Chemistry for Cooks: An introduction to the science of cooking by
A fun approach to teaching science that uses cooking to demonstrate principles of chemistry for undergraduate students who are not science majors, high school students, culinary students, and home cooks. How does an armload of groceries turn into a culinary masterpiece? In this highly accessible and informative text, Sandra C. Greer takes students into the kitchen to show how chemistry-with a dash of biology and physics-explains what happens when we cook. Chemistry for Cooks provides all the background material necessary for nonscientists to understand essential chemical processes and to see cooking as an enjoyable application of science. Greer uses a variety of practical examples, including recipes, to instruct readers on the molecular structure of food, the chemical reactions used in cooking to change the nature of food, and the essentials of nutrition and taste. She also offers kitchen hints and exercises based on the material in each chapter, plus do-it-yourself projects to encourage exploration of the chemistry that takes place when we cook food. Features Perfect for science courses aimed at non-science majors- does not require prior knowledge of chemistry, physics, or biologyEqually useful for general readers, home and professional cooks, and culinary studentsTopics include what matter is made of, how the structure of matter is altered by heat, how we treat food in order to change its microscopic structure, why particular procedures or methods are used in the kitchen, and how to think critically about various cooking methodsA reference section at the end of each chapter points readers to resources for further studyAdditional online resources include a solutions manual, a sample syllabus, and PowerPoint slides of all tables and figures
Chemistry in the Kitchen Garden by
The book is aimed at readers with a chemical background who wish to know a little more about the natural products that they are eating, their beneficial effects, and the roles that these compounds have in nature. Developments in the understanding of the ecological and beneficial chemistry of fruit and vegetables have made the exploration of their chemical diversity a fascinating and expanding area of natural product chemistry and readers will obtain some 'taste' for this chemistry from the book.
Culinary Herbs and Spices: A Global Guide by
Culinary herbs and spices have been recognised globally for their dietary and medicinal uses for centuries. A growing body of research is acknowledging their health-promoting properties as well as their therapeutic potential with reference to a number of chronic non-communicable diseases including cancer and type 2 diabetes. The aim of this book is to bring together current knowledge of thirty of the most commonly used culinary herbs and spices globally in an accessible dictionary format. For each culinary herb or spice the following is covered: origin and history of use, including their use in food preservation and for medicinal purposes; nutritional composition; chemistry; sensory properties; adulteration; current and emerging research concerning their bioactive properties and their health promoting and therapeutic potential; safety; and adverse effects. The book is a central source of information for those who have a general interest in these foods, are studying plant and food science and nutrition, and who practice or have an interest in the culinary arts.
Culinary Reactions: The Everyday Chemistry of Cooking by
When you're cooking, you're a chemist! Every time you follow or modify a recipe, you are experimenting with acids and bases, emulsions and suspensions, gels and foams. In your kitchen you denature proteins, crystallize compounds, react enzymes with substrates, and nurture desired microbial life while suppressing harmful bacteria and fungi. And unlike in a laboratory, you can eat your experiments to verify your hypotheses. In Culinary Reactions, author Simon Quellen Field turns measuring cups, stovetop burners, and mixing bowls into graduated cylinders, Bunsen burners, and beakers. How does altering the ratio of flour, sugar, yeast, salt, butter, and water affect how high bread rises? Why is whipped cream made with nitrous oxide rather than the more common carbon dioxide? And why does Hollandaise sauce call for "clarified" butter? This easy-to-follow primer even includes recipes to demonstrate the concepts being discussed, including: Whipped Creamsicle Topping--a foam; Cherry Dream Cheese--a protein gle; Lemonade with Chameleon Eggs--an acid indicator; and more!
Delicious: The evolution of flavor and how it made us human by
A savory account of how the pursuit of delicious foods shaped human evolution Nature, it has been said, invites us to eat by appetite and rewards by flavor. But what exactly are flavors? Why are some so pleasing while others are not? Delicious is a supremely entertaining foray into the heart of such questions. With generous helpings of warmth and wit, Rob Dunn and Monica Sanchez offer bold new perspectives on why food is enjoyable and how the pursuit of delicious flavors has guided the course of human history. They consider the role that flavor may have played in the invention of the first tools, the extinction of giant mammals, the evolution of the world's most delicious and fatty fruits, the creation of beer, and our own sociality. Along the way, you will learn about the taste receptors you didn't even know you had, the best way to ferment a mastodon, the relationship between Paleolithic art and cheese, and much more. Blending irresistible storytelling with the latest science, Delicious is a deep history of flavor that will transform the way you think about human evolution and the gustatory pleasures of the foods we eat.
