Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classical Mythology

This guide was created for Professor McBrine's Classical Mythology course. It concentrates on Greek and Roman myths that have influenced the literature, art, and speech of Western Civilization.

Web Sites

 

Classical Myth: The Ancient Sources
"This site is designed to draw together the ancient texts and images available on the Web concerning the major figures of Greek and Roman mythology".

Classical Mythology - Monmouth College
Professor Tom Sienkewicz of Monmouth College has created an excellent, comprehensive site on classical mythology for his students that links to primary sources, history and myth, mythic heroes, Gods of the Greek pantheon, Trojan War, Iliad, myths in art, etc.

Classical Mythology Online
This is a companion site to the ninth edition of the book Classical Mythology by Morford, Lenardon and Sham. The Student Resources link has information to help comprehend each chapter of the book. Bibliographies, glossaries and maps provide additional support for understanding the contents of the book.

Classics Unveiled
Classics Unveiled is a great source of information for classical studies incorporating various aspects of Greek mythology, Roman history, Roman life, and Latin vocabulary and derivatives.

Encylopedia Mythica
This is an award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore and religion. Contains a mythology section broken down into six geographical regions,; a folklore section containing general foklore, Arthurian legends, and fascinating folktales from many lands; a bestiary, legendary heroes, image gallery, and genealogical tables of various pantheons and prominet houses.

Encyclopedia of Greek Mythology
This free illustrated encyclopedia of Greek Mythology is availabe from Mythweb.

More Web Sites

undefined                                          

Greek Mythology
"GreekMythology.com has information on all subjects of Greek Mythology, including details on Greek gods and Greek goddesses, Greek myths, and Greek heroes like Perseus and Hercules. It also has full text of Mythology and Literature books".

Greek Mythology Link
The Greek Mythology Link is hosted by the Hellenic Studies Association at Brown University. It consists of a collection of Greek myths written and published online by Carlos Parada. The link contains texts, images, maps, and tables.

Perseus Project
The collection contains extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps.

Sacred Texts
This is the largest freely available archive of books on religion, mythology, folklore, and the esoteric on the internet.

Theoi Greek Mythology
This site explores Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.

World Myths and Legends in Art
This is the Minneapolis Institute of Art's site. Select the link "Art by Culture" for art from Ancient Greek and Rome. Select "Art by Theme" to explore art work relating to God myths, hero myths, animal myths, etc.