This is the "Beginning Your Research" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology  

This guide will help you find books and journal articles in sociology.
Last Updated: Dec 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.southernct.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Beginning Your Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Sociology Reference Books

Reference books are used to give you a starting point for your research, providing you with an overview of a topic and an introduction to the specific vocabulary of subject. They will give you the "big picture" and provide you with a starting point for more specific searching.

Blackwell Companion to Sociology
REF HM 585 .B53 2001

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
ONLINE

Dictionary of Sociology
ONLINE

Penguin Dictionary of Sociology
ONLINE

Encyclopedia of American Social History
REF HN 57 .E58 1993

Encyclopedia of Sociology
REF HM 425 .E5 2000
ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Social Theory
HM 425 .E53 2006

International Handbook of Sociology
REF HM 585 .I57 2000

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
REF H62 .L456 2006

Sociology Basics
REF HM 425 .S63 2000

World of Sociology
ONLINE

 

Books

Use the library catalog, CONSULS, to locate books. A good place to start is with a keyword search, which allows you to combine concepts, such as social class and education, or women and drug abuse.

Remember that CONSULS is the catalog for all of the CSU campuses, so before you go to the shelf make sure the catalog says the item you want is at SCSU. If you see an item at any of the other campuses that you need, you can request it by clicking on "Request Book" and entering your student ID number and Library PIN number. The book will be shipped here within 3-5 working days.

Sociology books are generally located on the shelves in the H's.

HM = general sociology
HN = social history and conditions
HQ = the family, marriage, women
HT = communities, cities, class, race
HV = social pathology, welfare, criminology

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip