Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources for English and American Literature: Journals

Open Access Journals

 

oajournals.info

 

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR) (ISSN 1055-7660) publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies including book reviews.

Common-Place
Common-Place is an online journal that provides excellent articles on American history and culture.

Comparative Literature and Culture
This peer-reviewed, full-text, and open-access journal, publishes new scholarship in theory and criticism, comparative literature, and cultural studies.

CTTheory.net
This is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles, interviews and reviews of books relating to theory, technology and culture.

Digital Humanities Quarterly (DHQ)
DHQ is an open access journal covering all aspects of digital literacy in the humanities. Includes peer-reviewed articles, editorials and opinion pieces, book reviews, web sites and digital humanities systems and tools.

Early Modern Literary Studies
 EMLS is committed to gathering and to maintaining links to the most useful and comprehensive internet resources for Renaissance scholars, including archives, electronic texts, discussion groups, and more.

Eighteenth Century Fiction
Eighteenth-Century Fiction (ECF) publishes academic research articles on literature and culture of the period 1660-1830.

Electronic Book Review
EBR is a peer-reviewed journal of critical writing published by the digital literary network.

English Language and Literature Studies
The scopes of this international double-blind peer-reviewed open access journal include, but are not limited to, the following topics: literature written in the English language, English linguistics, translation studies and related areas. Coverage is from 2011 on.

International Journal of English Research
International Journal of English Research is a peer reviewed, indexed, open access journal. It covers all areas of English and Literature, literary language and language teaching. Coverage from November/December 2015 on.

Journal of Literary Theory
The Journal of Literary Theory takes an interdisciplinary approach and serves as an international platform for debate in all fields of literary theory.

Journal of Neo-Victorian Studies
Neo-Victorian Studies is a peer-reviewed, inter-disciplinary eJournal dedicated to the exploration of the contemporary fascination with re-imagining the nineteenth century and its varied literary, artistic, socio-political and historical contexts in both British and international frameworks.

Jouvert: A Journal of Post-colonial Studies
A peer-reviewed multidisciplinary online journal on post-colonial theory, history, arts, literature and culture. Ceased publication in 2003 but archives are available through the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, North Carolina State University.

JURN
​Search millions of free academic articles, chapters, and theses in many subject disciplines including arts and humanities.

Literature
Literature is an international peer-reviewed open access free journal that provides a forum for discussion and scholarship on the topic of literature.  It publishes articles, commentaries, creative papers, essays, opinion papers, and reviews, and is focused on promoting dialogue and debate.

OLH: Open Library of Humanities
The OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines. It's an international of scholars , librarians, programmers, and publishers whose mission is to make scholarly publishing fairer, more accessible and preserved for the future.

Other Voices
This is a free electronic journal of cultural criticism published by the University of Pennsylvania. 

Postmodern Culture
Postmodern Culture is the leading electronic journal on contemporary cultures.

Romantic Circles Reviews
A refereed journal that is devoted to the study of romantic period literature and culture.

Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net
This is an international open access journal devoted to British nineteenth century literature.

Studies in Bibliography
This is the pre-eminent journal of analytical bibliography, textual criticism, manuscript study, and the history of printing and publishing
. 1948-2002.

Transnational Literature
This main focus of this journal is new literatures in English but it also covers other literatures that deal with cross-cultural contact and interaction.