Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geography: Databases

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Multidisciplinary Databases

Find Articles

Looking for a Specific Article

In order to find a specific article, you should gather as much information about the article as you can, such as the article title, the primary author, the title of the journal where the article is published, as well as the volume, issue, and date of publication.  The more information you have, the easier it will be to find the article.

Some good places to start your search are SouthernSearch, the search box on the library homepage, Google Scholar, or Article Finder.

You can paste an entire citation, or as much information as you have, into the search boxes of SouthernSearch and Google Scholar.  If you choose to use Article Finder, you should enter the information in the appropriate fields of the search form.  The more information you enter, the more likely you are to find the article you want.

Browsing for an Article

If you are looking for an article on a particular topic, you can start by searching for keywords in SouthernSearch.  This will show you relevant articles from Buley's journal and database subscriptions.  If you would like to search in a database particular to you subject area, this might help narrow down results.  Go to Buley's A to Z Database List to find the best database for your subject.

Interlibrary Loan

If we don't have access to the article you need, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request and we will get the article for you from another library, if possible.

Subject Specific Databases

Subject Related Databases

Alternative Energy databases from EBSCO

 

Environmental databases

 

Search Environment Complete, GreenFILE, Inspec, and Academic Search Premier all at once. To modify this search, add more search terms or use the limiters on the results page, or click on Choose Databases above the search box on the results page to add or subtract databases from this search.

For descriptions of the individual databases, scroll down this page.