Skip to main content
Research by Subject
All Databases (A-Z)
Journals by Title
A book on the shelf
Old Library Homepage
Make Appointment with Librarian
Schedule a Class (faculty)
Poster Production / Media
Online / Distance Services
Book a Study Room
Digital Scholarship Center
Friends of Buley
The Director's Page
Library Impact Dashboard
Library Services Are Open!
The building is closed but we are still here to help.
Librarians are available for research consultations and electronic resources are accessible from off-campus.
ANTH 201: Global Community
Enter Search Words
ANTH 201: Global Community: Home
This guide is for Dr. Skoczen's Global Community class.
Books and Articles
Guide to Countries of the World (Online Through The Library)
Financial Times World Desk Reference (Online Through the Library)
Economies of the World
Call Number: REF HC59.3 .E27 2005
World Economic Factbook
Call Number: REF HC59.15 .W675
Countries and Their Cultures
Call Number: REF GN307 .C68 2001
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: REF GN333 .W67
World Press Encyclopedia (Online Through the Library)
Constitutions of the World (ONLINE THROUGH THE LIBRARY)
Country Information Online
The World Bank: Country Reports
Each country report has links to World Development Indicators and information on World Bank projects in that country.
Migration Policy Institute
Data for stock, flow, net migration, asylum, and naturalization data over time.
Migration Information Source from MPI
US State Department Country Pages
Contains reports on the historical relationship with the US,
Population Research Bureau's World Data Sheet
Map-based access to statistics on population, birth/deaths, life expectancy, HIV/AIDS, family planning, and income.
CIA World Factbook
Information on history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
Basic maps of physiography and transportation.
World Health Organization Country Links
Links to collected data on mortality, burden of disease, national health systems, nutrition, and risk factors.
World Drug Report
From the UN Office on Drugs and Crime
Country data on HIV/AIDS from the United Nations.
United Nations Food and Agricuture Organization
Country reports link to information from other UN agencies on natural resources, economic situation, forestry, fisheries, biodiversity, climate change, food security and more.
United Nations Development Indicators
Links to country reports on international human development indicators
Doctors Without Borders
Use the "About our Work" pull down menu on the right.
Environmental/Natural Resources Information
The World Bank's Climate Change Knowledge Portal
World Bank's Climate Change Country Profiles
Profiles for 51 countries: includes climate baseline, natural hazards, climate future, impacts/vulnerabilities, and adaptation information.
United Nations Environment Program
This page is somewhat confusing- just put your country's name in the search box on the top right.
The Political Terror Scale
The PTS measures levels of political violence and terror that a country experiences in a particular year based on a 5-level “terror scale.”
Minorities at Risk Project
The Minorities at Risk Project tracks issues faced by minorities in countries.
US State Department Human Rights Reports
Human rights reports from the US Department of State.
Human Rights Watch Annual Report
Annual report on global human rights violations.
Human Rights Watch
Main page for Human Rights Watch. News, updates, other years' reports.
Reporters Without Borders
Country information on freedom of the press. Country files plus the Press Freedom Index.
Global Research:Center for Research on Globalization
News articles on globalization and resistance. Can be searched by country name and sorted by date.
The U.S. Commercial Service International Market Research
Use the "Country" pull down menu to get to the country Commercial Guide.
More at the Library
Political Handbook of the World (Online through the Library)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
Call Number: REF HC54 .W675
Political Risk Yearbook
Call Number: REF HC10 .P66
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
Call Number: REF HQ1154 .G74
Legal Systems of the World
Call Number: REF K48 .L44
World Police Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF HV7901 .W64 2
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 E47 2008
Books and Articles >>
Apr 20, 2018 3:22 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.