Skip to main content

Alternative Energy: Library Resources

Alternative energy resources in the library and on the web

About this Guide

This guide will cover the basics of finding information on alternative energy. This page has some starting points for library information, like books and DVDs in the library's collection and articles in the library databases. The Databases tab has more information about choosing the best database for your particular topic. The Internet tab has recommended websites, such as government and research sites, that provide excellent research-related information.

Books

A few Reference Books to get you started:

Renewable and alternative energy resources : a reference handbook, by Zachary A. Smith and Katrina D. Taylor: Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2008. Ref. TJ808.3 .S65 2008

Handbook of energy efficiency and renewable energy, edited by Frank Kreith, D. Yogi Goswami: Boca Raton : CRC Press, c2007. Ref. TJ163.3 .H356 2007

Plunkett's energy industry almanac, 2004. Houston, Tex.: Plunkett Research, c2003. Online

 McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online

 

Books at SCSU on Renewable Energy, Solar Energy, Wind Power, Biomass Energy, Hydrogen as Fuel, and Electric Vehicles.

Suggested Multimedia

Energy and resources [DVD]; producers, Charlotte Angel and Kyle Boyd. Lawrenceville, NJ: Cambridge Educational, 2006. SCSU Learning Resources Center, TJ163.2 .E54 2006  DVD.

Who killed the electric car? [DVD]; produced by Jessie Deeter ; written and directed by Chris Paine. Culver City, Calif.: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, c2006. SCSU Learning Resources Center, TL220 .W46 2006  DVD.

Article Databases

For  more detail on the databases, and how to choose which is the best for your topic, see the Databases Tab above