmental lung anomalies. The second section reviews the principles of mechanical ventilation, with coverage on such topics as spontaneous breathing, oxygen therapy, oxygen toxicity, pulmonary mechanics, and ventilator parameters. The third section of the manual outlines procedures and techniques, including neonatal resuscitation, laryngoscopy and endotracheal intubation, and tracheostomy. The following section dives into the monitoring of the ventilated patient, specifically focusing on continuous monitoring techniques, clinical controversies in pulse oximetry, and echocardiography. The next section spotlights noninvasive ventilatory techniques, such as nasal interfaces, humidified high-flow nasal cannula therapy, and sustained inflation. The sixth section of the manual focuses on ventilatory modes and modalities, with coverage on intermittent mandatory ventilation, pressure support ventilation, and pressure control ventilation. The following section segues into high-frequency ventilation, reviewing general concepts, high-frequency jet ventilation, and high-frequency oscillatory ventilation. The eighth section centers around commonly used neonatal ventilators, such as the DRAEGER VN500 ventilator, the AVEA ventilator, and the Twinstream ventilator. The ninth section reviews adjunctive therapies, including hemodynamic support, nutritional support, the use of sedation and analgesia, inhaled nitric oxide therapy, and ECMO. The tenth section shifts gears to spotlight the management of common neonatal respiratory diseases, with chapters on mechanisms of respiratory failure, tissue hypoxia, respiratory distress syndrome, persistent pulmonary hypertension, and pulmonary hypoplasia/agensis among others. Section eleven reviews the etiology, pathogenesis, and management of bronchopulmonary dysplasia, as well as the long-term outcome of newborns with this chronic lung disease. The next section presents complications associated with mechanical ventilation, such as thoracic air leaks, neonatal pulmonary hemorrhage, and neurologic complications. The following two sections spotlights ethical, legal and other considerations, among them nursing care of the ventilated infant, long-term ventilator dependency, home ventilation, withdrawal of ventilatory support, and medical liability and risk management. The fifteenth section focuses on research and literature, with coverage on interpreting medical literature, data collection and assessment of respiratory outcomes, and contemporary classics in neonatal respiratory care. The final section presents ventilatory case studies. The text also features over 300 high-yield radiographic images, figures, tables, and algorithms.
Inhaled Delivery Systems for the Treatment of Asthma and COPD (print book) by
Inhaled therapies form the cornerstone for treatment of patients with asthma and COPD. Evolving technology has resulted in availability of a wide range of devices for delivery of inhaled drugs. The four different delivery systems -- pressurized metered-dose inhalers, slow mist inhalers, dry powder inhalers, and nebulizers -- are unique in design and require distinct inhalational instructions for correct use. This book provides current information about inhalation devices, including their advantages and disadvantages, with guidance for optimal techniques of use. The book emphasizes appropriate selection of inhalation devices based on patient and health care professional factors as well as device attributes that allow selection of the right medication in the right inhalation device at the right time for the right patient. Key Features: - Addresses the objective of precision medicine - the right medication in the right inhaler device at the right time. - Inputs by international thought leaders who have published widely on inhaled medications and/or inhaled delivery systems for clinicians, trainees and respiratory therapists. - Discusses the development of audio-based systems and smart inhalers for patient monitoring.
Particles in the Air: the deadliest pollutant is one you breathe every day (print book) by
The book covers the three largest sources of particulate matter pollution in five chapters. These sources constitute three of the top ten public health problems in the world today and far outstrip any other environmental health threats in terms of health impact. The book begins with indoor solid fuel combustion for cooking in lower income countries and tells the story of how this problem was identified and recent efforts to eliminate it. The book next looks at tobacco smoking and second hand smoke, again reviewing the history of how these problems were identified scientifically and the fierce industry push back against the science. The last two chapters cover ambient particulate matter in the outdoor air. They address fine and ultrafine particles, describing the pioneering work on fine PM, the subsequent industry attacks on the scientists and then the emerging interest and concern about ultrafine particles, an area of research in which the author has participated. This book is geared towards non-scientists, including high school and college students.
