Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CIA World Factbook
Comprehensive county information published by the CIA, including background, geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Also includes an entry for "the World". More CIA books available at the CIA Library
County and City Data Book
This site contains official statistics for U.S. counties and cities with over 25,000 inhabitants. City rankings in terms of population, land area, education, employment, infant death rate, annual temperature, poverty, etc. can be obtained at this site. The information is taken from the most recent County and City Data Book.
Information Please Almanac
Online version of the popular almanac which you can browse by topic or search. Also includes the Random House Webster's College Dictionary and the Columbia Encyclopedia.
Information Please Atlas
Free online atlas. Click on country to get an enlarged map of the region.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Job and career information, including statistics, qualifications, and job prospects; from the US Bureau of Labor.
The standard source for US statistics.
While many of the open access texts available on the Internet are also public domain, many authors and publishers have released full or partial versions of current works. For some this is an advertising method to create demand for print versions, while others are more interested in presenting their content to the widest possible audience.
The links have been divided into three categories:
General Multidisciplinary Collections
Subject Specific Collections
The Online Books Page from UPenn is the most extensive single collection and the University of Montana Open Textbook Catalog is one of the most comprehensive textbook searches:
New E-books from National Academies Press
National Academies Press ebooks include some of the best research coming out of the US government, plus a wealth of policy and guideline material. All books are free to read online or download as PDF, and are also available for purchase in hardcopy. Selected NAP books, in print and ebook, are included in the CONSULS library catalog.
The most recent books from NAP are: