Children's Literature

Re-envisioned and reformatted to better serve the needs of today's librarians and supplemented by a companion website, this landmark resource now includes three annual updates along with the main print volume. Together, they serve several purposes. First, by describing approximately 30,000 of the best books, fiction and nonfiction, for children in preschool through grade 6 and organizing them by genre and subject, this guide enables librarians to help teachers and parents identify books suitable for children's recreational reading and educational needs. It is also an invaluable collection management tool that can be used for both selection and weeding (particularly in nonfiction areas). And finally, it makes creating theme-related book lists for library programs or curricular units a breeze. Along with coverage of many new publications and updated bibliographic information, this new edition features an organization modified to reflect current publishing trends. The book now features separate Graphic Novels, Alphabet, Concept books, and Counting books sections (the latter three traditionally were included in Fiction for Younger Readers) and a new Traditional Literature section that covers Fairy Tales, Folklore, Mythology, Poetry, and Nursery Rhymes. In addition, Plays have been moved to Theater and Plays, under Performing Arts. As in all of the Best Books titles, the authors have carefully culled the most trusted professional review sources to identify the most highly recommended new books for children. The volume provides review citations and makes note of available eBook and audiobook versions. Brief annotations, bibliographic data, grade level appropriateness, and review citations help you identify books of high quality, while the book's topical arrangement makes it easy to create theme- and genre-based reading lists and programs as well as to identify read-alikes for young readers. The free, online annual updates help you stay current with new titles for children.

Covering over 14,000 titles published mainly from late 1999 through 2003, most of which have been recommended in at least two sources, this thematic work offers a state-of-the-art reading guide and selection tool for young teen fiction and nonfiction reading material. This highly affordable and authoritative guide enables you to thoroughl evaluate your young-teen literature collection and creat thematic and genre-oriented reading lists for curriculum-related and recreational reading. The entries provide annotations with lively but succinct plot summaries, along with indications of ISBN, book length, price, reading level, and review citations. Award-winning and series titles are also noted. If you work with teens and teen literature, this guide is a must-purchase. Grades 6-9.

Covering some 12,000 titles published mainly in the past decade, most of which have been recommended in at least two sources, this thematic work offers you a state-of-the-art reading guide and selection tool for teen reading material, both fiction and nonfiction. This highly affordable, authoritative guide enables you to thoroughly evaluate your young teen literature collection and to create thematic and genre-oriented reading lists for curriculum-related and recreational reading. The entries provide annotations with lively but succinct plot summaries and indications of ISBNs, book length, price, reading level, and review citations. Award-winning and series titles are noted as well. If you work with teens and teen literature, this guide is a must-purchase. Grades 9-12