Breath: The New Science of a Lost Art (ebook; read online & download chapters) by
A New York Times Bestseller A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of 2020 Named a Best Book of 2020 by NPR "A fascinating scientific, cultural, spiritual and evolutionary history of the way humans breathe--and how we've all been doing it wrong for a long, long time." --Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Big Magic and Eat Pray Love No matter what you eat, how much you exercise, how skinny or young or wise you are, none of it matters if you're not breathing properly. There is nothing more essential to our health and well-being than breathing: take air in, let it out, repeat twenty-five thousand times a day. Yet, as a species, humans have lost the ability to breathe correctly, with grave consequences. Journalist James Nestor travels the world to figure out what went wrong and how to fix it. The answers aren't found in pulmonology labs, as we might expect, but in the muddy digs of ancient burial sites, secret Soviet facilities, New Jersey choir schools, and the smoggy streets of São Paulo. Nestor tracks down men and women exploring the hidden science behind ancient breathing practices like Pranayama, Sudarshan Kriya, and Tummo and teams up with pulmonary tinkerers to scientifically test long-held beliefs about how we breathe. Modern research is showing us that making even slight adjustments to the way we inhale and exhale can jump-start athletic performance; rejuvenate internal organs; halt snoring, asthma, and autoimmune disease; and even straighten scoliotic spines. None of this should be possible, and yet it is. Drawing on thousands of years of medical texts and recent cutting-edge studies in pulmonology, psychology, biochemistry, and human physiology, Breath turns the conventional wisdom of what we thought we knew about our most basic biological function on its head. You will never breathe the same again.
Asthma Education: Principles and Practice for the Asthma Educator (downloadable ebook) by
This book comprehensively presents all the necessary information health professionals need to become Certified Asthma Educators. Competent asthma educators must possess a number of skills: they must have appropriate and sound medical and pharmaceutical knowledge; be proficient and effective educators who can influence their patients' behaviors for the better; and, finally, they need the administrative and organizational skills needed to set up and run efficient clinics at their places of work. The book is divided into three sections to meet those needs: Asthma: The Fundamentals; The Role of Education; and, The Effective Asthma Educator. The first section covers clinical knowledge of asthma, with chapters including lung structure and function, clinical presentation of asthma, and environmental issues in asthma management. The second section delves into the role of educating patients and teaches readers how to best do that with an integrated approach between physician, educator, and patient. The third section looks further into educating techniques with a view of the learning process, considerations for instruction locations, and the role the educator plays overall. The final chapter in the book presents example cases for readers to assess the knowledge they have learned throughout. This second edition serves as both textbook and study guide for certification as well as a long-term reference publication. It has been fully updated from the previous edition with the latest treatment guidelines, medications, and disease monitoring methods. This is an ideal guide for asthma educators, those seeking NAECB certification, and any health professional involved with individuals who have asthma.
Breathing Lessons: a doctor's guide to lung health (print book) by
Every day, our lungs circulate 11,000 liters of air, provide us with life-sustaining oxygen, and allow us to speak, sing, and smell. It's no secret that our lungs are one of our most vital organs, and yet most of us pay them little attention. The COVID-19 pandemic, however, has reminded us of the importance of our lungs, and sparked interest in their function and the risks they face. In Breathing Lessons, leading pulmonologist and national spokesperson for the American Lung Association Dr. MeiLan K. Han takes readers on a fascinating tour of this neglected yet crucial organ. Han explains the wonder of breathing and reveals how the lungs serve as the body's first line of defense. She provides a timely overview of the latest scientific thinking about the leading respiratory risks--including indoor and outdoor pollution, smoking and vaping, wildfire smoke, and viruses like SARS-CoV-2--and offers practical advice on how to protect the lungs at each stage of our lives, beginning in the womb. She outlines the major categories of chronic lung disease and demystifies the process lung doctors go through in making a diagnosis and recommending treatments. With authority as both practitioner and medical researcher, Han argues powerfully for social policies that make preserving lung health a national priority. Breathing Lessons is a rallying cry for lung health and an urgent call to start giving our lungs the attention they deserve.
For more books and other resources, search SouthernSearch. Try 'Lungs,' 'Respiratory Therapy,' or specific conditions or treatments.
