Geography: E-Books & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, factbooks, atlases, and other reference books on geography.

The Dictionary includes short definitional entries (see, for example, the entries for plantation and dry farming) and longer, interpretative essays on human geography and its major sub-fields (such as geopolitics, development, and spatiality), thereby providing readers with a contextual background to the terms. By directing readers to the major sources for further information, the Dictionary also serves as an unparalleled companion to geographical literature. 2000.

Includes coverage of geomorphology, climatology, biogeography, hydrology, the Quaternary and the human impact. It contains entries ranging in length from succinct definitions of technical terms to extended discussions of concepts and essays on themes of particular interest or importance. The dictionary reflects changes within the discipline and provides an international perspective on the key topics of physical geography. 2000.

Covers terms in over 80 working areas: terms found in drawings and in specifications...building products and materials, and terms dealing with their design, appearance, performance, installation, and testing...definitions of finishes, coatings and surfacings...types of units, assemblies, systems and modules....tools, devices, machines, and construction equipment, and much more. 2000.

This invaluable global handbook contains separate entries for every country in the world. Each entry gives a succinct overview covering the contemporary social, economic, religious and political issues that shape the country. It also contains vital statistics such as GDP, life expectancy, income distribution, and internet use. 2007, Rev. 2nd ed.

Containing over 6,400 entries on all aspects of both human and physical geography, this best-selling dictionary is the most comprehensive single-volume reference work of its kind. It includes coverage of cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development, as well as up-to-date treatment of fast-changing topics such as plate tectonics, remote sensing, geographic information systems, and aerial differentiation. For this new edition, all existing entries have been fully revised and updated, and there is now expanded coverage of economic geography (e.g. neo-liberalism), recent developments in geopolitics (e.g. 9/11 responses and the geographical implications of war on terror), and geography of finance (e.g. global production). It also focuses on the increasingly prominent areas of globalization and the anti-globalization movement, landscape restoration, the digital divide, and issues of governance. This edition also contains recommended web links for many entries. Loaded with clear, concise, and authoritative information, this A-Z reference work is essential for all students and teachers of geography. 2009, 4th ed.

With over 8,000 entries, from Aachen to Zyrardów, this dictionary gives the history, meanings, and origin of an enormous range of country, region, island, city, and town names from around the world. In doing so, it reveals religious and cultural traditions, the migration of peoples, the ebb and flow of armies, the presence of explorers, local languages, industrial developments, topography, as well as superstitions and legends. 2005.