The boxes below contain curated lists of books.
To find more, including the most recent additions, use SouthernSearch.
This is a select list of books on Shakespeare. The library has an extensive collection of Shakespeare monographs. Check SouthernSeach, our catalog, for additional resources.
All things Shakespeare : an encyclopedia of Shakespeare's world
A dictionary of the characters & proper names in the works of Shakespeare : with notes on the source
The Harvard concordance to Shakespeare
The Reader's Encyclopedia of Shakespeare
Shakespeare A to Z : the essential reference to his plays, his poems, his life and times, and more
A.L. Rowse : a bibliophile's extensive bibliography
A census of Shakespeare's plays in quarto, 1594-1709
The essential Shakespeare : an annotated bibliography of major modern studies
The major Shakespearean tragedies; a critical bibliography
A selective bibliography of Shakespeare: editions, textual studies, commentary
Shakespeare : a study and research guide
The Shakespeare documents; facsimiles, transliterations, translations, & commentary
Shakespearian bibliography and textual criticism : a bibliography
A life of William Shakespeare, by Sidney Lee; with portraits and facsimiles
Shakespeare [by] Anthony Burgess
Shakespeare / by Walter Raleigh
Shakespeare, the player : a life in the theatre
Shakespeare's professional career
Ungentle Shakespeare : scenes from his life
The Cambridge introduction to Shakespeare's comedies
Faith and folly in Shakespeare's romantic comedies
A kind of wild justice : revenge in Shakespeare's comedies
Love and society in Shakespearean comedy : a study of dramatic form and content
Lovers, clowns, and fairies : an essay on comedies
The metamorphoses of Shakespearean comedy
The myth of deliverance : reflections on Shakespeare's problem comedies
A preface to Shakespeare's comedies, 1594-1603
Shakespeare & the uses of comedy
Shakespeare: the comedies; a collection of critical essays
Shakespeare's festive comedy; a study of dramatic form and its relation to social custom
Shakespeare's reparative comedies : a psychoanalytic view of the middle plays
The world must be peopled : Shakespeare's comedies of forgiveness
The Art of Shakespeare's Sonnets
The Book known as Q: a Consideration of Shakespeare's Sonnets
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare's Poetry
A Companion to Shakespeare's Sonnets
The Complete Sonnets and Poems
The Fickle Glass: A Study of Shakespeare's Sonnets
An Introduction to Shakespeare's Poems
A Mirror for Lovers: Shakespeare's Sonnets as Curious Perspective
The Mutual Flame: On Shakespeare's Sonnets and the Phoenix and the Turtle
The Sense of Shakespeare's Sonnets
Shakespeare and Elizabethan Poetry
Shakespeare's Sonnets and Narrative Poems
Shakespeare's Sonnets and the Court of Navarre
So Long as Men can Breathe: the Untold Story of Shakespeare's Sonnets
An Introduction to the Sonnets of Shakespeare
Speech and Performance in Shakespeare's Sonnets and Plays
The Structure of Shakespeare's Sonnets
Such is My Love: A Study of Shakespeare's Sonnets
The Riddle of Shakespeare's Sonnets: the Text of the Sonnets
The Tension of the Lyre: Poetry in Shakespeare's Sonnets
"Two Loves" and "a Worthier Pen": the Enigmas of Shakespeare's Sonnets
Why Lyrics Last: Evolution, Cognition, and Shakespeare's Sonnets
William Shakespeare: Sonnets and Poems
The World of Shakespeare's Sonnets
The Bedford Companion to Shakespeare: and Introduction with Documents
The Cambridge Shakespeare Guide
The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare
A Dictionary of Quotations from Shakespeare
The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare
The New Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare
Playing Shakespeare: An Actor's Guide
The Plays of Shakespeare: A Thematic Guide
The Routledge Guide to William Shakespeare
Shakespeare: A Study and Research Guide
Shakespearean Scholarship: A Guide for Actors and Students
Shakespeare the Playwright: A Complete Companion to the Tragedies, Histories, Comedies and Romances
Studying Shakespeare: A Guide to the Plays
The Cambridge introduction to Shakespeare's history plays
A kingdom for a stage; the achievement of Shakespeare's history plays
Shakespeare, the Queen's Men, and the Elizabethan performance of history
Shakespeare's early history plays : politics at play on the Elizabethan stage
Shakespeare's English : language in the history plays
Shakespeare's history plays : performance, translation, and adaptation in Britain and abroad
Shakespeare's history plays : Richard II to Henry V : William Shakespeare
Shakespeare's Holinshed: an edition of Holinshed's Chronicles, 1587; source of Shakespeare's history
Shakespeare's kings : the great plays and the history of England in the Middle Ages, 1337-1485
Shakespeare's political drama : the history plays and the Roman plays
Shakespeare's political realism : the English history plays
Shakespeare's serial history plays
Staging politics : the lasting impact of Shakespeare's histories
The Artist and society in Shakespeare's England
A companion to Shakespeare studies
The crown of life; essays in interpretation of Shakespeare's final plays
Muriel Bradbrook on Shakespeare
Reinventing Shakespeare : a cultural history, from the Restoration to the present
Shakespeare and literary theory
Shakespeare and the medieval world
Shakespeare and the theatre of wonder
Shakespeare : contrasts and controversies
The Shakespeare controversy : an analysis of the authorship theories
Shakespeare; the critical heritage
Shakespeare : the seven ages of human experience
The Cambridge companion to Shakespeare on stage
The Cambridge companion to the sonnet
Elizabethan stage conditions: a study of their place in the interpretation of Shakespeare's plays
The Oxford illustrated history of Shakespeare on stage
Playhouse law in Shakespeare's world
Recovering Shakespeare's theatrical vocabulary
Shakespeare and the actors; the stage business in his plays (1660-1905)
Shakespeare in the theatre, 1701-1800
Shakespeare : from stage to screen
Shakespeare's Globe : a theatrical experiment
Shakespeare's mystery play : the opening of the Globe Theatre 1599
Approaches to teaching English Renaissance drama
How to read a Shakespeare play
Online resources for teaching Shakespeare [electronic resource]
Performance approaches to teaching Shakespeare
Shakespeare inside : the bard behind bars
Teaching Shakespeare and early modern dramatists
Teaching Shakespeare into the twenty-first century
Teaching Shakespeare with film and television : a guide
A.C. Bradley on Shakespeare's tragedies : a concise edition and reassessment
The action to the word : structure and style in Shakespearean tragedy
The Cambridge companion to English Renaissance tragedy
The darker world within : evil in the tragedies of Shakespeare and his successors
Fools of time; studies in Shakespearean tragedy
The imperial theme; further interpretations of Shakespeare's tragedies, including the Roman plays
Shakespeare and the craft of tragedy
Shakespearean tragedy : lectures on Hamlet, Othello, King Lear, Macbeth
Shakespeare's dramatic challenge : on the rise of Shakespeare's tragic heroes
Shakespeare's tragic skepticism
Tragedy and scepticism in Shakespeare's England
The wheel of fire : interpretations of Shakespearian tragedy
