American Literature

The boxes below contain curated lists of books. 

To find more, including the most recent additions, use SouthernSearch. 

The literary west : an anthology of western American literature   

Nineteenth-century American women writers : an anthology  

American history through literature, 1820-1870    

American literary almanac: from 1608 to the present: an original compendium of facts and anecdotes about literary life in the United States of America   

American literary publishing houses, 1638-1899   

The Cambridge history of American literature 

The chronology of American literature : America's literary achievements from the colonial era to modern times  

American authors, 1795-1895; a bibliography of first and notable editions, chronologically arranged with notes     

An annotated bibliography of American literary periodicals, 1741-1850  

Bibliography of American literature    

Selective bibliography for the study of English and American literature

Folklore and literature in the United States : an annotated bibliography of studies of folklore in American literature    

Humor in American literature : a selected annotated bibliography    

Literature and theater of the States and regions of the U.S.A.; an historical bibliography    

One hundred influential American books printed before 1900 : catalogue and addresses : exhibition at The Grolier Club, April eighteenth-June sixteenth, MCMXLVI    

Southwestern American literature : a bibliography   

American ethnic writers     

American nature writers   

American Prose Writers of World War I: A Documentary Volume

American radical and reform writers   

American radical and reform writers. Second series    

American realists and naturalists    

Contemporary gay American poets and playwrights : an A-to-Z guide    

Contemporary lesbian writers of the United States : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook    

Benét's reader's encyclopedia of American literature    

The Cambridge handbook of American literature   

The Columbia guide to American Indian literatures of the United States since 1945   

The companion to southern literature : themes, genres, places, people, movements, and motifs  

The Continuum encyclopedia of American literature   

Dictionary of Midwestern literature

Early American nature writers: A biographical encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of American folklore

Encyclopedia of American literature    

Encyclopedia of American literature of the sea and Great Lakes 

Encyclopedia of American popular fiction  

Encyclopedia of American war literature    

Encyclopedia of Beat Literature   

Encyclopedia of contemporary LGBTQ literature of the United States   

Encyclopedia of hip hop literature 

Encyclopedia of pulp fiction writers 

Encyclopedia of southern literature     

Encyclopedia of Transcendentalism     

The Greenwood encyclopedia of multiethnic American literature    

Handbook of American popular literature   

The Oxford encyclopedia of American literature    

American colonial writers, 1606-1734    

American colonial writers, 1735-1781      

American writers before 1800 : a biographical and critical reference guide    

American writers of the early republic      

Fifty southern writers before 1900 : a bio-bibliographical sourcebook    

The Oxford handbook of early American literature     

American Indian Literature

The Columbia guide to American Indian literatures of the United States since 1945

Encyclopedia of American Indian literature    

Native American literatures : an encyclopedia of works, characters, authors, and themes     

Native North American literature : biographical and critical information on native writers and orators from the United States and Canada from historical times to the present  

 

African American Literature

Encyclopedia of African American literature

Encyclopedia of African-American writing : five centuries of contribution : trials & triumphs of writers, poets, publications and organizations 

Encyclopedia of hip hop literature

The encyclopedia of the Harlem literary renaissance

The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American literature

The Oxford companion to African American literature

Writing African American women: an encyclopedia of literature by and about women of color 

 

Asian American Literature 

Asian American novelists: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook

The Columbia guide to Asian American Literature since 1945

The Greenwood encyclopedia of Asian American literature

Historical dictionary of Asian American literature and theatre

 

Hispanic American Literature

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature  

Encyclopedia of Hispanic American literature 

The Greenwood encyclopedia of Latino literature

Hispanic literature of the United States: a comprehensive reference

 

Jewish American Literature 

The Cambridge Companion to Jewish American literature

Encyclopedia of Jewish American literature    

Jewish American Literature since 1945: An introduction

 

 

The Beat generation: a Gale critical companion  

The Cambridge handbook of American literature

The concise Oxford companion to African American literature

The Facts on File companion to American drama   

The Facts on File companion to American poetry

The Facts on File companion to the American novel

The Facts on File companion to twentieth century American poetry

Guide to American literature and its backgrounds since 1890        

A literary tour guide to the United States : South and Southwest     

A literary tour guide to the United States, West and Midwest  

Magill's survey of American literature     

Writers of the American Renaissance: An A to Z guide  

American literary critics and scholars, 1850-1880 

American literary critics and scholars, 1880-1900    

American literary magazines: the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries  

American history through literature, 1820-1870       

The American renaissance in New England. Second series      

The American renaissance in New England. Third series 

The American renaissance in New England. Fourth series    

Antebellum writers in New York. Second Series    

Antebellum writers in New York and the South    

Fifty southern writers before 1900 : a bio-bibliographical sourcebook    

The literary index to American magazines, 1850-1900 

American writers for children, 1900-1960

American writers for children since 1960. Poets, illustrators, and nonfiction authors   

The beats : a documentary volume    

The Beats, literary bohemians in postwar America    

Fifty southern writers after 1900 : a bio-bibliographical sourcebook    

Modern American critics, 1920-1955    

Modern American critics since 1955    

Twentieth-century American western writers. First series    

Twentieth-century Western writers. Third series

American women writers, 1900-1945 : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook 

American women writers : a critical reference guide from colonial times to the present 

American women writers : an annotated bibliography of criticism   

American women writers on Vietnam : unheard voices : a selected annotated bibliography      

Contemporary lesbian writers of the United States : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook    

The female poets of America        

One hundred years of American women writing, 1848-1948 : an annotated bio-bibliography 

The Oxford companion to women's writing in the United States