SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Business Research: Statistics & Datasets Websites

Data Repositories

The following are commonly used open repositories for research data. They contain large amounts of curated data from many disciplines, and include many data types.

U.S. Statistics

AEA's Data Sources Guide
The American Economic Association has compiled some quality sources for economic data.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Produces some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. They do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.
Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)
A digital library of U.S. economic, financial and banking history. Provides historical economic data, information about the operation of the Federal Reserve, many archival collections and classroom materials.
FRED Economic Data
Short for Federal Reserve Economic Data, FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources.
Government Info Economic Indicators
Prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
U.S. Housing & Urban Development (HUD) User Datasets
Provides access to the original datasets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.

CenStats This link opens in a new window
Home page of the United States Census Bureau with access to all the statistics on population, income, racial diversity, etc. gathered by the government.
Home page of the United States Census Bureau with access to all the statistics on population, income, racial diversity, etc. gathered by the government.
Data.gov This link opens in a new window
Home of the U.S. government’s open data, where you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

International Statistics

Eurostat
Provides direct access to the latest and most complete statistical information available on the European Union, the EU Member States, the euro-zone and other countries.
Export.Gov Market Research
This federal government portal offers specialized information for global markets, including the Country Commercial Guides that give overviews of business environments in foreign countries.
Fraser Institute's Economic Freedom Datasets
FRED International Data
Available through Economic Research at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRED is known for US economic data and international economic data including employment, GDP, population, and retail/production
globalEDGE
Excellent source for global business knowledge, includes tools and data (from Michigan State University's International Business Center).
IMF Data: International Financial Statistics Online
This resource, maintained by the International Monetary Fund (IMF), has time-series data for more than 200 countries and areas, exchange rates and fund position for member countries as well as information about national accounts, interest rates, inflation, etc.
International Labour Organization’s ILOSTAT
Global reference for international labour statistics, providing a comprehensive database and resources for producing labour statistics.
UNdata
This database provides international statistics on all major social and economic
subjects.
World Bank DataBank - World Development Indicators
The primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources is now augmented with external debt and financial flows statistics.

World Bank’s Data Catalog is a web page of datasets available via Open Access (for free). In the catalog are the following datasets of interest to economics researchers: