"The Music Tech Dictionary" provides the definitive glossary of music technology and pro audio topics and terms. It focuses on the terminology, techniques, and formats that are common in the audio and music technology field, and offers concise, pithy explanations of what each term represents. Users will be able to look up any music software, music technology, or audio related term they run across in their software, in articles, or in studios, for a short, complete overview.
Podcasting is a powerful tool of communication and creative expression that doesn't need to be intimidating. This book brings together the creative and technical aspects of audio engineering to help podcasters communicate their ideas effectively and creatively. The Podcaster's Audio Handbook focuses on simple techniques that immediately elevate the audio quality of your podcast. The book provides an overview of podcast recording and editing techniques, so that podcasters can avoid common pitfalls. Readers will also gain access to audio downloads to enhance the learning process. With this book, you can improve the technical aspects of recording and editing your podcasts. Anyone can learn audio techniques and I encourage anyone to share their stories through podcasting. Unleash your creativity and connect with your audience!
Power amplifiers and their performance lie at the heart of audio engineering and provide some challenging problems for the engineer. Ben Duncan's experience, as an audio consultant, analog electronics designer and author, give him an unique insight into this difficult but rewarding field. Linking analog electronics, acoustics, heat and music technology; high-end hi-fi and professional PA and recording studio use; theory, modelling and real-world practice; design and repair; the old and the new, the mainstream and the specialised, this comprehensive guide to power amps is a core reference for anyone in the industry, and any interested onlookers. Ben Duncan is well known to many users of audio power amplifiers around the world, both professional and domestic, through his articles, reviews and research papers on music technology in the UK and US press, and through his part in creating several notable professional power amplifiers. Since 1977, he has been involved in the design of over 70 innovative, high-end audio products used by recording and broadcast studios, on stages, in clubs and by the most critical domestic listeners - as well as creating bespoke equipment for top musicians. Born in London, he has travelled widely but has lived mainly in Lincolnshire, home of his family for over 150 years. He is twice co-author of the book Rock Hardware in which he has chronicled the history of rock'n'roll PA. Reprinted with corrections September 1997 Comprehensive and colourful real-life guide Based on wide experience of audio and music technology Well-known and prolific author in the hi-fi and pro-audio press
This book provides a true A to Z of recorded sound, from its inception to the present day, outlining how technologies, techniques, and social attitudes have changed things, noting what is good and what is less good. The author starts by discussing the physics of sound generation and propagation. He then moves on to outline the history of recorded sound and early techniques and technologies, such as the rise of multi-channel tape recorders and their impact on recorded sound. He goes on to debate live sound versus recorded sound and why there is a difference, particularly with classical music. Other topics covered are the sound of real instruments and how that sound is produced and how to record it; microphone techniques and true stereo sound; digital workstations, sampling, and digital media; and music reproduction in the home and how it has changed. The author wraps up the book by discussing where we should be headed for both popular and classical music recording and reproduction, the role of the Audio Engineer in the 21st century, and a brief look at technology today and where it is headed. This book is ideal for anyone interested in recorded sound.
Making great audio recordings requires striking the right balance between technical know-how and practical understanding of recording sessions. Even in the digital age, some of the most important aspects of creating and recording music are non-technical and, as a result, are often overlooked by traditional recording manuals. The Art of Digital Audio Recording teaches readers what they really need to know in order to make great sound recordings with computers - both the practical and the technical information, including: · What to look and listen for in a recording environment · Straightforward advice on recording almost any instrument · Essentials of digital audio workstations · Essentials of recording gear: microphones, mixers, and speakers · Fundamentals of understanding and applying EQ, compression, delay, and reverb · Secrets to running creative recording sessions · Practical application of digital editing, mixing, and mastering A special section identifies solutions to the most common challenges in the recording studio, and the book also features an addendum with essential tips and reference information including: · How to walk into a commercial studio and be the engineer · Researching and buying gear: Internet vs. brick and mortar · Digital formats: A handy reference As a whole, The Art of Digital Audio Recording is an essential resource that gives recordists the tools they need to let technical understanding serve greater musical goals.
This book presents an extensive and timely survey of more than 30 surround and 20 stereo-microphone techniques. Further, it offers, for the first time, an explanation of why the RCA "Living Stereo" series of legacy recordings from the 1950s and 60s is still appreciated by music lovers worldwide, despite their use of an apparently incorrect recording technique from the perspective of psychoacoustics. Discussing this aspect in detail, the book draws on the author's study of concert hall acoustics and psychoacoustics. The book also analyzes the "fingerprint" features of a selected number of surround and - more importantly - stereo microphone techniques in depth by measuring their signal cross-correlation over frequency and also using an artificial human head. In addition, the book presents a rating of microphone techniques based on the assessment of various acoustic attributes, and merges the results of several subjective listening tests, including those conducted by other researchers. Building on this knowledge, it provides fresh insights into important microphone system features, from stereo to 3D audio. Moreover, it describes new microphone techniques, such as AB-PC, ORTF-T and BPT, and the recently defined BQIrep (Binaural Quality Index of reproduced music). Lastly, the book concludes with a short history of microphone techniques and case studies of live and studio recordings.
Music Databases - Subject Specific
Listed here are some databases specifically for music research. But don't limit yourself. Other, more general databases can also provide information relevant to your research.
JSTOR's Music Collection includes about 94 academic music journals and 21 journals on the performing arts. To access the collection, start with JSTOR's advanced search page, then scroll down the list of disciplines and check the boxes next to Music and/or Performing Arts.
Naxos Music Library provides streaming audio of recorded music along with liner notes, opera synopses and libretti, composer and artist biographies, discographies, and other information vital to music research. It is easily searched by browsing, keyword, or robust advanced search options.
Naxos Music Library provides streaming audio of recorded music along with liner notes, opera synopses and libretti, composer and artist biographies, discographies, and other information vital to music research. It is easily searched by browsing, keyword, or robust advanced search options. Requires Adobe Flash Player 10.
The Naxos collection of jazz music offers many of the same features as their regular database – streaming audio, supplementary documents, and robust search options – but specifically for jazz music.
The Naxos collection of jazz music offers many of the same features as their regular database streaming audio, supplementary documents, and robust search options but specifically for jazz music. Requires Adobe Flash Player 10.
Grove Music Online Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, musician biography
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), and Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition (2006).
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) is a comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world. It includes citations to articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) is a comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world. It includes citations to articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
To qualify for inclusion in the Audio Editing category, a product must:
Allow users to upload and/or record audio files
Provide tools for clipping, arranging, and manipulating audio
Save and export completed files in one or more file types