Essentials of Food Chemistry by
This book presents fundamental and practical information on food chemistry. Using 2-D barcodes, it illustrates the specific reactions and potential transformation mechanisms of food constituents during various manufacturing and storage processes, and each chapter features teaching activities, such as questions and answers, and discussions. Further, it describes various local practices and improvements in Asia. Divided into 12 chapters covering individual nutrients and components, including water, proteins, carbohydrates, lipids, vitamins, minerals, enzymes, pigments, flavoring substances, additives, and harmful constituents, it addresses their food chemistry, as well as their transformations during manufacturing processes, and typical or advanced treatments to improve food quality and safety. This book helps college students to gain a basic understanding of nutrients and food components, to discover and implement the practical industrial guidelines, and also to learn the latest developments in food chemistry.
Gluten-Free Bread Technology by
Market trend and the increasing diagnoses of celiac disease have encouraged extensive research into the development of gluten-free breads. Generally, the development of bread without gluten involves the use of diverse ingredients and additives aimed at imitating the viscoelastic properties of gluten and consequently obtaining quality bread products. However, developing gluten-free bread remains a technological challenge due to the key role of gluten in the breadmaking process. Gluten-Free Bread Technology provides an overview of all fundamental issues and key factors associated with gluten-free bread technology, with the emphasis on the most recent findings on the subject. The promising results of the reviewed studies indicate that the gluten-free breads developed possess similar or better sensory attributes than those of control formulations, and some are even comparable to their wheat gluten-based counterparts. Chapters of this book focus on the role of additives, dough handling, and the physical, structural, sensory and nutritional properties of the gluten-free bread. The science of gluten intolerance is explained as well. With all relevant literature gathered and summarized in one place, this text will be an essential resource for both food scientists and industry professionals pursuing gluten-free formulations.​
The Kitchen As Laboratory by
Eating is a multisensory experience, yet chefs and scientists have only recently begun to deconstruct food's components, setting the stage for science-based cooking. In this global collaboration of essays, chefs and scientists advance culinary knowledge by testing hypotheses rooted in the physical and chemical properties of food. Using traditional and cutting-edge tools, ingredients, and techniques, these pioneers create, and sometimes revamp, dishes that respond to specific desires and serve up an original encounter with gastronomic practice. From the seemingly mundane to the food fantastic--from grilled cheese sandwiches, pizzas, and soft-boiled eggs to Turkish ice cream, sugar glasses, and jellified beads--the essays in The Kitchen as Laboratory cover a range of creations and their history and culture. They consider the significance of an eater's background and dining atmosphere and the importance of a chef's methods, as well as the strategies used to create a great diversity of foods and dishes. This collection will delight experts and amateurs alike, especially as restaurants rely more on science-based cooking and recreational cooks increasingly explore the physics and chemistry behind their art. Contributors end each essay with their personal thoughts on food, cooking, and science, offering rare insight into a professional's passion for playing with food.
Olive Oil: chemistry and technology by
A staple food for thousands of years for the inhabitants of the Mediterranean region, olive oil is now becoming popular among consumers all over the world. Olive oil differs from other vegetable oils because it is used in its natural form and has unique flavor and other characteristics. More and more research suggests its healthful benefits including reduced risk of coronary heart disease. Olive Oil is a compact and readable text on the most important aspects of chemistry, technology, quality, analysis and biological importance of olive oil. The topics selected have been developing rapidly in recent years, and will provide the reader with a background to address more specific problems that may arise in the future. Readers can expect more contributors and chapters in the 2nd edition, as well as a glossary.
Plant Extracts: Applications in the Food Industry by
Plant Extracts in Food Applications is the first book of its kind focusing on the application of plant extracts in the food industry. Topics cover sources, extraction and encapsulation techniques, the chemistry and stability of plant extracts, antimicrobials, preservatives, nutrient enhancers, enzymes, flavoring and coloring agents, packaging aid, health benefits, opportunities and the challenges surrounding the use of plant extracts in food applications. Written by several experts in the field, this book is a valuable resource for students, scientists, and professionals in food science, food chemistry and nutrition. Concerns and potential risks regarding the use of synthetic chemicals have renewed the interests of consumers using natural and safe alternatives. Plant extracts represent an interesting ingredient, mainly due to their natural origin and phytochemical properties, allowing for obtaining active materials to extend shelf-life and add value to the product. Presents chapters that deal with different sources of plant extracts and their applications in the food industry Covers the various extraction procedures which are used for plant extracts Includes the health benefits and stability of plant extracts Provides the role of plant extracts for shelf life enhancement, packaging aid, and as flavoring and coloring agents