SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Recreation, Tourism, and Sport Management: RTSM: Getting Started

Welcome!

librarian support

This guide is to help students in the Recreation, Tourism, and Sport Management program make use of the library and our resources in your research and studies.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides indexing, abstracts and much full text for academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers on every topic.
Access World News
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Statista
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform that provides access to a vast collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics across various industries and countries.

CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is a resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Indexing, abstracts, and full-text from nursing and allied health journals. The base CINAHL with Full Text is paid for by ResearchIT and the CT State Library.
DiTA (Diagnostic Test Accuracy) [physiotherapy]
A free database that indexes primary studies of diagnostic test accuracy and systematic reviews of diagnostic test accuracy studies related to physiotherapy practice
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts, a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
Medline Complete
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Use instead of PubMed.
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
A free database of over 48,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions (practice guidelines, systematic reviews, and clinical trials only.)
SportDiscus with Full Text
Provides full text for more than 490 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
Merck Manual Professional Edition
Medical topics, drug information, news, commentary, procedures, examinations, quizzes, case studies, calculators, audio, video, podcasts, and more on all aspects of medicine and health. From a leading publisher of medical reference resources.

ABI/Inform Global
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
IBISWorld
When a specific industry focus is needed for project-based classes, capstones, Entrepreneurship programs, student-managed investment funds, clubs, business model canvases/ business plans, IBISWorld gives a broad overview of the targeted industry, its product and market segmentation, cost structure benchmarks, competitive dynamics, supply chain map, the regulatory environment, macroeconomic drivers, and much more.
Sage Business Cases Complete
Sage Business Cases is a robust digital collection of business cases providing unlimited access to move than 5,500 authoritative cases from over 120 countries. Sage curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Note: Faculty, please contact Business Librarian Amy Jansen (jansena2@southernct.edu) for instructions on how to access instructor materials.
Sage Research Methods Cases 2
Sage Research Methods Cases are stories of how real research projects were conducted. Cases explain why the researchers chose the methods they did, how they overcame problems in their research and what they might have done differently with hindsight: the realities of research that are missing from journal articles and textbooks. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions. They can be used as a teaching tool to demonstrate a particular method and how it is applied in real research, or as inspiration to students who are preparing for their own research project.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full text for journals, including peer-reviewed titles. Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

PsycInfo
American Psychological Association۪s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
PsycTests
APA PsycTests was designed to save researchers time from having to reproduce tests when conducting research on previously measured constructs. Each record provides a summary of the construct and users can find information on reliability, validity, and factor analysis when that data is reported in the source document. Records include supplemental information such as datasets, answer keys, scoring sheets, and test manuals, when available. Instructors can refer to the record’s Permissions field to easily determine if a test may be used for teaching.
Sociology Source Ultimate
Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
HaPI: Health & Psychosocial Instruments (Ebsco)
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provided information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Where to Find Books

Use SouthernSearch to search across all the library's print books, ebooks, and databases.

Print books

Print books are organized by call numbers on the shelves. The call numbers correspond to subject areas, so you can find all of the recreation, tourism/hospitality, or sport management books in the same section. See the list below if you'd like to browse the shelves.

Second floor: A-PL
Third floor: PM-ZA + Oversize

G149-180 = Travel
G154.9-155.8 = Tourism
GV = Recreation in general
GV 191-200 = Outdoor recreation
GV201-555 = Physical education and training
GV557-1198 = Sports
GV1199-1570 = Games
GV1469.15-1469.62 = Computer/video games
GV1580-1799.4 = Dancing
GV1800-1860 = Circuses/spectacles (e.g. rodeos, amusement parks, etc.)
RM 695-893 = Physical medicine, physical therapy
TX 901-946.5 = Hospitality Industry

Recreation, Tourism, and Sport Management

Where to Find Articles

Citation Help

Welcome!

Recommended Databases

Where to Find Books

Print books