Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beware Automated Citations!
Most of the citations you will see in databases, web services, etc., are produced authomatically using a computer algorithm. That means that if the data is incorrect, the resulting citation is incorrect. You have the final responsibility of checking that the citation is fully correct using the guidelines provided by your professor (or publisher).
Citation Web Forms
Several websites have forms where you can fill in the needed information and get a formatted citation to cut and paste into your documents, like Zotero Bib -- the default settings include APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian, but there are over 9,000 styles avaialble. Citations are stored in your browser, no account needed.
Zotero Bib: ZBib.org
No account needed. Many, many styles available. Works best in Firefox (we've had some problems with Chrome.)
MLA, APA, and Harvard styles in this step by step generator that does both bibliography and in-text citations
Thousands of citation styles available plus guides to styles, avoiding plagiarism, how to do types of documents like an annotated bibliography, and more. Registration is not required to format citations.
BibMe: Fast & Easy Bibliography Maker - MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian
Look up your sources in the WorldCat.org database (books, articles, videos, etc.) or manually enter the information, correct as needed, and add to a downloadable (account required to download) bibliographry in MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian formats. Accounts, citation guides, and a Title Page Generator also available.
Free citation formatting from the makers of NoodleTools. NoodleBib Express does MLA, APA, and Chicago, and has options for dozens of types of sources, from books and articles to patents, letters, and TV programs.
CiteMaker does APA, MLA, and Harvard citations and covers a wide variety of types of sources, from corporate advertising to musical scores, as well as the usual books and articles. There is also an account version. They provide a Chrome extension, WebCite, which enables free automatic, and editable, referencing of webpages.
Landmark Citation Machine
The Citation Machine will do APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian style citations for the most common types of sources: books, book chapters, articles, webpages, images, videos, etc. Both in-text (parenthetical) references and the full citation for the bibliography are produced and ready for copying and pasting into your document.
A form for generating MLA and APA citations for tweets
Citeus Legalus: Legal Citation Generator
Generate citations in legal (Blue Book) format using fill-in forms
Free Account-based services
These services also let you set up a personal account, but aren't specifically supported by the library.
Web-based citation manager sponsored by publisher Springer, CiteULike works especially well with publishers' websites. CiteULike provides researcher-based social networking, including tags, groups, and searching. Also stores personal PDF's.
WriteCite does APA, Harvard, and MLA citations and covers a wide variety of types of sources, from corporate advertising to musical scores, as well as the usual books and articles. To use the account based service, register with a .edu email address.
Aimed specifically at citing Internet sources, Citelighter stores quotes, clips, and citation information from websites. You can also add traditional print sources as well. Citation formatting is available for MLA, APA, and Chicago, and it's possible to export citation and quotation information to Word and Google Docs.
Citation Management Software
For large or long term projects, it's often useful to save and organize citations, as well as cite them in a specific paper. Endnote Web, the online version of the popular, fee-based software, is free for anyone, though students, staffs, and faculty who sign up on campus get some extra features. Mendeley is free for anyone to install on their own computer, can be used offline, and is also more advanced. Zotero, another advanced tool, works best on your own computer, and lets you import directly from results lists. All have plugins for MS Word--the Endnote Web plugins are installed on the campus lab computers.
Personal subscriptions (not subsidized by the Library)
You can also get a personal subscription to Refworks, NoodleTools, or a personal copy of the EndNote software, which includes EndNote Web.