Library Services Are Open! The building is closed but we are still here to help. Librarians are available for research consultations and electronic resources are accessible from off-campus.
Audio, Video, and Images at the Library: Search
Audio & Video in the Library Collections
Do a search in SouthernSearch for the title or topic you are interested in. Then use the options on the left to narrow your search -- under Resource Type, select AudioVisual to see videos, CDs, and online options.
audio recorded music liner notes opera libretti composer artist biographies discographies classical contemporary jazz folk blues world instrumental pop rock spoken word
Naxos Music Library provides streaming audio of recorded music along with liner notes, opera synopses and libretti, composer and artist biographies, discographies, and other information vital to music research. It is easily searched by browsing, keyword, or robust advanced search options. Requires Adobe Flash Player 10.
audio recorded music liner notes composer artist biographies discographies contemporary jazz blues
The Naxos collection of jazz music offers many of the same features as their regular database streaming audio, supplementary documents, and robust search options but specifically for jazz music. Requires Adobe Flash Player 10.
images arts architecture humanities social sciences photos paintings landscapes statues
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
libraries Connecticut yearbooks SCSU Southern women's history
Buley Library Digital Collections include digital objects from the library's special collections and items from other partnerships. Current contents include the David C. Libbey Postcard Collection and issues of Connecticut Libraries Newsletter.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.