To find articles about research methods and examples of particular methodologies, search for the methodology, instrument name, etc. In PsycInfo, you can also limit your search in the Advanced Search to categories of Methodologies, such as Qualitative, Quantitative, Clinical Trial, or Twin Study. Use any database or scholarly search engine that covers your topic.
You can also search for theses and dissertations that use particular methods or cover particular topics, and review their literature reviews and methodology sections for ideas and sources.
For books listed as Print Books (noted after the titles; also have Call Numbers), click the linked title to see if the book is checked in and available.
BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research by
Education has continued to grow in stature and significance as an academic discipline. In addition to world renowned research studies the growth of education has been seen in the methodology and methods underpinning its research. The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research provides a cutting edge account of the research and methodology that is creating new understandings for education research, policy and practice. Over two volumes, the handbook addresses educational research in six essential components: Section 1: Understanding Research Section 2: Planning Research Section 3: Approaches to Research Section 4: Acquiring Data Section 5: Analysing Data Section 6: Reporting, Disseminating and Evaluating Research Featuring contributions from more than 50 of the biggest names in the international field, The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research represents a very significant contribution to the development of education.
The Handbook of Humanistic Psychology by
The Second Edition of the cutting edge work, The Handbook of Humanistic Psychology, by Kirk J. Schneider, J. Fraser Pierson and James F. T. Bugental, represents the very latest scholarship in the field of humanistic psychology and psychotherapy. Set against trends inclined toward psychological standardization and medicalization, the handbook offers a rich tapestry of reflection by the leading person-centered scholars of our time. Their range in topics is far-reaching--from the historical, theoretical and methodological, to the spiritual, psychotherapeutic and multicultural.
The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods by
Online research methods are popular, dynamic and fast-changing. Following on from the great success of the first edition, published in 2008, The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods, Second Edition offers both updates of existing subject areas and new chapters covering more recent developments, such as social media, big data, data visualization and CAQDAS. Bringing together the leading names in both qualitative and quantitative online research, this new edition is organised into nine sections: 1. Online Research Methods2. Designing Online Research3. Online Data Capture and Data Collection4. The Online Survey5. Digital Quantitative Analysis 6. Digital Text Analysis7. Virtual Ethnography8. Online Secondary Analysis: Resources and Methods9. The Future of Online Social Research The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods, Second Edition is an essential resource for anyone interested in the contemporary practice of computer-mediated research and scholarship.
The SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Research by
Recent decades have seen an upsurge of research with and about young children, their families and communities. The Handbook of Early Childhood Research will provide a landmark overview of the field of early childhood research and will set an agenda for early childhood research into the future. It includes 31 chapters provided by internationally recognized experts in early childhood research. The team of international contributors apply their expertise to conceptual and methodological issues in research and to relevant fields of practice and policy. The Handbook recognizes the main contexts of early childhood research: home and family contexts; out-of-home contexts such as services for young children and their families; and broader societal contexts of that evoke risk for young children. The Handbook includes sections on: the field of early childhood research and its key contributions new theories and theoretical approaches in early childhood research collecting and analysing data applications of early childhood research This Handbook will become the valuable reference text for students, practitioners and researchers from across the social sciences and beyond who are engaged in research with young children.
Encyclopedia of Case Study Research by
Case study research has a long history within the natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities, dating back to the early 1920′s. At first it was a useful way for researchers to make valid inferences from events outside the laboratory in ways consistent with the rigorous practices of investigation inside the lab. Over time, case study approaches garnered interest in multiple disciplines as scholars studied phenomena in context. Despite widespread use, case study research has received little attention among the literature on research strategies. The Encyclopedia of Case Study Research provides a compendium on the important methodological issues in conducting case study research and explores both the strengths and weaknesses of different paradigmatic approaches. These two volumes focus on the distinctive characteristics of case study research and its place within and alongside other research methodologies. Key Features Presents a definition of case study research that can be used in different fields of study Describes case study as a research strategy rather than as a single tool for decision making and inquiry Guides rather than dictates, readers′ understanding and applications of case study research Includes a critical summary in each entry, which raises additional matters for reflection Makes case study relevant to researchers at various stages of their careers, across philosophic divides, and throughout diverse disciplines Key Themes Academic Disciplines Case Study Research Design Conceptual Issues Data Analysis Data Collection Methodological Approaches Theoretical Traditions Theory Development and Contributions From Case Study Research Types of Case Study Research
Excel 2019 for Social Science Statistics (downloadable ebook) by
This book shows the capabilities of Microsoft Excel in teaching social science statistics effectively. Similar to the previously published Excel 2016 for Social Sciences Statistics, this book is a step-by-step, exercise-driven guide for students and practitioners who need to master Excel to solve practical social science problems. If understanding statistics isn't your strongest suit, you are not especially mathematically inclined, or you are wary of computers, this is the right book for you. Excel, a widely available computer program for students and managers, is also an effective teaching and learning tool for quantitative analyses in social science courses. Its powerful computational ability and graphical functions make learning statistics much easier than in years past. Excel 2019 for Social Science Statistics: A Guide to Solving Practical Problems capitalizes on these improvements by teaching students and managers how to apply Excel to statistical techniques necessary in their courses and work. In this new edition, each chapter explains statistical formulas and directs the reader to use Excel commands to solve specific, easy-to-understand social science problems. Practice problems are provided at the end of each chapter with their solutions in an appendix. Separately, there is a full practice test (with answers in an appendix) that allows readers to test what they have learned.
Research Methods in the Dance Sciences (print and ebook) by
A valuable new resource for the growing field of the dancesciences, this book provides foundational knowledge for anyone who wants tounderstand, apply, and conduct research with dancers.
Critical Research in Sport, Health and Physical Education (print book) by
Within the overlapping fields of the sociology of sport, physical education and health education, the use of critical theories and the critical research paradigm has grown in scope. Yet what social impact has this research had? This book considers the capacity of critical research and associated social theory to play an active role in challenging social injustices or at least in 'making a difference' within health and physical education (HPE) and sporting contexts. It also examines how the use of different social theories impacts sport policies, national curricula and health promotion activities, as well as the practices of HPE teaching and sport training and competition. Critical Research in Sport, Health and Physical Education is a valuable resource for academics and students working in the fields of research methods, sociology of sport, physical education and health.
Research Methods for Sports Studies (ebook; read online & download chapters) by
Research Methods for Sports Studies is a comprehensive, engaging and practical textbook that provides a grounding in qualitative and quantitative research for students studying programmes related to sport and physical activity. Leading the reader step-by-step through the entire research process, from identifying a research question and collecting and analysing data to writing and presenting the research report, the book is richly illustrated throughout with sport-related case studies and examples from around the world. Research Methods for Sports Studies is designed to be a complete and self-contained companion to any research methods course and contains a wealth of useful features, such as highlighted definitions of key terms, all-new case studies from active researchers and practical research exercises. Now in a revised and updated fourth edition, and in full colour for the first time, the book features expanded coverage of key topics such as online research, data visualisation, image analysis, source evaluation, mixed methods and the philosophical foundations of research. It also includes new material on the challenges of researching during a pandemic and reflects on the importance of diversity and inclusion, from feminist and indigenous methodologies to increased diversity of cases and researcher voices. This is an essential read for any student undertaking a dissertation or research project as part of their studies in sport, exercise and related fields, including sport management, sport development, the sociology of sport, sport marketing, sport-related tourism, sport coaching, physical education and other similar degrees. Additional online material is available for students and instructors, including web links, multiple-choice revision questions, PowerPoint slides and additional learning activities for use in and out of class.
Researching Difference in Sport and Physical Activity (print book) by
Researching Difference in Sport and Physical Activity goes beyond the content of introductory research methods texts to provide an insight into the methodological hurdles that are experienced when researching ¿difference¿ in Sport and Physical Activity.¿ Contributors reflect upon how the rhetoric of research methodology transfers into the reality of data collection across ¿difference¿. Presenting case studies of real research projects, the book covers a range of topics, such as: disability in sport and physical activity vulnerable children in sport and physical activity visual research tools when working with children in a primary school setting physical activity, sedentary behaviour and obesity through childhood diverse ethnic groups in sport and physical activity settings. Each chapter contends with practical issues of power and representation within the research process, to recognise how a researcher¿participant relationship that considers those who are ¿othered¿ serves to change the dynamics and processes of research.¿ This is an important resource for students of all sports related subjects and essential reading for anyone interested in the study of marginalised populations in sport and physical activity.
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review (print book) by
Whether you are new to literature reviews or working with new types of data, this book takes the guesswork out of writing your literature review. From deciding how much literature to include to managing your data, assessing your sources, and writing results, it outlines a step-by-step process that works with any data. To help you choose best approach for your research, this book includes: · Worksheets and decision aids to help you plan and organise your literature review · Worked examples and case studies to show you what - and what not - to do in practice · Troubleshooting tips and answers to all your frequently asked questions · Online access to a literature review starter template, an exercise workbook, project diary template, and a source credibility checklist. The perfect project support for any social sciences student, this edition also includes a new chapter on analysing mixed methods research.
