Skip to main content
Research by Subject
All Databases (A-Z)
Journals by Title
A book on the shelf
Old Library Homepage
Make Appointment with Librarian
Schedule a Class (faculty)
Poster Production / Media
Online / Distance Services
Book a Study Room
Digital Scholarship Center
Friends of Buley
The Director's Page
Library Impact Dashboard
Library Services Are Open!
The building is closed but we are still here to help.
Librarians are available for research consultations and electronic resources are accessible from off-campus.
Enter Search Words
PSC 365: Quantitative Sources
Online Sources for Demographics and Internal Conditions
Political Terror Scale
Measures political terror and violence in countries
Population Research Bureau
Contains reports and indicators on population, health, and the environment. Use the Datafinder to search by country
MPI Migration Policy Institute
Resources on international migration.
United Nations High Commission on Refugees Statistical Online Population Database
Data on refugees, asylum seekers, internally displaced persons, and more at the country, regional, and global levels
Governance Matters 2008
Measures the following indicators in 212 countries from 1996-2007: voice and accountability, political stability and absence of violence, government effectiveness, regulatory quality, rule of law, and control of corruption.
Center on Democratic Performance Election Results Archive
Presidential and national legislative elections from around the world.
International Foundation for Electoral Systems Election Guide
Contains information on upcoming national elections around the world, political parties and candidates, government and electoral structures, election results and voter turnout. Covers 1998 to present.
International Voter Turnout
From the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance. Documents voter turnout (total, by age, by gender, and more) in presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945 worldwide.
Minorities at Risk
Data and reports on the status and treatment of ethnic groups internationally
State Department Country Reports on Terrorism
Annual reports on terrorism country by country.
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
Reports on human rights practices from the U.S. Department of State
Country Indicators for Foreign Policy
Country information and rankings on conflict risk assessment, corruption, and democracy. From Carleton University and the Canadian government.
Human Rights Watch
Reports on individual countries and various human rights issues worldwide
Political Database of the Americas
Latin American governments and electoral systems.
Country Studies from the LIbrary of Congress
World Bank Environmental Data
Environmental data from the World Bank.
Food Security Portal
Provides information on agriculture, food imports and exports, and food crises.
RAND Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents
Searchable database of terror events from 1968-2009.
Monitors floods around the world as well as flood mitigation and recovery efforts.
International Health Care System Profiles
Profiles of the health care systems of nineteen countries.
Sources for Quantitative Data
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
National Center for Education Statistics Data Explorer
FBI Uniform Crime Statistics
Integrated Network for Social Conflict Research
Census- House of Representatives Apportionment Data
2010 Census Data
Political Instability, 1955-now
2010 Failed States Index
How Interest Groups Rate the Senators
Congressional Roll Call Votes
AidData - International Aid
WomenStats - International
Quality of Government Institute
World Freedom Atlas
United Nations Statistics for Development
American Community Survey
Failed State Index
World Bank World Development Indicators
Top US States for Business
Historian's Presidential Leadership Survey
2010 Midterm Election Results
2010 House Election
2010 House Race
Countries of the World
CIA World Factbook Country Comparisons
National Conference of State Legislatures
Metrotrends from the Urban Institute
The Association of Religion Data Archives
Great site that provides demographic data on US and International religions. Quick stats, national profiles, GIS maps, and data files.
Quantitative content analyses of parties’ election programs from more than 50 countries covering all free, democratic elections since 1945.
Online Sources for International Relations and Conflict
FIRST: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends
Country information on external relations and internal conditions.
Heidleberg Institute for International Conflict's Conflict Barometer
Reports on internaitonal conflict development, escalation, and settlement.
International Crisis Behavior Dataviewer
Description and data of over 482 conflicts from 1918-2006.
U.S. Congressional Budget Justification for Foreign Operations
Details the funding requested by many different U. S. government agencies and departments for overseas operations
USAID : Economic and Military Assistance to Other Countries
Documents and reports that define the primary goals and progress of U.S. foreign policy, development and humanitarian assistance.
Center for Defense Information
Publishes reports on war, the arms trade, terrorism, militaries and more.
SIPRI Military Expenditure Database
Country's military budgets in actual local currency, constant US dollars, and as a percentage of GDP.
SIPRI Data on Arms Transfers
Records of international transfers of seven categories of conventional weapons from 1950 to the current year.
Center for Strategic and International Studies
Reports and analysis of current international concerns.
Global Terrorism Database from University of Maryland
Tracks terrorism from 1970 to 2013. Searchable by region, country, date, weapon, target, and more.
US Foreign Relations by Country - State Department
Searchable by country. Gives a summary of US historical recognition and diplomatic relations with other countries.
Environment, Geography and Marine Sciences
Marriage & Family Therapy
Qualitative Sources >>
Apr 19, 2018 4:05 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.