World Authors

The boxes below contain curated lists of books. 

To find more, including the most recent additions, use SouthernSearch. 

African Writers

Postcolonial African writers: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook

Selected Black American, African and Caribbean Authors: a Bio-bibliography

South African Writers

Twentieth Century Caribbean and Black African Writers, First Series

Twentieth Century Caribbean and Black African Writers, Second Series

Twentieth Century Caribbean and Black African Writers, Third Series

Japanese Writers

Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Literature

Japanese Fiction Writers, 1868-1945

Japanese Fiction Writers Since World War II

Japanese Women Fiction Writers: Their Culture and Society, 1890s to 1990s

Japanese Women Writers in English Translation: An Annotated Bibliography

Medieval Japanese Writers

Modern Japanese Writers

Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature

European Authors, 1000-1900; a Biographical Dictionary

European Literature Library

European Writers

Everyman's Dictionary of European Writers

A History of Central European Women's Writing

History of European Literature

Introduction to the Literature of Europe in the 15th, 16th, and 17th Centuries

Landmarks in European Literature

Modern Women Playwrights of Europe

South Slavic and Eastern European Writers

Twentieth-century Eastern European Writers, Second Series

Twentieth-century Eastern European Writers, Third Series

Women Writers of Great Britain and Europe: An Encyclopedia

Canadian Writers

The Cambridge History of Canadian Literature

The Canadian Imagination: Dimensions of a Literary Culture

Canadian Children's Books: A Critical Guide to Authors and Illustrators

Canadian Writers Since 1960 Second Series

Children's Literature in Canada

The Concise Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature

Doing Gender: Franco-Canadian Writers of the 1990s

Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada

The Feminine Gaze: A Canadian Compendium of the Non-fiction Women Authors and Their Works

Five-part Invention: A History of Literary History in Canada

How Should I Read These? Native American Women Writers in Canada

Literary History of Canada: Canadian Literature in English

Major Canadian Authors: A Critical Introduction to Canadian Literature in English

The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature

Reference Sources for Canadian Literary Studies

Twenty-first Century Canadian Writers

American (United States) Writers

For more resources about American authors, including African American writers, Asian American writers, Hispanic American Writers, and Native American writers, please see the American Literature guide.

Latin American Writers

Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States

Dictionary of Twentieth Century Cuban Literature

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature

Latin American Writers

Latin American Writers Supplement I