Skip to main content

APA Citation Guide

A brief guide to using the APA Citation Style, with links to further resources.

Basic Format for Books

See "Reference Examples" from the APA Style Blog or pp. 321-329 of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

The most common format for books in a reference list is:

Author, A. A. (Year). Book title. Publisher.

Editor, A. A. (Ed.) (Year). Book title. Publisher.

Note on capitalizing: Capitalize only the first word of the title and subtitle, and proper nouns.

Note on italicizing: Italicize only the book title and subtitle.

Note on publisher: The publisher location is no longer included in the reference for APA 7th edition. 

Scroll down to see examples of the most common reference entries for books.

Books

See section 10.2 pp. 321-325 of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

Book from most academic research databases or print version: 

Burgess, R. (2019). Rethinking global health: Frameworks of power. Routledge. 

Book with a DOI:

Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist Therapy (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1027/0000092-000

Dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia:

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.) Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved May 5, 2019, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/

One volume of a multivolume work:

Fiske, S. T., Gilbert, D. T., & Lindzey, G. (2010). Handbook of social psychology (5th ed., Vol 1.). John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/978047056119

Chapter in a Book

See section 10.3 pp. 326-329 of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

Chapter in an edited book with a DOI:

Balsam, K. F., Martell, C. R., Jones, K. P., & Safren, S. A. (2019). Affirmative cognitive behavior therapy with sexual and gender minority people. In G. Y. Iwamasa & P. A. Hays (Eds.), Culturally responsible cognitive behavior therapy: Practice and supervision (2nd ed. pp. 287-314). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/1037/0000119-012

Chapter in an edited book without a DOI, from most academic research databases or print version:

Weinstock, R., Leong, G. B., & Silva, J. A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry: Roles and Responsibilities. In R. Rosner (Ed.), Principles and practice of forensic psychiatry (2nd ed. pp 7-13). CRC Press.

Chapter in a volume of a multivolume work: 

Goldin-Meadow, S. (2015). Gesture and cognitive development. In L. S. Liben & U. Mueller (Eds.), Handbook of child psychology and developmental science: Vol. 2. Cognitive processes (7th ed., pp. 339-380). John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118963418

Entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia:

Graham, G. (2019). Behaviorism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019/entries/behaviorism/